We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality at the Stonewall Jackson Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Harrisonburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chantilly, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hospitality at the Stonewall Jackson Inn”
Reviewed November 16, 2008

For our seventh year in a row, we have enjoyed our college reunion in Harrisonburg, VA while staying at the Stonewall Jackson Inn. The Inn has it all! Great Innkeeper and Owner who really know how to treat their guests, great breakfasts, great location, excellent rooms and beds, and an overall superb setting for a casual weekend get together.

We go to the James Madison University football game and tailgate with a HUGE spread. The ability to work in the guest's kitchen to prepare for the tailgating is an excellent attribute of the Inn and really allows us to create a great tailgating spirit with some excellent food! (Our lead "chefs" won third place at the JMU Tailgating competition for best food. - We wouldn't be able to do this kind of preparation without the unique capability of having a full kitchen to work in.)

The best part of the stay is the personable Owner and kind, fun-loving Innkeeper. The two make a great team and bring a smile from the moment we arrived and throughout the weekend. I always recommend the Stonewall Jackson Inn anytime I hear someone is going to the Shenandoah Valley. It just keeps getting better and better every year we have stayed there (and a few times in between). Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Liked — The Innkeeper/Owner and the nice rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ValleyTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    59
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
82
288
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

I guarantee no one will be disappointed at this Inn. We couldn't have found a nicer or friendlier place. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BTHOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Absolutely delightful in every way! My college roommate and I were in Harrisonburg for a college reunion and wanted to stay in a charming location. The Stonewall Jackson Inn exceeded our expectations and Innkeepers Wayne and Debbie could not be more welcoming. Wayne is a fabulous cook and we loved the breakfasts both mornings. The Belle Boyd room was perfect for us with beautiful antique furniture and two marvelously comfortable beds. It was convenient to both James Madison University and the nearby shops and restaurants of downtown Harrisonburg. I would go back in a minute!

  • Liked — Welcoming staff and great breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank peklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return if we're ever in that part of the world again. The welcome was warm and amusing and nothing was too much trouble, including arranging a dinner reservation. Our room was comfortable and well equipped and we slept well. The following morning breakfast on the patio was cooked to order with more good cheer. The only downside was being sold the more expensive of the two rooms available though we asked for the other, but we enjoyed it anyway. We couldn't agree it was the best B&B in the world, as we were asked (jokingly) to do, because we haven't sampled enough. However, in terms of welcome, comfort, cleanliness, food and good gentle fun it was great.

  • Liked — The banter with the host
  • Disliked — Being sold a more expensive room than we asked for (minor gripe)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runner008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Innkeepers Wayne and Peter showed exceptional hospitality to our small group of bicyclists touring the Shenandoah Valley -- from providing a secure, sheltered location to store our bikes, to filling our water bottles with ice. The wonderful salmon and eggs breakfast they served will not soon be forgotten. The beautifully restored house is just a few blocks away from historic downtown Harrisonburg, allowing us to enjoy the "Court Days" festival.

  • Liked — Interior restoration
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biketourist08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2008

My partner and I visit Harrisonburg about twice a year to visit friends, and we ended up at Stonewall Jackson when our regular B&B was booked. It was a good experience & we now plan to stay there again in the future. What "made" the visit was the friendliness of Wayne and Peter, who knew how to make themselves known without intruding into personal space. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was delicious--and even though my partner and I were the only gay couple visiting this particular night/morning, we never once felt awkward or out of place. Plus, we had access to the kitchen for bottled water and soda all times--which was much appreciated on a hot humid wkend in July.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank RmondCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary at this romantic B&B and it was an absolutely perfect experience. The inn is beautifully restored and decorated in the Civil War era. It is clean and comfortable with modern conveniences. Reasonably priced. Ideally located within walking distance of restaurants and shops. A short drive to wineries and nighttime entertainment. The innkeepers, Wayne, Tanja, and Peter, are very relaxed and friendly. Breakfast was delicious. We highly recommend the massage therapy we enjoyed in the privacy of our room. We will definitely be back to celebrate again next year.

  • Liked — Relaxed, friendly, reasonably priced
  • Disliked — Located on a busy road
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SZuhoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
429 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
318 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg
5.7 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Inn

Property: Stonewall Jackson Inn
Address: 547 E Market St, Shenandoah Valley, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-4227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Night's Delight - A Breakfast to Remember" is our mission and succinctly describes the legendary Award Winning "Stonewall Jackson Experience!" We are a Certified Virginia Green, 3-Diamond Inn. Awarded "Best in the Mid-Atlantic States" and the "Guest Favorite" designations. The Inn is located in the Downtown Historic "Old Town" District of Harrisonburg in the heart of the ever beautiful Shenandoah Valley, on spacious, landscaped grounds. The mansion (circa 1880) has been completely restored. We are a Diamond, Virginia Green and TripAvisor Hall of Fame property inspected and approved. There are ten well-appointed guest rooms, each full of character with private bath. Rooms have individual climate control, paddle fans, desks, free hi-speed WiFi, and cable television. Our Paradise Cafe offers indoor sun-room porch and outdoor patio dining. We have an ABC license and a variety house wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing