We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient stay for a visit to JMU”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Convenient stay for a visit to JMU”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night so that we could enjoy a football game at JMU and not rush back to Northern VA that night. My kids enjoyed the indoor pool, I loved the convenience of the bus service to campus for the game, and my husband liked the hotel's proximity to Cracker Barrel. Also, the staff were friendly and helpful and offered us a military discount with ID! It made our stay very reasonable. This was my first stay at a Holiday Inn Express and I will definitely consider choosing them in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygringa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    100
    30
    6
    12
See reviews for
103
59
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Room was pretty clean, tv kept cutting out though and a few lights didn't work. The bed was so comfortable it was hard to get up in the morning. Free breakfast and wifi are a plus too. Would stay here again when I am in the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel sits a couple of miles out of town at Exit 243 (just off of I-81). There is a full-service Holiday Inn located in the middle of all of the shopping and closer to the university. So make sure that you know what you are signing up for. We stayed here for Family Weekend (Football game). It was plenty convenient to JMU. They did have a game shuttle, but we drove and it was not really an issue. The staff was friendly. The hotel was a standard Holiday Inn Express. The breakfast has options, but isn’t spectacular. They have a pancake “printer” that makes a nice pancake. I can’t speak for the whole hotel, but the water pressure on the second floor was awesome. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on either end will be quieter (i.e. 202 and 201). Water pressure on the second floor was exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLT1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is the best Holiday Ann Express we have stayed in in the last 3 years. All aspects were absolute perfection. Staff were wonderful, good breakfast (including the famous cinnamon rolls), perfect bedding for a sound sleep and the highest quality bathrooms. Just a little way of HWY 81 and near one of the best restaurants in the area Eidelweis just 20 minutes away.

Room Tip: Doubt you could go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiMiCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic State
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is by far one of the best Holiday Inn Express hotels at which I have every stayed. The staff is amazing, warm and welcoming. They are knowledgeable about the area, give good directions if you need them. They honor the IHG club membership levels and thank you for your business.
The hotel is quiet, super clean and breakfast was very, very good. A convenient location and although there was a truck stop next to it, I never heard a sound... it is not an issue.
It is a fantastic choice, you won't be disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: I have stayed here twice and never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tealuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is our favorite place to stay when in the Harrisonburg area. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is wonderful. The rooms are clean and very comfortable with free WiFi. They are located just across from the ramp to I-81 at exit 243. Just down Rt. 11 from them is a great Farm Market that we like to shop at plus another over in Dayton, VA.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimNTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I used to be in hotels 5 nights per week. I escaped that a few years ago so it had been a while since I had visited a Holiday Inn Express. Everything about this hotel was great, starting with one of the most pleasant clerks I have ever encountered. She could not have been more helpful. The new rooom decor took me by surprise. It is much more in line with some of the more upscale hotel chains that it used to be. This property, while not in a very scenic area, is right off the highway -- very convenient. We were there to tour James Madison University which is only a couple exits up I-81. While there are hotels closer to campus, I would have to think twice before turning down an opportunity to stay at this HIE again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocnnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
818 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 22 in Harrisonburg
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
318 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
Address: 3325 S Main St, I-81 Exit 243, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-2675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Harrisonburg, is sure to meet your every expectation. Just off I-81 (exit 243) on Route 11, this hotel provides ideal access to many significant venues of the Shenandoah Valley. We are just minutes away from Bridgewater College, Eastern Mennonite University, and James Madison University with easy access to Shenandoah Regional Airport. Local businesses include SYSCO, Truck Enterprises Inc., Coors, Wal-Mart Distribution, Merck, Walker, Tyson Foods, Cargill Foods, and Packaging Corporation of America. If it is recreation and fun you are looking for, this hotel is convenient to the Valley Lanes, Rockingham County Fairground, Shenandoah National Park, Massanutten Resort, Luray Caverns, New Market Battlefield, Endless Caverns, Natural Bridge, Blue Ridge Parkway, and Skyline Drive. A great variety of restaurants in the Harrisonburg area are available for your dining pleasure. All our rooms come with the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, cable TV with HBO and optional pay-per-view services, microwave/refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Come enjoy the Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Holiday Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing