We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried someplace new, Yum”
Review of Taste of India

Taste of India
Ranked #16 of 257 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tried someplace new, Yum”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We wanted to try somewhere new in the area, We found Taste of India on line and it had a good reviews. We got take out, and everything was good or excellent. The lamb vindaloo was great, and the Chicken Paatia was even better. We got medium spice but will try hot next time. The Chicken Pakora was also very tasty, the chilli dip was perfect, the right mix of spice and sweet. Naan was good, garlic naan had the right coating of garlic, not too much, not too little. Slightly on the pricey side but we are always willing to pay for great food. Meat Samosa and Aloo ztika were good as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank squinn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    36
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Anything goes”
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Ate here once and am not going back. This is not great tasting Indian food( take it from one) infact it's not even average tasting. Single note flavors and uninspiring- blah!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Undamurgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I love Taste of India's food. They generally make it mild and will spice it up to your liking instead of the other way around like some Indian restaurants. The portions are fine for me, but my husband thinks they are small. My only gripe is that they overprice their breads, some of it twice what other restaurants in other cities charge. Good service and atmosphere is ok.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lila173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raphine, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fine Indian Food, Gracious Service”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We frequent the Staunton location, but the Harrisonburg location, staffed by two of the owners, is the better of the two. The papadam was fresh and crispy, the vegetable samosa was delicious. Jaya's version of the chai tea is always great - order this over the regular chai by request. The tandoori cooked vegetables were excellent, as was the chicken dish that we ordered. The service, provided by Jaya and and another owner, was top notch - very friendly and courteous. My only wish is for the owners to spend more time at the Staunton location where the food is good, and well managed by Mausam, but not up to Harrisonburg quality.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“One of the best Indian Restaurants period”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We visited this restaurant by mistake and it was a great discovery, the very attentive owner took care of us and the food and service is truly was shines whereas the decor is very basic. The place is very clean. Suggestion to the owners to offer something else beside purified water as some of us truly want the mineral water.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing