We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusing but great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kline's Dairy Bar

Kline's Dairy Bar
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: What makes Kline's ice cream so smooth and creamy with an unbelievably delicious taste? It's all in the production method and ingredients. We take the quality of our ice cream very seriously. High quality ingredients and an old fashion ice cream making technique has made Kline's an institution since 1943. Unlike the more popular and profitable soft serve and batch methods of producing ice cream, Kline's employs an almost obsolete process of continuous freeze production. Other methods can yield several times more ice cream because of the air being pumped in during the whipping process. The continuous freeze method used by Kline's, however, does not add extra air to the product. It is a very slow and labor intensive process. Each location makes their own fresh ice cream each morning for the day's sales.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Confusing but great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This place was packed everyday we were there.
When we finally went it was very confusing. You have to try and figure out the menu . Maybe if your a local its easier.
You`d expect more that Chocolate and Vanilla flavors, but all they have is that and 2 specialty flavors of the week.
I had chocolate and it truley was the best chocolate ice cream I have eaten.!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toonzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    29
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Walk up window service location. Service ok. Exactly what flavors are available is slightly confusing. A little on the pricy side... But that said, I ordered a vanilla malt shake and quite honestly it was the best one I've ever tasted. So I'd positively recommend Klines.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dflat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Local icon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Honestly, I don't think there's anything special about the ice cream here -- main selling point appears to be the proximity to JMU. Having said that, all the students seem to know and frequent the place, and I've neve been disappointed there. Two locations -- one is more "downtown" and the other is a little way out on Main Street. Tried both, and both good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank lwh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
172 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Kline's! Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have loved this place since I was a little girl. Each week, they change the flavor of the week. Their shakes are wonderful. It is my treat place when I have had to face something tough, like a dental procedure. You stand in line for your icecream and talk to your friends and strnagers. During the summer heat, the line can be long, but moves well. People come from miles around to go there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnieRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best place for Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Kline's has been an institution in Harrisonburg for many years and there ice cream is yummy and their servings very generous. They always have vanilla and chocolate and a special flavor very week. I love their mint chocolate chip, peach, and chocolate peanut butter flavors. They also have shakes, sundaes, banana splits and lots of other ice cream items.
I highly recommend

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lindiloo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kline's Dairy Bar also viewed

 

Been to Kline's Dairy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing