We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Indian Food, Gracious Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taste of India

Taste of India
Ranked #13 of 253 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raphine, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fine Indian Food, Gracious Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We frequent the Staunton location, but the Harrisonburg location, staffed by two of the owners, is the better of the two. The papadam was fresh and crispy, the vegetable samosa was delicious. Jaya's version of the chai tea is always great - order this over the regular chai by request. The tandoori cooked vegetables were excellent, as was the chicken dish that we ordered. The service, provided by Jaya and and another owner, was top notch - very friendly and courteous. My only wish is for the owners to spend more time at the Staunton location where the food is good, and well managed by Mausam, but not up to Harrisonburg quality.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    35
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“One of the best Indian Restaurants period”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We visited this restaurant by mistake and it was a great discovery, the very attentive owner took care of us and the food and service is truly was shines whereas the decor is very basic. The place is very clean. Suggestion to the owners to offer something else beside purified water as some of us truly want the mineral water.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I ate at Taste of India While traveling on vacation. The food was the best Indian food we have ever eaten! Very high quality ingredients, fresh tasting, and just the right spice level. The hostess and waitress were charming and helpful in explaining various dishes. Wish Taste of India was in our hometown!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Indian food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Visited Taste of India for their lunch buffet on Saturday. Great little place! Food was delicious! I can't tell you if it was authentic or not, but friends say it is. Our kids loved it! It was about $10 for adults, but it was totally worth it! We will return!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“Absolutely Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Taste of India is absolutely superb.

My wife and I are big fans of Indian cuisine, and we've sampled the fare at nearly all of the state's Indian restaurants, especially those in Charlottesville. We also regularly eat at Indian restaurants in DC and in NYC.

None of them rise to the level of Taste of India. We can hardly believe our good luck that the owners picked Harrisonburg and Staunton (of all places!) to settle down. There is some remarkable magic worked in the kitchens of Taste of India, the result of the very high standards set by the owners and passed on to the younger members of their extended family.

I strongly encourage readers to visit. We shake our heads in disbelief at our good fortune every time we dine at Taste of India.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stewart1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing