We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helped Make our First Anniversary So Memorable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Harrisonburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We chose to stay at the Stonewall Jackson Inn B&B for our first year anniversary, and it couldn’t have been a better pick! The staff was exceedingly wonderful, and even surprised us with cupcakes to celebrate. They also helped my husband surprise me with two dozen roses in our room one night. The staff had great suggestions on dinner options and things to do in the area. The breakfasts were amazing! The best breakfasts we’ve had in a very long time. The rooms were also cozy and comfortable. We will definitely be coming back to the Stonewall Jackson; I have a feeling this is the first of many visits.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rusk0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonInn, Aspiring Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Your first celebration of marriage and we got to be part of it! Surprise! We feel very honored to have hosted you in our home during such a special time. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. It's lovely to share it with you. We put a lot of energy into creating a welcoming environment guests can enjoy and feel at home in. Whether by offering an introduction into the local scene or spending time creating a spotless environment or adding small touches to cozy up the rooms or pulling out all the stops and baking special cupcakes, we enjoy the challenge. We're so happy you enjoyed our signature breakfasts! You can request them again on your next visit (you wont be the first) which will be soon and often we hope :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 479 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I visited for a romantic weekend getaway (Romance package) from our home in the DC area. Because we would be bringing our small dog with us, we were told we would be staying in their Grant room. We generally enjoy B&Bs and were very much looking forward to this trip upon reading the great reviews, however, our visit was a disappointment (we left a day/evening early as a result, although we were charged for both days).

When we first arrived at the Inn, it appeared to be a large decently sized home with a nicely tended yard. After check inn on their main level lounge area, we were shown our room directly adjacent to this area (no hall separating). Upon entering and putting my bags down, it very quickly went downhill from there as follows: tiniest bathroom I had ever been in and found small bugs crawling/popping around during walk through and thereafter , shower was approximately 3X3 (kept bumping into the walls and didn't have hot water in the morning), sink was bizarrely outside in main bedroom area, two large 1x1 stains on ceiling (appeared to be from water damage), uncomfortable wicker porch type furniture, no sleep in the evening due to hearing either conversations from people next to us in the lounge area or footsteps above us), and decor generally old/dated (not in a good way).

I really wish I had nicer things to say, and can only imagine the better reviews were perhaps for nicer accommodations than what we were provided.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ObjectiveReviewer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonInn, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Oh no! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We’re so sorry you didn't have the great Stonewall Jackson Experience we try to deliver for all our guests. Had we known of your impromptu exit or the reasons for your departing early, we would have done our best to make it right for you. In fact, we ask all our guests for the gift of their suggestions before leaving - but unfortunately we weren’t given the chance to do that with you.

While we generally don't allow pets at the inn, we do make the occasional exception, and were happy to be accommodating after confirming the pet rules of the house. Having a pet limits our guest’s options to the first floor for noise and allergy considerations. This room is oft-requested and we’ve never heard feedback like this about it! With two beds, a private bathroom (a somewhat unusual B&B luxury), a private entrance (very accommodating for pets), and some peaceful morning sunshine from the big bay windows, our guests are always very happy! The room is decorated to feel a bit like a spring garden, and is the only one of our rooms with wicker-style furniture (again, very pet friendly, though we happen to find it quite comfortable). In renovating a historic Queen Anne style mansion from the restoration era (after the Civil War) we did our best to respect and preserve its place in history while adding modern amenities. Our rooms boast beautiful antique pieces that really add to the classic B&B feel of the Inn.

As far as the bugs go... not good! As soon as we heard these comments we ran right up and examined every nook and cranny. We have a stellar cleaning crew here, and between all of us (several hours of searching), we couldn't find a one. Going one step further we called an exterminator just to make sure, again with the same result. Believe you me, we take any hint of bugs very seriously (thankfully, it hasn't been an issue to date). Regarding the water spots, thank you for bringing them to our attention, we already fixed the leak from the night before and added fresh plaster to the top of our list of summer repairs - we have a lot planned, including a new coat of paint on the exterior of the house! It’s also nice to see the hours we dedicate to our lawn and gardens are appreciated, thank you. 

Please accept our apologies once again. We'd love another opportunity to give you the experience the rest of our guests report. Our home is at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Back at home in Germany, we think with great pleasure of our stay in the beautiful "Stonewall Jackson Inn". We were made very welcome and helped to find our way around, ending up in a lovely "artistic" restaurant with excellent food. This was only outdone by next days breakfast, which indeed was unforgettable. Wayne and Jonathan were interesting to talk to, telling us of the history of the place and we talked about "Gott und die Welt". We thank them both and wish all the best for the future. Günter and Susanne

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonInn, Aspiring Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Delightful! That is the first word that comes to mind when I think of you two. Thank you for hiking into our lives and creating outstanding memories! We're glad you could visit with us before your travels home. And thank you for writing this review. It brings back great memories of our conversations and your visit. We're happy we could live up to our promise of a "Breakfast to Remember"! We hope you can come and enjoy more cuisine, relaxation and some good ole fashioned sitting around talking, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We selected this Inn to cut a long drive in half. My husband found this Inn and it is a gem. We always try to stay in B & B's because we have such great experiences. This Inn was not a disappointment. We were met by Innkeepers and shown the Inn, our room, and given directions to a restaurant we had previously selected. Excellent service. I can say the same for our breakfast. One of the best I've ever had. Thanks to Wayne, Jonathan, and Julie. Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duckoutofwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonInn, Aspiring Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Wowie what a gracious headline. "One of the best B & B's ever"! That just gives us greater motivation to keep our 5 star rating. Thank goodness you found us, we loved having you visit with us. You were such gracious guests and continue showing us favor by taking time to put some words up about your stay. Thank you so much for doing that. It really is fun getting to serve folks like you. We're happy you could take advantage of our well honed concierge services. We have a great community to show off. We would love you have you come back and see us again. Don't wait too long, we'll get lonesome without you to talk to :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Harrisionburg was just a convenient distance for us to stop for the night on a road trip. And it looked big enough to maybe have a decent supper. So, I checked TA to see if it had a B&B. The Stonewall Jackson came up at the top of the pack. So I reserved.

When we arrived, we were, as predicted by the inn's web site, greeted by Johnathan. He turned us right over to his delightful wife, Julie. She checked us in, showed us around, and made sure we knew where to go for dinner.

The room was clean and quiet. We slept fine. Breakfast was very good, too. Eggs Benedict, but better. Made with country ham and a lighter sauce than is traditional. An excellent variation on the classic.

One interesting note is that I reserved a particular room. We were given a different room. i didn't even notice until the next morning. I knew the room we got was priced lower than the one we reserved. When I checked the bill, we had been charged the correct (lower) price for the room we stayed in. We were happy with what we got so I didn't even mention it. But I thought it was curious. They had a full house including a large group. So the room we got, being somewhat removed from most other rooms, was actually a blessing in that it put us in a quiet area of the house.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Even_Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonInn, Aspiring Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

A big thank you for finding us online and adding to all the reviews already here. We are thrilled to have turned a convenient stop over into a Night's Delight! When it comes to breakfast I think I get more excited about it than anyone! I am so happy you enjoyed our signature breakfast of Eggs Benedict, one of my wife's favorites and so one I get ample practice at perfecting, haha.

I'm happy you got to enjoy the quiet and cleanliness of our rooms. I think I am as curious about your room change as you are. Doh! As a rule we don't switch reservation details without having a chat with our guests. We also invite our guests to give us feedback about their stay as a way of constantly improving our services. I am delighted you were happy with your accommodations and if you would like to contact us to clarify how we may have made that oversight I would consider it a real gift.

Thanks again for adding your experience here for others to sample. We hope you pass this way again soon and come and stay with us. Ill keep making that Eggs Benedict if you keep cleaning the plate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay. Everyone that works there was very welcoming and did everything they could to make sure all of our needs were met. The inn is a remarkable, historical building. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonInn, Aspiring Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for submitting a review. We know your time is valuable and we appreciate the gift of your feedback. We are blessed to have folks come a visit with an appreciation of history and the buildings it produced. We are very fortunate to live in a renovated 1880s mansion that boasts modern amenities without detracting from its place the history books. its a joy to share with so many appreciative travelers. I am so glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us. We hope to have another delicious breakfast waiting for you upon your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My son and I stayed at The Stonewall Jackson Inn while visiting JMU this April. We found innkeepers, Wayne and Jonathan, very inviting and ready to help us at every turn. Our room was quite comfortable and well-appointed. Jonathan's breakfast of eggs benedict and potato hash was spectacular! When we travel, food is at the top of our list, and everything about this meal was perfect! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieTR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonInn, Aspiring Innkeeper at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

What a great compliment, "everything about our meal was perfect!" Thank you for your gracious review. Breakfast has always been a favorite of mine and it's fun to see others enjoying it too. It's so nice to get feedback from our guests. Your experience is what we strive to invite all our guests into. I am glad to see the rooms met our standards. We always want everyone to be comfortable. Next time you visit JMU we will be waiting, read to help as always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Harrisonburg
4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
5.7 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#6 of 23 in Harrisonburg
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#14 of 23 in Harrisonburg
42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Inn

Address: 547 E Market St, Shenandoah Valley, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-4227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisonburg
Price Range: $167 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Night's Delight - A Breakfast to Remember" is our mission and succinctly describes the legendary Award Winning "Stonewall Jackson Experience!" We are a Certified Virginia Green, 3-Diamond Inn. Awarded "Best in the Mid-Atlantic States" and the "Guest Favorite" designations. The Inn is located in the Downtown Historic "Old Town" District of Harrisonburg in the heart of the ever beautiful Shenandoah Valley, on spacious, landscaped grounds. The mansion (circa 1880) has been completely restored. We are a Diamond, Virginia Green and TripAvisor Hall of Fame property inspected and approved. There are ten well-appointed guest rooms, each full of character with private bath. Rooms have individual climate control, paddle fans, desks, free hi-speed WiFi, and cable television. Our Paradise Cafe offers indoor sun-room porch and outdoor patio dining. We have an ABC license and a variety house wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing