We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Here Again in a Heartbeat”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 25, 2013

On our trip to the Shenandoah Valley, we had the misfortune to plan it for college move in weekend, and most of the places we liked to stay were booked for the nights we wanted. Based on reviews in TripAdvisor and other sources, we took a chance on the Village Inn. We weren't disappointed. Despite the age of the facility, the rooms were the equal of many moderate priced chain I've stayed at. They had been recently rehabbed and were nicely appointed. The bathrooms had twin commodes, and the rooms had plenty of light. We liked it so much, we decided to extend our stay there to two nights. Because the hotel was pretty full the second night, we had to change rooms, so we got to see two different rooms. Both were very nice with comfortable seating in addition to the beds. Some of the rooms have their own decks. Unfortunately the view isn't what it once was due to the growth of the area. The wi-fi worked as advertised. The restaurant was nothing fancy, but the food was good basic comfort food (we tried the breakfast and dinner buffets) and appears to get a lot of local patronage in addition to the motel guests. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. There is no lobby area. 24-hour coffee in the restaurant-lobby area and a computer for guests would be nice additions.

Room Tip: If the weather's good, ask for one of the rooms with a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ballen7426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 468 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

WE spent one night as we visited the area for an Alan Jackson Concert, All of the on-line pictures and reviews are accurate. The family owned atmosphere is GREAT!! Our room was very clean, well decorated and the bed comfortable. The only reason I could not do EXCELLENT was the limited access to Coffee, and condiments for the coffee, suggest they put coffee in lobby and consider discount for restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirginiaCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We LOVED out recent stay at the Village Inn!!! I find that the beds can be a make or break proposition when on the road and yours were wonderful. We were so delighted to have the pool all to ourselves this past Saturday afternoon. Really a priceless experience! Loads of room for our dog to sniff in the very large back acreage of the hotel. Really enjoyed the shuffleboard as well. And I could go on and on about the dinner buffet on Saturday! Such a great bargain, tons of delicious food! We hated to leave on our way to Staunton for the day

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbysmom1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We've stayed at the Village Inn so many times that I've literally lost count; many of the people who work there already know us by name. Our last visit was for 4 nights in late July. It is an attractive, beautifully maintained property that is somewhat reminiscent of a gentler, simpler era. There are a variety of room styles; we always try to get one that has a private deck. In addition to the motel, there's also a restaurant that serves excellent meals 6 days a week. It is very conveniently located on Route 11 just about halfway between exits 240 and 243 on I-81. (There are several chain motels at exit 243, but none of them compare to The Village Inn's charm and relaxed, refined atmosphere.) Virginia's Shenandoah Valley is a lovely place to visit and The Village Inn is an outstanding place to stay while doing so.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripmomLedgewood_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here 1 night while my son was playing in a baseball tournament. Room was clean and spacious. Whirlpool tub and balcony was a plus. Pool was nice. Didn't get a chance to enjoy thr restaurant but I have heard good things about it. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodami67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great lodging choice for our 2-night stay while exploring the Shenandoah Valley. This is an old-style motel, with exterior entrances & parking in front of your room, but it is lovingly maintained with updated bathrooms. We enjoyed the outdoor pool, and had a couple of tasty and inexpensive breakfasts at the on-site restaurant. (not open on Sunday, though, so we went elsewhere for dinner)

Also, they have guest laundry on-site, with very large machines. The $5 per load charge was worth the convenience of not having to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyR-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Average jumps to very good and I would place this family owned and operated hotel in the good category. It was clean and spacious. The price was right for what we got. I loved that they had a jetted tub. My husband loved that they had chairs we could sit in while watching tv. The carpet and sheets needed replacement but for a one night stay a good choice.

Room Tip: Great for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingAngell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 23 in Harrisonburg
321 reviews
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 23 in Harrisonburg
843 reviews
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 23 in Harrisonburg
307 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Address: 4979 South Valley Pike, South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#1 Best Value Hotel in Harrisonburg
#1 Green Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range: $77 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn is located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, near several higher learning institutions including James Madison University, Eastern Mennonite University, Bridgewater College, and Blue Ridge Community College. The 3-Diamond AAA rated Inn is located near the New Market Civil War battlefield, Shenandoah Caverns, Grand Caverns, Sysco Food Service, Whitewave Foods, Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Merck, Molson – Coors Brewery and the Shenandoah Valley Airport. Enjoy dining at our full service onsite restaurant, our outdoor pool/hot tub, and our children's playground. Each room has high speed internet access, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Harrisonburg
Village Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing