We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average stay in an average 2 star hotel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
scarsdale ny
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average stay in an average 2 star hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel and room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was average.... Very few real healthy options. For just under $100 as a pit stop enroute it was ok but in my experience Marriott Fairfield inns offer a better experience for about the same cost.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ks10583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    96
    27
    5
    11
See reviews for
97
57
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

A good value for the money. Ask about room price discounts. Room was clean. Did not realize that the view out the window was a major truck stop. Breakfast was just Okay. The pancake machine did not work and there was not much of a selection. Went to a McDonald's later. Do not get off at this exit of I-81 stop further north.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariettatraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Booked thru Priceline,pleasantly surprised,clean,quaint,and quiet with plentiful parking. Front desk very helpful,but you have to pay for your breakfast.In great area tons of restaurants and even a Wal Mart less than half a mile away,altogether a very nice hotel !!

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank dg463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is off the highway and beside a truck stop but we didn't feel unsafe. We were able to get to many restaurants and stores in a few minutes. The hotel had a modern feel to it. Staff was friendly and having the fresh cookies in the evening was a special treat. We had a suite (327) and was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and bathroom. The only thing was it didn't have a separate space like other suites have. Its 1 BIG room. We have an early to bed child so when he was ready for bed, we all had to go because he can't sleep with any lights or tv on. We were only there 2 nights so it was fine. Pool was fine too. The hot tub needed to be cleaned along the walls (green slime) of it but I didn't let that ruin the stay. Breakfast was good as well as the coffee. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Pros:
At first glance the room was pretty nice. We paid for the executive suite. It was spacious and clean. Bed was comfortable. Cookies in the lobby in the evening. Breakfast was okay. Staff at the front desk seemed nice. Quick check in.

Cons:
The non-smoking room smelled like smoke. It was so bad that I had to buy air freshener! If you want to actually SLEEP, then do NOT get room 304 (probably room 204 as well). These rooms are on the other side of the stairwell. The bed is right up against the wall next the the stairwell. (poor planning on the design) The third floor stairwell door is VERY VERY LOUD. It sticks when it opens, and SLAMS when it closes so all night we were hearing this door opening and closing not realizing what it was. Starting about 6am it was basically constant. Kudos to all those on the 3rd floor using the stairs. There are a lot of you!! We were not business travelers and did not plan to be awake before 8am. The next day we realized what it was. I can't believe that no other patron has ever complained about this!! We reported it on the way out, which didn't help us, but hopefully the next poor soul that gets that room. The air conditioner is also very loud. We actually turned it up so it wouldn't come on all the time in the middle of the night.
There was some other unidentifiable noise around 3am which woke us up. Like the title states, NOT a quiet hotel if your objective is a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: NOT room 304. Loud stairwell door keeps you up all night! (probably the same for 204)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Karen M,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff, the spacious room, comfortable bed.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the smell of smoke, loud stairwell door and the noisy air conditioning. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here on Saturday, July 14th, 2012 for one night. I echo Rick M's sentiments and would like to add a couple of comments of my own. The warm cookies in the lobby at 8:30 PM on a Saturday night were much appreciated! Getting put in a heavily-scented sour smelling room that was in the process of being converted to non-smoking was not! While I made my reservation well in advance using my Priority Club information, the hotel was full last night and they were not able to change me to a true non-smoking room.

Room Tip: If you need a true non-smoking experience, request a room on a non-smoking floor. In addition, I wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaldri01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear kaldri01,

Thank you so much for being a Priority Club Member and for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed our warm cookies in the lobby. We always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. However, please do accept our apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced due to the unusual smell in the room. I have noted your comments and I will make sure that this will be looked into to improve the quality and service that we offer to all of our guests.

Thank you again for your review. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here on Friday July 6th, 2012 for one night. I have read a few of the other reviews and believe that others are too picky or have become too comfortable in today's lazy and instant gratification society. Let me address a couple of the concerns that I have seen. First, restaurants, someone said they were too far away. We drove to the local town near James Madison University to eat. All the Restaurants began to appear on the same street as the hotel within the first mile. If you like the standard chains they are located within a mile or two of the hotel, less than a 7 minute drive. If you want local fare, drive a little further into the town of Harrisonburg and eat there. We found a pretty good little bar/restaurant called Union Station. It was less than 15 minutes from the hotel. Secondly, I am sorry to hear that the user named "momoftwoboys" had a bad experience. I was there just two days ahead of her and our experience was not even close to hers. She mentions that there was a smell of paint on the third floor. This is true. I smelled the paint as well and was actually glad to see that the hotel was proactive enough to maintain the hallways with a fresh coat. The smell remained only in the hall and could not be detected while in the room. The hallway itself was a bit warm and humid as she described but did not affect the quality of the room. The room itself was very clean. I checked the sheets for bedbugs that I had read about in another review, there were none. The sheets were clean. The room was ample and spacious with a desk and chair that more than adequately accommodated my laptop and I. There was also a chair to sit in which was comfortable as well. The ottoman was a little hard, but that was not an issue. The bathroom was clean, the linens and towels were clean. The front desk staff was friendly. What I liked best about the hotel was that they provided a full breakfast, not a continental. The fare included, Small cheese omelets (unfortunately it was cheese wiz), sausage, cereal, pancakes, muffins and English muffins, bagels, and an assortment of pastries. Was the good great? No, but it was good enough for a hotel that was an overnight stop while heading North. Overall the room was clean, cool, and comfortable, the food was average. It's a three diamond hotel according to AAA, and that's exactly what we received. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are light sensitive in the morning and you want to sleep in, request a room on the Southwest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
3.8 mi away
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Courtyard Harrisonburg
#9 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
Address: 3325 S Main St, I-81 Exit 243, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Harrisonburg, is sure to meet your every expectation. Just off I-81 (exit 243) on Route 11, this hotel provides ideal access to many significant venues of the Shenandoah Valley. We are just minutes away from Bridgewater College, Eastern Mennonite University, and James Madison University with easy access to Shenandoah Regional Airport. Local businesses include SYSCO, Truck Enterprises Inc., Coors, Wal-Mart Distribution, Merck, Walker, Tyson Foods, Cargill Foods, and Packaging Corporation of America. If it is recreation and fun you are looking for, this hotel is convenient to the Valley Lanes, Rockingham County Fairground, Shenandoah National Park, Massanutten Resort, Luray Caverns, New Market Battlefield, Endless Caverns, Natural Bridge, Blue Ridge Parkway, and Skyline Drive. A great variety of restaurants in the Harrisonburg area are available for your dining pleasure. All our rooms come with the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, cable TV with HBO and optional pay-per-view services, microwave/refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Come enjoy the Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Holiday Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing