We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night in the Country”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Va Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Night in the Country”
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed at this Inn after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. We found everything to be good. Loved the fact you could park at you front door. We had a nice room with a deck
( most do). Double sinks in the bathroom and a jetted tub. The towels were extra soft, unlike the ones in most hotels. The outdoor pool and hot tub stayed open until 10pm which was nice since there is not a lot do except relax. Wonderful TV channels and our room came with a DVD player to watch movies.
The hotel has an on site restaurant ( closed Sundays). There are several dinig and shopping options about 10 miles away via I-81.
We saw the other choices in the area and this is by fasr the best.
The room smelled a little musty and the bathroom could have been cleaner.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaBeachTravelingbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    127
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
141
172
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

My Mother uses a walker to get around and it often makes the room more challenging to navigate. The hotel room was so spacious with a loveseat and table, two queen size beds, two rooms for the bathroom and vanity area and there was still plenty of room to get around!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tchrmom93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Now I won't say all my experiences with the Village Inn have been perfect but I do keep coming back and recommending them to friends and family travelling along I-81. A good family run operation, american owned and operated, good caring people. Always clean and comfortable ( once drove through the night from Atlanta to stay there. ) The dining does it for me, good food, good pricing and talented well wishing servers. I've dragged the family hundreds of miles oiut of the way to stay there while traveling between North and South. The restaurant is dry so BYOB in your room. Cell phone and internet OK.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldfashionedvalues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I stayed here with my 17 year old son for a few days and we were totally satisfied with all the accommodations. This is a great non-chain motel with huge rooms, convenient to James Madison University and downtown Harrisonburg.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatbigsoxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

My wife and I recently spent one night in a double bed room here. Everything was spotlessly clean. Staff was most excellent. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grateful11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I agree with the recent positive reviews. This is a very attractive and well-run independent roadside motel, with a friendly staff and better than average amenities. The restaurant serves reasonably priced, simple tasty food for dinner and an outstanding breakfast buffet in the morning. We'll definitely stay here again when passing through the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank museumgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

With all the chains out there, it's hard to find a place like this anymore. The room was very clean and comfortable. However, what made the experience so good was the help. From the moment we checked in until we had breakfast in the great little restaurant the next morning, we were treated wonderfully.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadLessTraveledMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
793 reviews
5.0 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
412 reviews
5.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#13 of 22 in Harrisonburg
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: 4979 South Valley Pike, South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Harrisonburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#1 Green Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn is located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, near several higher learning institutions including James Madison University, Eastern Mennonite University, Bridgewater College, and Blue Ridge Community College. The 3-Diamond AAA rated Inn is located near the New Market Civil War battlefield, Shenandoah Caverns, Grand Caverns, Sysco Food Service, Whitewave Foods, Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Merck, Molson – Coors Brewery and the Shenandoah Valley Airport. Enjoy dining at our full service onsite restaurant, our outdoor pool/hot tub, and our children's playground. Each room has high speed internet access, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Harrisonburg
Village Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing