We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Harrisonburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Healdsburg, California
1 review
“Southern Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

It is hard to beat being greeted by name and welcomed at this charming inn, located in the Shenandoah Valley. The Inn keepers Wayne and Jonathon welcomed us and created a wonderful evening by suggesting the nearby dinning of clementine's, where the shrimp and grits should not be missed. If you are a Yankee looking for true Southern Hospitality, this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonInn, at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
We are so happy to have had you as our guests for your recent "spur of the moment" trip to the Valley - aren't those sometimes even better than the planned-ahead excursions?! The inn is the perfect location for a wine tasting venture, with so many wonderful wineries in the area, then several restaurants within walking distance after your day of sampling. We're pleased that you found our staff warm and friendly, your accommodations comfy, and breakfast amazing - all the more reason to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    57
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
78
277
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I met our daughter here, half-way between Bedford VA., and DC. It is a beautiful old home restored and renovated to reflect the Civil War era. The bedrooms were cozy and comfortable; the breakfast was delicious, but the most outstanding asset was the staff and owner, Wayne, Johnathon and Michael. There were friendly and helpful and we actually left there feeling as if we had made new friends.
The location was perfect for our activities. We were only 30 minutes away from Shenandoah National Park where we hiked. The restaurants downtown were good and the Mennonite Market was close by.
We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the common area and kitchen are quieter; as are the rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynlouisesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonInn, at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
We are so happy to have had you as our guests for your recent "spur of the moment" trip to the Valley - aren't those sometimes even better than the planned-ahead excursions?! The inn is the perfect location for a wine tasting venture, with so many wonderful wineries in the area, then several restaurants within walking distance after your day of sampling. We're pleased that you found our staff warm and friendly, your accommodations comfy, and breakfast amazing - all the more reason to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

My friend and I had a wonderful two-night stay in this lovely home, very conveniently located 10 minutes from downtown restaurants. The staff were very friendly and eager to make us comfortable. Their warmth and sincere interest in our comfort is the reason I thought of this place as a home away from home. They accommodated our gluten-free vegetarian preferences for breakfast beautifully. Our room was very comfortable with two beds and a private bath right across the hall. Staff provided comfy robes in case we wanted them for that short walk. The large parlor was a great place to sit and talk with local family members who came to visit one morning. I will look for opportunities to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms are available on two levels at least. I saw a bedroom downstairs, very near the parlor and kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

What a great night with good friends and lots of fun. With only one night to spend, the caretakers at Stonewall were so accommodating for our group of 8 friends/colleges. Our work meeting was very productive in the comfortable space downstairs. Everyone at Stonewall was very friendly and helpful. We all loved their dinner suggestion to a nearby restaurant and definitely took advantage of the free desert card. The bed and bedding were very luxurious. After a fabulous breakfast, the caretaker gave us our own personal tour complete with house history and mystery! Definitely will recommend to anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

All the people-aspects here exceed expectations, from watching to greet guests in the parking area, to offering comfortable opportunity to visit, to respecting privacy. Fine nights' sleeping and a most thoughtful breakfast--but the best for me was being made to feel welcome, put very much at ease. Of the various conversations with host Wayne and the youthful staff, none was at all rushed, but gently relaxing and caring. I went to relax, so this was the right place.

Room Tip: Expect homey rather than fancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1016Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I took my wife for a surprise Valentine's getaway. She loved every minute and everything about our stay. Wayne and Jonathan were fantastic...friendly and accommodating. They aren't kidding about the "breakfast to remember". They definitely went the extra mile to make this and extra special weekend. They treated us like royalty. We WILL return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very accomodating, friendly folks. Super clean comfortable rooms. It had a very homey feel to it and the French toast was the best I ever had! The tour and history of the house added an extra fun component.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollywoodslayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Courtyard Harrisonburg
#9 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Inn

Property: Stonewall Jackson Inn
Address: 547 E Market St, Shenandoah Valley, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-4227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Night's Delight - A Breakfast to Remember" is our mission and succinctly describes the legendary Award Winning "Stonewall Jackson Experience!" We are a Certified Virginia Green, 3-Diamond Inn. Awarded "Best in the Mid-Atlantic States" and the "Guest Favorite" designations. The Inn is located in the Downtown Historic "Old Town" District of Harrisonburg in the heart of the ever beautiful Shenandoah Valley, on spacious, landscaped grounds. The mansion (circa 1880) has been completely restored. We are a Diamond, Virginia Green and TripAvisor Hall of Fame property inspected and approved. There are ten well-appointed guest rooms, each full of character with private bath. Rooms have individual climate control, paddle fans, desks, free hi-speed WiFi, and cable television. Our Paradise Cafe offers indoor sun-room porch and outdoor patio dining. We have an ABC license and a variety house wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing