We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Place to staty In Virginia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to staty In Virginia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at the Village Inn one night on our trip to New England. The room was large and very nice. We had several chairs to sit in while watching television. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at a very reasonable price. They had a wonderful playground for children. Our grandchildren would have loved it if they were with us. The only thing that we would point out is that on Saturday night, the restaurant only serves a buffet, and we thought it was a little pricey. Additionally, the breakfast menu looked great, and we were disappointed to learn that Sunday only has a free continental breakfast.

We still highly recommend the Village Inn and would stay there again.

Bruce and Janet B

Green Features: the hotel seemed to be very environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at The Village Inn. We're glad that you enjoyed our large, quiet, comfortable rooms. We strive to offer our guests all of the comforts of home. Our cooks really enjoy preparing homemade entrees for our guests. The weekend buffet features chicken, beef, pork and seafood entrees as well as choice of 2 soups, the salad buffet, and a variety of desserts. On Sunday our restaurant is closed so that our staff can enjoy a day off with their families, so we offer a free continental breakfast. Please do come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    123
    34
    13
    6
See reviews for
133
164
42
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seekonk, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

My wife and I checked in at the appropriate time. We went to our room and found it not ready. We informed the desk staff and they informed us that housekeeping would be notified. One hour later we returned to find no change. We returned to the office and asked for another room. One hour after that we noticed the housekeeping staff preparing the first room. The next morning my wife was walking our two goldens. A housekeeper went by on her golf cart and almost hit our 8 year old Molly. Molly tends to moves slowly and in a straight line. Although the restaurant is a very nice feature, I cannot overlook the incompetence and aggressiveness of the housekeeping staff. We will not return to this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay at The Village Inn. At our motel, we have one room with a king-size bed. You had requested that type of room when you made your reservation. Unfortunately, the previous guests in that room checked out late and the room was not ready when you checked in. We strive to have our guests' room ready for 3pm check ins and we sincerely apologize that your room was not ready as it had been on your previous stay with us. When using the golf cart, our housekeeping staff tries to be mindful of cars, our guests, and their pets. We do hope that you'll come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We got this place via 3 diamond rating on AAA. When we arrived we were blown away with the quality and cleanliness. Not to mention very friendly and caring staff. Place is family run with great pride and class. Breakfast was inexpensive and as good as any 5 star place. Would recommend to anyone and everyone!

Room Tip: We had room 108 and it was fine. Nice deck for sitting out after dinner.
See more room tips
Green Features: Gave a green option to reuse towels & sheets.seem to be pro active.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken and karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us a The Village Inn and for taking the time to write a review. Our entire staff takes great pride in their work and strives to provide all of our guests with a clean, comfortable, and friendly environment. We look forward to having you stay with us when you come back to the Shenandoah Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed last night and had a very comfortable night in a clean and spacious 2 bed room. Loved the deck out the back door. Appreciated being on one level as we had a bike strapped to one of our cars. All the staff were very courteous.
If we were staying longer we would have tried out the pool and spa.
I would definitely return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaps2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Village Inn and taking the time to write a review. We're pleased that you had such a positive experience. The decks which overlook the green pasture and winding stream area great place to relax and unwind. Please come back to see us again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

So happy to find this wonderful inn! Room very large and nicely furnished. The room was clean, comfortable and I couldn't have asked for more. Arrived too late to try restaurant, but smelled great.Very friendly reception. Pool beautiful and the grounds meticuously landscaped and manicured. Great place to stay with a pet! This will definitely make this a regular travel stop!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The next time you visit, we hope that you'll be able to try our full country breakfast buffet or our evening buffet featuring chicken, beef, pork, and seafood entrees, soup, salad, and dessert which is served Friday and Saturday evenings. We strive to offer our guests all of the comforts of home and we look forward to having you stay with us again. Thanks for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

They have a great breakfast buffet but we did not realize the price was not included with the room. No mention by the desk clerk or service attendent, no sign, no menu. It was set up like dozens of other free breakfasts at major chain motels all summer. The cost was about $30 with tax, tip, and drinks for 2 adults who has moderate breakfasts with coffee and a small child who had a bowl of dry kids cereal and a drink.

Yes the rooms were clean and nicely equipped, and the whirlpool and outside deck were nice additions. The grounds were nice but the pool had leaves floating around and wireless internet did not work in our room.

Room Tip: If you have children and want to use the playground or pool ask for a room close to those. If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of The Village Inn. We are glad that you felt comfortable and welcome during your recent stay at The Village Inn of Harrisonburg, Va. Our rooms with decks offer a relaxing spot to unwind and enjoy the pastoral setting of our motel. Due to a passing storm during the evening hours, there were leaves in our pool & those were cleaned out the next day. We hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

While traveling without my husband, I was leery to stay at a place that was not a chain. I could not have been happier with my stay. The facilities were great with a playground and a pool. They also had a putting green and a few other things. The rooms were clean and the towels were heavenly. I loved the family owned feeling and loved the beautiful location. We will put it on our list as a repeat for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kearly1, Front Office Manager at The Village Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Village Inn. Our entire staff works hard to provide a clean, comfortable and friendly environment for our guests and are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Our motel is now managed by the 3rd generations of Early's who try to ensure that our guests have all of the comforts of home while staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
5.0 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: 4979 South Valley Pike, South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#1 Green Hotel in Harrisonburg
#1 Best Value Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn is located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, near several higher learning institutions including James Madison University, Eastern Mennonite University, Bridgewater College, and Blue Ridge Community College. The 3-Diamond AAA rated Inn is located near the New Market Civil War battlefield, Shenandoah Caverns, Grand Caverns, Sysco Food Service, Whitewave Foods, Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Merck, Molson – Coors Brewery and the Shenandoah Valley Airport. Enjoy dining at our full service onsite restaurant, our outdoor pool/hot tub, and our children's playground. Each room has high speed internet access, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Harrisonburg
Village Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing