We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room/service, but one horrible flaw”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Reviewed July 29, 2013

the room was very clean, w/ fridge (no microwave but no problems using the one down in the lobby). loved that it was 100% smoke-free!

however, one awful point / flaw: as a new chevy volt owner, i chose this hotel because they have a charging station right outside the front door...which is great! however, the cost to use the charging station is way, WAY too high. at $0.49 / kWh, it cost me a little under $7 to fully charge my volt from empty to full. this gets me the electric mileage range of about a gallon of gas (35-40 miles)...in other words, using this charging station would equate to about $7 / gallon gas. needless to say, for the rest of the trip i used the free charging station in downtown harrisonburg while shopping / eating.

if the manager or anyone at microtel is reading this, please consider lowering the price on your charging station. if it would have even been in the same neighborhood as the price of gas, this would have been a 4-star review, maybe 5-stars. save us electric guys some money (which it looked like you were trying to do, given that you're the only hotel in the area with a charging station) and it would most certainly be 5-stars.

everything else about the place was great, i just can't get over the cost of the charging station...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I will certainly let the owner know of your dispeasure with the cost at the charging station. I am very happy that the rest of your stay was a great one. We will try for that 5 star next time.

Richard Hawkins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

868 - 874 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richard H, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for the first time for one night, we had 3 rooms booked. Every room was clean. The bathrooms were clean and of decent size. The beds were comfortable. They had apples and cookies for you in the lobby. The breakfast was good. Overall the experience was a good one. The best part is when you walk in the gentleman the worked the evening shift was great and my husband said the same of the gentleman that checked us out. Having good people and a clean and comfortable environment was something that will bring me back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind remarks about your recent stay. Our people really do make the difference and that is what sets us apart from the rest. It feels good to know that the effort pays off. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Richard Hawkins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My first and last time here. I was attracted by the low rate I got, but I won't stay here again. As others have said, the walls are paper thin. I heard every word of the conversation in the next room. My room was also next to the elevator. It goes "ding-dong" when the doors open. I heard it again and again. I asked for another room, but the place was booked. I ask The room is very small, I've had rooms twice as big for just a little more. There is no microwave or coffee machine in the room. If you want to heat something you have to use a public one downstairs in the lobby. Once again, I've had these amenities in rooms costing only a little more. Definately not worth the trade off--way scaled down for just a bit less. Lastly, my mattress was little soft for me. It might not be for you.

On the plus side, the room was clean and acceptably appointed. The staff was OK. And I always bring a white noise machine and earplugs just in case this sort of thing happens.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I was sorry to hear other guests kept you from enjoying your stay with the noise level. I hope a return trip might result in a better visit.

Richard Hawkins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Phillip R B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richard H, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I wanted a relaxing stay at a hotel that has a great reputation not only for comfort but price as well. We chose the Microtel and booked a jacuzzi tub suite. We were not disappointed. As in earlier reviews, the room was decorated in pleasing colors and decor. The staff was very helpful to make our stay pleasant.

Room Tip: If there is something you need, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndTodo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

What a great review for my staff to see. I thank you so much for your comments and we really do try to make each guest request come to fruition. Thank you again.

Richard Hawkins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Over the years we have stayed in many Microtels, usually because the cost is reasonable, they are always clean, and you know what to expect. This Inn was like a microtel on steroids. Our queen bed suite appeared to be nearly new and was very spacious. The decor was very pleasing with browns and 2 shades of beige for the walls, rugs and curtains. It had a great desk panel and even a hassock with the comfy chair. The breakfast bar with stools and nice size microwave and refrigerator made the room very comfortable for eating. The bathroom had more then ample counter space and mirrors. Comfy bed with lots of pillows,and very clean, white sheets. The lighting was such, that you could choose between bright lighting for working, to soft ambient lights for relaxing. Nice flat screen and wi-fi. The breakfast was the usual Microtel fare, good variety, but cheap , off brand products. They did have a nice coffee bar, with lots of flavor choices. The pool area was very clean, as was the whole hotel, but the water was way to cold to stick more than a foot in. We did enjoy the hot tub and our daily free USA today. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again. Wish ALL Microtel were this great. Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angolalinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We truly do appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel and your recent stay with us. We strive to be the BEST each and every day and it is nice to hear the hard work does pay off. My staff will be pleased. Thank you again.

Richard Hawkins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 23 in Harrisonburg
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 23 in Harrisonburg
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 23 in Harrisonburg
306 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
#11 of 23 in Harrisonburg
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg

Address: 85 Pleasant Valley Rd, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-9723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#8 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range: $82 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Microtel Inn And Suites Harrisonburg is located in Harrisonburg, close to James Madison University. Hotel Features: Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool. This property has a business center and offers business services such as printing and faxing. The hotel serves a complimentary continental breakfast. Guest parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include express check out, Guestrooms, and all bathrooms feature hair dryers. Wired high speed and wireless Internet access is complimentary. In addition to desks, guestrooms offer complimentary local calls (restrictions may apply) and the 32 inch LCD televisions have satellite channels. All rooms have Air conditioning, are all non-smoking and also include irons/ironing boards. Guests may request wake up calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Microtel Inn And Suites Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing