We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best burgers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jack Brown's Beer & burger Joint

Jack Brown's Beer & burger Joint
Ranked #2 of 252 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Aaron@jackbrownsjoint.com is the owners email address.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

After living in the Harrisonburg area for 4 years during my time in college - I definitely miss this place now that I am no longer in the area. Therefore I make it a point to stop here whenever I am in town. I was here this past weekend and stopped in on Saturday night around 8:30. There was a decent sized crowd, we put our name on the waiting list for a table. We only had to wait about 10 minutes or so. The only downside to this place is that it is so small. We had to sit outside and it was pretty chilly. However they did have heaters going and provided blankets at the tables.

This place has some of the best burgers I have ever had. They have several specialty burgers that you would be hard-pressed to come by anywhere else. My favorite is the Elvis burger - a patty with cheese, bacon, mayo and peanut butter. It sounds awful but it tastes amazing. They also have a really unique sauce they serve with their fries which is also really good. If you like beer, this is definitely the place to go, with multiple options for whatever style of beer you like. Service wasn't as fast as I was hoping it would be but our server was very knowledgeable and friendly and she did a great job for the amount of tables she had to handle. Can't say enough good things about this place! I will make sure I come back here again the next time I am in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    79
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, TN
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Virginia!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hole in the wall with limited seating with seasonal outdoor seating but you are going for the BURGERS! There is a special everyday and we were there on a Thursday so we had the jalepeno and philly cream cheese burger. It is beyond tasty even though I rarely eat burgers. Coupled with good service, this place cannot be beat!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth Getting Off of I-81”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love this place and always stop on the way to and from the Homestead resort. It's a good stopping point on our way to and from DC. The burger tastes like real beef and the hot dog is pretty tasty too! The food is always fresh and hot. The service is very friendly and fast. It can be a challenge getting a seat, but we try to plan our arrival around 11 am when it opens. Try it -- you will like it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JillyWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
271 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Yummy in a small college town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I had the burger with the cream cheese and pickled jalapeño peppers. It was a small burger but very filling, given the cheese. Tasty! Fries were good and the brown-spiced mayonnaise to dip then in was perfect.

Looking forward to going back next time in town!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MASTERPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
264 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Burger and Fries, Please”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Leaving the resort are three places to visit, Jack's Burger and Beer is a good old fashion grilled burgers and fries with options / specials that you can add. We got regular and cheese burger with fries and a cold drink. Open seating and server was friendly. Plenty of beverage and nice place, so stop in,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Brown's Beer & burger Joint also viewed

 

Been to Jack Brown's Beer & burger Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing