We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South of town but still convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel sits a couple of miles out of town at Exit 243 (just off of I-81). There is a full-service Holiday Inn located in the middle of all of the shopping and closer to the university. So make sure that you know what you are signing up for. We stayed here for Family Weekend (Football game). It was plenty convenient to JMU. They did have a game shuttle, but we drove and it was not really an issue. The staff was friendly. The hotel was a standard Holiday Inn Express. The breakfast has options, but isn’t spectacular. They have a pancake “printer” that makes a nice pancake. I can’t speak for the whole hotel, but the water pressure on the second floor was awesome. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on either end will be quieter (i.e. 202 and 201). Water pressure on the second floor was exce...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLT1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 243 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is the best Holiday Ann Express we have stayed in in the last 3 years. All aspects were absolute perfection. Staff were wonderful, good breakfast (including the famous cinnamon rolls), perfect bedding for a sound sleep and the highest quality bathrooms. Just a little way of HWY 81 and near one of the best restaurants in the area Eidelweis just 20 minutes away.

Room Tip: Doubt you could go wrong.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiMiCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is by far one of the best Holiday Inn Express hotels at which I have every stayed. The staff is amazing, warm and welcoming. They are knowledgeable about the area, give good directions if you need them. They honor the IHG club membership levels and thank you for your business.
The hotel is quiet, super clean and breakfast was very, very good. A convenient location and although there was a truck stop next to it, I never heard a sound... it is not an issue.
It is a fantastic choice, you won't be disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: I have stayed here twice and never had a bad room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tealuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is our favorite place to stay when in the Harrisonburg area. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is wonderful. The rooms are clean and very comfortable with free WiFi. They are located just across from the ramp to I-81 at exit 243. Just down Rt. 11 from them is a great Farm Market that we like to shop at plus another over in Dayton, VA.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimNTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I used to be in hotels 5 nights per week. I escaped that a few years ago so it had been a while since I had visited a Holiday Inn Express. Everything about this hotel was great, starting with one of the most pleasant clerks I have ever encountered. She could not have been more helpful. The new rooom decor took me by surprise. It is much more in line with some of the more upscale hotel chains that it used to be. This property, while not in a very scenic area, is right off the highway -- very convenient. We were there to tour James Madison University which is only a couple exits up I-81. While there are hotels closer to campus, I would have to think twice before turning down an opportunity to stay at this HIE again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocnnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

great location, very well appointed, Ben the desk attendant was very accommodating, free WiFi worked well for doing homework on line.. good breakfast, had to wait for delivery of yogurt but I was given some to go. definitely would stay there again !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peaksgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I love the Holiday Inn Express when on the road. At this property we were greeted by a very kind and friendly front desk staff staff and hotel manager. The property does allow dogs on the first floor but there was no odor of doggies!
Everything in this place was spotless! From the lobby to our room we could not have asked for more. Comfortable beds, quiet and clean..what more could you want? And there is a convenience store just next door.
The management clearly care about their customers experience..and it shows!

Room Tip: Ask for second or third floor is you don't travel with a dog.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolyn636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 23 in Harrisonburg
836 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 23 in Harrisonburg
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 23 in Harrisonburg
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg

Address: 3325 S Main St, I-81 Exit 243, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-2675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#7 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range: $111 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Harrisonburg, is sure to meet your every expectation. Just off I-81 (exit 243) on Route 11, this hotel provides ideal access to many significant venues of the Shenandoah Valley. We are just minutes away from Bridgewater College, Eastern Mennonite University, and James Madison University with easy access to Shenandoah Regional Airport. Local businesses include SYSCO, Truck Enterprises Inc., Coors, Wal-Mart Distribution, Merck, Walker, Tyson Foods, Cargill Foods, and Packaging Corporation of America. If it is recreation and fun you are looking for, this hotel is convenient to the Valley Lanes, Rockingham County Fairground, Shenandoah National Park, Massanutten Resort, Luray Caverns, New Market Battlefield, Endless Caverns, Natural Bridge, Blue Ridge Parkway, and Skyline Drive. A great variety of restaurants in the Harrisonburg area are available for your dining pleasure. All our rooms come with the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, cable TV with HBO and optional pay-per-view services, microwave/refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Come enjoy the Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Holiday Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing