We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Our Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The King bed hotel room was large enough for two people and clean. Everything was typical for a 2 - 3 star chain motel, nothing fancy but solid for a stay near Shenandoah National Park. The location was good and there were a number of food options nearby. The bed was comfortable enough. The staff was professional and gave us some discount coupons for the Grand Caverns which was helpful.

The only thing I found sub par was the breakfast. There weren't many choices and options were very low quality. Even what I thought initially was a fresh fruit salad had some weird artificial syrup doused on to it. I've had better free breakfasts in chain motels of this level like Holiday Inn Express or Best Westerns. They would definitely be considered a better hotel if they just make this one change.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 364 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here because we had Marriott points. I was hoping to get connecting rooms since we have 4 little children but that was not available which kind of put a damper on the stay already. It is in a convenient area...shopping, restaurants and the highway. We were going straight down 81 and it seemed a good break.
The breakfast was an average three-star hotel breakfast with the usual problems. They ran out of everything before the poor person working the room could refill it and all the tables were full...leaving people standing around waiting for people to leave.
So it was an ok stay in clean rooms. But with a bunch of kids, both breakfast and not having the requested connecting rooms made everything a little frazzled.
There's many hotels in Harrisonburg and I'd choose a different one next time if we weren't Marriott members.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We were driving to D.C. and decided to stay here to break our trip. We found a coupon in Hotel Discount Guide and decided to give it a try. It was a little more pricey than some of the other coupon offers but we wanted the indoor pool so it was worth the extra cash.

The room was very spacious, clean and cool. I love the bright colors the motel chose for decorations. The carpet really caught my eye. It was very clean and brightly colored.

The motel is located in a perfect area near the mall and lots of places to eat.

The pool is very small but it served the purpose for my little girls and my honey and I enjoyed the whirl pool.

The night we stayed a girls softball team also was visiting. I was worried there would be no breakfast by the time the whole team and their families went through. We waited to give them time to eat. When we went down we were delighted to find a marvelous breakfast selection. There were eggs with different toppings, sausage, bagels, oatmeal with several toppings, and your usual muffins and yogurt. Myda was the breakfast attendant and she did an amazing job. My little girls and I told her she did a great job and she smiled really big!

Our family highly recommends this motel and if we are ever back this way we will say again. Big tip ---get a coupon book and you will save your family money.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

First, the good - The hotel was clean and the staff was helpful and friendly.

Next, the bad - The room I was put in smelled moldy, particularly around the AC unit. I asked to move to another room. When I checked out the second room it also smelled moldy. Both rooms were located above the pool which may have contributed to the moisture creating the moldy smell.

I would not recommend staying at this hotel. Mold is dangerous to ones health.

Room Tip: Don't take a room above the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay for one night while in town to play golf at Massanutten. Their hotel was full and this was a great alternative. Also appreciated the great rate for military/government employees and retirees. A sizable discount. Very new property with lots of nearby activities and restaurants. Front desk staff very helpful in recommending dining options. Close the James Madison Univ. Free breakfast to start the day--some hot food options as well as toaster items and cold cereals, oatmeal, fruit and yogurt.

Room Tip: We had a king room and it was somewhat small (the entry to the room was a long hallway because the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPWAnnapolisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After packing up our home for a cross-country relocation, we spent our last evening in Harrisonburg at this scrubbed and polished hotel. A clean and comfortable room, pleasant swimming pool, and very friendly staff made the evening a pleasant start to our long trip. The hotel is in an uninteresting part of town, surrounded by office parks but close to a number of chain stores, restaurants, and a move theater. The free breakfast was fair as far as free breakfasts go, but most importantly, the bed was comfortable, the room quiet, with good climate control. All in all, a good night's rest that serves as a shining model for the Fairfield brand.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here in the last year. Each time it seems to deteriorate a bit each time. The hotel is relatively new and well maintained. The rooms are large, but a lot of the space is wasted on the long hallway to get into the room. Being Marriott Gold Members, we should have been given a suite but had been offered only a regular room.

We used the health club and the room was too warm. One of the treadmills had a TV that did not work. This seems to be an issue at several Marriott properties that we have stayed at recently.

The breakfast was below average. Powdered eggs and pre-cooked sausage leave something to be desired. Commercial muffins and below average bagels didn't make the grade. There was NO waffle maker this time. What happened to being able to make your own waffles?

The speed of the wireless internet in the room was sufficient, but the computers in the lobby were very slow. What's up with that?

Then, to boot, we had to ask for our invoice at the front desk, whereas, everyone else on our floor had their placed under their doors making our check-out cumbersome since we had to wait until the front desk attendant got off the phone. As Gold Level Members, we expect better from Marriott. This stay was a disappointment and pricey considering Marriott properties in other places would charge 25% less for the same/better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShenandoahBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 23 in Harrisonburg
843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 23 in Harrisonburg
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Courtyard Harrisonburg
#10 of 23 in Harrisonburg
319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 23 in Harrisonburg
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg

Address: 1946 Medical Avenue, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#9 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range: $110 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg makes travel effortless with our convenient location near James Madison University. We are one of the premier hotels in Harrisonburg, Virginia, just minutes from Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Blue Ridge Mountains, Skyline Drive, Luray and Shenandoah Caverns, Eastern Mennonite University, and Civil War sights. Our spacious suites feature separate living areas and free high-speed Internet. Unwind at our hotel after a long day in our indoor pool, pick up a snack anytime at our 24-hour market or take care of business at our business center. Our location is a great midway point when traveling through the Shenandoah Valley, offering easy access to I-81 and Route 33. Popular recreation, shopping and business attractions help inspire a memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Harrisonburg
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing