We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KEEPS GETTING BETTER”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“KEEPS GETTING BETTER”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stay here 3 nights while playing tourist in the Shenandoah Valley. The grounds are well kept. The motel as been recently updated and my room was very nice with flat screen TV, microwave and refrig. We had sofa and very nice long bathroom counter. They have a pool and restaurant that I did not use. The location was great no crowds and easy to navigate in any direction. I would not select this motel for mt… views but would select it for relaxing scenery nice clean rooms value and friendly service.

Room Tip: if road noise bothers you ask for a room in the back. Most traffic died down in the evening and resu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    127
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
141
172
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brynsdaler, Pontyclun
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Harrisonburg is a lively, University town with nice places to eat and drink but the Village Inn is miles from all that. The food is buffet only and very average, although it seemed popular with the locals, most of whom must have escaped from the nearby rest home and were intent on eating themselves to death. If you fancy a drink you're out of luck, the place is dry ! No alcohol, sorry Sir.
As for Sunday, forget it, everyone's in Church (all day it seemed). Nothing available.
The rooms were very nice, roomy and clean and the staff could not have been more friendly and polite but, at best, its a motel.
If you fancy a nice meal and a bottle of wine you've got to go into town, 5 miles away, and you'll have to drive because you've got more chance of seeing a Polar Bear than getting a cab. We nearly missed a wedding on Saturday because the cab didn't turn up and then waited 2 hours on Sunday for a cab to go and collect our car.
Should have stayed in town !
(PS : Don't respond to this post, I'm not interested in a debate. This is how I saw it, I really don't care how you saw it !)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

When a quoted price is so much cheaper than other hotels in the area, you start to wonder what is wrong with the place. Well the answer is nothing! This is a gem of motel to stay in. Our room had a whirlpool bath, double sinks, mini-frig, microwave, ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, large screen TV, free wi-fi etc. And the bed was super comfy! All the amenities of a much more expensive hotel for a fraction of the price. Everyone was very friendly and helpful from the housekeepers to the management. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dena258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galion, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Came home to Hburg for a funeral, and stayed again at a wonderful, family owned, motel. Our double room was the largest room I have ever seen in a motel! Clean, quiet, and affordable rates. And the onsite restaurant with its breakfast and weekend supper buffets was fantastic as always! It's a park at the door motel, but in a safe, rural area. Wifi was strong, and TV reception was excellent. You can pay twice the rate at some bigger chain hotels in Hburg but I'm not sure you will ever get twice the value as this classic motel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turner_Galion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Super dog-friendly motel on way to Blue Ridge Mountains. Service was excellent, price very reasonable, Wi-fi, restaurant connected to hotel. Interesting place with long history of service. Clean, large room was very updated with 2 sink bathroom, great bed, and a very nice BALCONY overlooking a large green field. Would most definitely stay there again. Not in middle of town but very close to major highway.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lemon-Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have been visiting our daughter at JMU for the past three years, only to discover this sweet motel this past weekend. This family owned establishment is loved and it shows. The room was very clean and quiet, you would never know that dogs are allowed.The balcony off of the back featured the mountains and a lovely little brook.No more Hampton Inn for us. We will be back and with our dog Jake.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topsailluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have stayed at this motel the past few years when we come to Harrisonburg and I cannot say enough great things about it. Our room was exceptionally clean and the staff at the front desk were very friendly. Another plus - it's pet friendly with a minimal pet fee. We will definitely stop here again during our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvroadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
793 reviews
5.0 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
412 reviews
5.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#13 of 22 in Harrisonburg
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: 4979 South Valley Pike, South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#1 Green Hotel in Harrisonburg
#1 Best Value Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn is located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, near several higher learning institutions including James Madison University, Eastern Mennonite University, Bridgewater College, and Blue Ridge Community College. The 3-Diamond AAA rated Inn is located near the New Market Civil War battlefield, Shenandoah Caverns, Grand Caverns, Sysco Food Service, Whitewave Foods, Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Merck, Molson – Coors Brewery and the Shenandoah Valley Airport. Enjoy dining at our full service onsite restaurant, our outdoor pool/hot tub, and our children's playground. Each room has high speed internet access, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Harrisonburg
Village Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing