We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay At Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice Stay At Great Price”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay for one night while in town to play golf at Massanutten. Their hotel was full and this was a great alternative. Also appreciated the great rate for military/government employees and retirees. A sizable discount. Very new property with lots of nearby activities and restaurants. Front desk staff very helpful in recommending dining options. Close the James Madison Univ. Free breakfast to start the day--some hot food options as well as toaster items and cold cereals, oatmeal, fruit and yogurt.

Room Tip: We had a king room and it was somewhat small (the entry to the room was a long hallway because the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPWAnnapolisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    131
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
165
75
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After packing up our home for a cross-country relocation, we spent our last evening in Harrisonburg at this scrubbed and polished hotel. A clean and comfortable room, pleasant swimming pool, and very friendly staff made the evening a pleasant start to our long trip. The hotel is in an uninteresting part of town, surrounded by office parks but close to a number of chain stores, restaurants, and a move theater. The free breakfast was fair as far as free breakfasts go, but most importantly, the bed was comfortable, the room quiet, with good climate control. All in all, a good night's rest that serves as a shining model for the Fairfield brand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeasten Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here in the last year. Each time it seems to deteriorate a bit each time. The hotel is relatively new and well maintained. The rooms are large, but a lot of the space is wasted on the long hallway to get into the room. Being Marriott Gold Members, we should have been given a suite but had been offered only a regular room.

We used the health club and the room was too warm. One of the treadmills had a TV that did not work. This seems to be an issue at several Marriott properties that we have stayed at recently.

The breakfast was below average. Powdered eggs and pre-cooked sausage leave something to be desired. Commercial muffins and below average bagels didn't make the grade. There was NO waffle maker this time. What happened to being able to make your own waffles?

The speed of the wireless internet in the room was sufficient, but the computers in the lobby were very slow. What's up with that?

Then, to boot, we had to ask for our invoice at the front desk, whereas, everyone else on our floor had their placed under their doors making our check-out cumbersome since we had to wait until the front desk attendant got off the phone. As Gold Level Members, we expect better from Marriott. This stay was a disappointment and pricey considering Marriott properties in other places would charge 25% less for the same/better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShenandoahBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Inn was excellent. Price was great and we were close to all the major tourist attractions, JMU,Blue Ridge Mountains, Tourist Center, Masanutt
en....The mall is great for some last minute shopping and resturaunts are everywhere! If you are a Civil War buff, you will have plenty of trails, history, and places to visit around Harrisonburg. Great family vacation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

About 30 minutes from Shenandoah Natl Park via 33 and about 60 minutes from Front Royal. We were touring SNP for 3 days and this hotel is where we stayed. No signs of poor housekeeping or repair needed. Pool small, but just fine for a 6 and 8 year old. Breakfast par for a free hotel bfast. Quaker State wing place about .25 mile from hotel. And Sheetz gas station about same distance. Large mall nearby too. Nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a AAA discount which dropped the price to a little over $100/night. The indoor pool and hot tub were fully functional. There was a small but functional workout room. The staff was very pleasant on ALL shifts. The room was spotless, fabulous shower head, everything worked!!! The hotel is right in the middle of the city but you would never know it. Tucked off the main road but a block from I 81 and barely 2 miles from JMU. Excellant value for the money even if you stay during a JMU event you won't be disappointed. In the lobby they have coffee for the weary traveler as well as a snack vending fridge if you arrive hungry (or return late). Then of course there is breakfast. A little early for a night owl but very satisfying. Fruit, carbs, and fresh cooked eggs. It was a very enjoyable place to return after being out all day for sightseeing and other events. Stay here! You won't realize how pleasant it was till after you leave...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank act2-113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, VA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Hotel is setback from the main road so it was a little hard to find on the way in but we got there. The setback means the rooms are quiet and we got a good night's sleep. Check in was smooth and easy. Room was just what we asked for. The beds were incredibly comfortable. The breakfast was just average. We chose to eat elsewhere. Pool and exercise room looked nice but we didn't use them. One night during our stay the hotel was full so parking near the door became challenging but there was plenty of parking on the side and behind the hotel. We'll stay again when we return to Harrisonburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ames025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
411 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Courtyard Harrisonburg
#9 of 22 in Harrisonburg
303 reviews
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Address: 1946 Medical Ave, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-3436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#6 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#9 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg by Marriott makes travel effortless with our convenient location near James Madison University. We are one of the premier hotels in Harrisonburg, Virginia, just minutes from Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Blue Ridge Mountains, Skyline Drive, Luray and Shenandoah Caverns, Eastern Mennonite University, and Civil War sights. Our spacious suites in Harrisonburg, VA, feature separate living areas and free high-speed Internet. After a great night's rest on luxurious bedding, enjoy a complimentary hot continental breakfast and a workout in our exercise room with complimentary access to Gold’s Gym. Unwind at our hotel in Harrisonburg, VA, after a long day in our indoor pool, pick up a snack anytime at our 24-hour market or take care of business at our business center. Our location is a great midway point when traveling through the Shenandoah Valley, offering easy access to I-81 and Route 33. Popular recreation, shopping and business attractions help inspire a memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Harrisonburg
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing