We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is an old style Motel, (motor lodge), the kind where you park right outside your room. It is quaint looking, but those more used to modern hotels might pass it over from the exterior look. It is, however, a quaint little hideaway. The rooms are on the small side, but very comfortable. The spa tub was a real joy after hours of traveling. There is a nice view from the pool/play area, though the majority of the rooms overlook a warehouse. It was quiet and had wifi, which were both welcome. The restaurant (which isn't open on Sunday) is very good and very reasonably priced. Everyone was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2BeachLover19_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    127
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
137
171
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

As the reviews here attest, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are good sized and comfortable. Despite being near highways, our room was quiet at night. We asked for a “room in the back” as T.A. reviewers suggested. May I suggest, rather, you specifically ask for room 121 or 122 as those balconies have the best views. Ours looked out on warehouses and some trees as most do, so not a great view, but ok.

Our $76 double-double room was well equipped with refrigerator, microwave, flat screen TV, a large desk with plugs for charging devices, & couch sitting area and had free Internet. The bathroom had 2 sinks and a spa tub. We enjoyed the fried chicken dinner and fine salad bar – very economically priced. For $5 we were able to do a load of laundry – quite convenient. We were taking a break from driving Skyline Drive and this was a bit off the path, but I would recommend it for the comfort and economy and peace.

Room Tip: Try 121 or 122.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DulciTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place is spot on. Great bed (albeit no "kings"), luxurious towels, hot tub, nice furnishings (a little dated, but fitting for a Mom and Pop motel). All this at a very good rate. The place is a little on the noisy side. Seems to be a favorite spot for bikers and the stuck between two major arteries. It isn't nearly as serene as the pictures let on. And the rooms with the cute porches are in high demand, so we ended up with a room with no view to speak of. Sitting by the pool was pleasant enough, but the traffic eventually drive us indoors. Staff was professional, but not very friendly. I guess the amount of traffic passing through (thanks to the glowing reviews) means they don't have to make an extra effort to make you feel welcome. The restaurant is nothing to write home about, so I won't. We made an extra effort to stay at this particular motel and glad we did. We will do so again, (but not with the original enthusiasm we had going into our initial visit). They will get our return business primarily because it is a Mom and Pop operation, and we support independent businesses wherever and whenever possible.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinGins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross Ca.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This inn is an old styled motor inn in a modern world. We were able to back out car right up to our room to unload. The rooms are in very clean condition and well laid out. It was a lot of fun and very refreshing to stay in a well run property like this one . The price was also right...about a hundred bucks.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JdogRossCa.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Va
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I got this hotel through Hotwire. (I've done it several times and never been disappointed). On the site there was a choice that was $25 less (and a half a star) but the reviews were 92% positive for the cheaper hotels and 70% for the more expensive ones (although the possibilities they listed were clearly "better" for the higher priced hotels). The hotel was really a nice surprise. Its an old style, doors on the outside hotel but the room was clean, large and well equipped including a 42" plasma TV, a DVR, a refrigerator, and a microwave in the room itself. It had a small sitting area, one bed (I assume two doubles would eat up the sitting area). It had two sinks separated from the room by a door and a commode and tub/shower separated by another door. The air conditioner was loud but it really didn't cycle much and I slept through it. My room was close to the road (like less than 50 yards) but I didn't hear any traffic (the air conditioner probably helped. There is a pool and a pretty good sized playground. The bathroom had a small coffee maker, a hair dryer, and an ironing board and iron). There is a nice little restaurant in the complex that had a good buffet breakfast for less than $10.00 with tax. The food was good, solid start-the-day stuff. Overall, it was a good experience and made me an even bigger believer in trusting the reviews (at least the averages).

Room Tip: Probably quietest in the "courtyard" area behind the restaurant and reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HokieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We needed a place for two nights in Harrisonburg and picked this independent motel based on previous Tripadvisor reviews. We weren't disappointed. It's an older property, but well maintained and very popular. Rooms were clean and comfortable, thoughtfully appointed. The staff was exceptional, with welcoming smiles, and helpful attitude from the front desk to the housekeeping staff. We felt like we were special guests, but everyone was treated the same. We mourn the demise of so many of these nice little independents in the face of the cookie-cutter chains and we certainly hope The Village Inn continues to shine.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't face the busy highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great place to stay. We stayed here after a long day shopping at the Green Valley Book Fair, and it was a solid choice. The place is right off the road, easy to find, and we had a very spacious, very clean room with a fridge and microwave, dvd player, whirlpool tub, and a deck overlooking a pretty green field. Our room was in the back, and it was very quiet (something that can't be said for some other Harrisonburg hotels, which are RIGHT by the main drag and the highway onramp.) The on-site restaurant had good (not excellent, but good) food for a reasonable price (dinner: $16 for an all you can eat buffet with shrimp, chicken, sides, salad, and dessert).

Also, they have a complimentary continental breakfast on Sunday mornings with pastries, fruit, coffee, juice, milk, and cereal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back (ours was 2 doubles and a whirlpool tub) to be furthest from the road and...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank N0tL0stJustWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
5.0 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: 4979 South Valley Pike, South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#1 Green Hotel in Harrisonburg
#1 Best Value Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn is located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, near several higher learning institutions including James Madison University, Eastern Mennonite University, Bridgewater College, and Blue Ridge Community College. The 3-Diamond AAA rated Inn is located near the New Market Civil War battlefield, Shenandoah Caverns, Grand Caverns, Sysco Food Service, Whitewave Foods, Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Merck, Molson – Coors Brewery and the Shenandoah Valley Airport. Enjoy dining at our full service onsite restaurant, our outdoor pool/hot tub, and our children's playground. Each room has high speed internet access, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Harrisonburg
Village Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing