We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overnight Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Overnight Stop”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel the end of June on our way to New Hampshire. It is a 2-year old hotel close to Route 81. The check-in was friendly and professional, and the coupon book rate was accepted. Cookies were provided--a treat after a long day of driving. We had a room with 2 queen beds which was very clean. However, there was a musty-like smell in the room that we put up with for 1 night and did not report. There were 2 available computers near the lobby, indoor pool, workout room, and a good size breakfast area. Coffee was always available. There are lots of restaurant choices in this college town plus many retail options. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and presented well with waffles, breakfast sandwiches to microwave, and the usual cereals, breads, fruit, juice and coffee. The check-out process was quick. We would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenGirl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    134
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
175
77
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our trip from NC to NY and had a great stay! Clean, quiet, nice rooms and comfy beds! Great breakfast with many options. We loved the breakfast sandwich. We had fun swimming in the pool. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4mot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The review is from a stay in June 2012, which was free with Marriott points. We overnighted here for summer orientation at JMU the following day. The front desk staff were friendly and provided super quick check-in.
The hotel seemed to be recently updated with modern decor. The a/c in our room was ice cold, but the fan, which we like to run at night to drown out hall noise, did not work. We could hear the folks above us off and on all night-similar to apartment living, which was annoying and meant a sleepless night.
The spotless bathroom was spacious with bright lighting, good shower pressure (though the water got steaming hot in sink/shower which could easily burn a child), but lacked an exhaust fan to take away the steam after a shower. There were two holders for toilet paper, but each roll was down to the last bit and there was no extra tp to be found. I had to ask for another roll from the front desk.
Breakfast was typical hotel fare with an assortment of items.
Even though we encountered a few minor inconveniences, we would not hestitate to stay here again if we needed an overnight spot. Cleanliness and friendliness are most important, and here they scored highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

VERY nice! We liked it so much, we stopped here again on our way home. We stayed in a regular room with two queen beds, which was plenty large for the four of us. Agree with Boynton Mama: the rooms were bright, cheerful, and clean. The hot tub was closed for repairs and the pool seemed a little over-chlorinated. Free breakfast was nice--always nice to have a buffet when traveling with kids.The staff was courteous enough, but I wouldn't say they were friendly. We would stay there again (and did!)

Room Tip: We liked having a room on the west side of the building (the even numbered rooms) because we had a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mama b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was a great hotel. Everything was clean and well kept. The tv channels didn't work as was supposed to sometimes and the front desk said they have been working with their provider to try and get that fixed. We didn't take advantage of the free breakfast, so I can't comment on that. Walking distance to movie theater and many restaurants. We even walked to their mall. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: our 4th floor room was nice and chilled during the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thearnoldclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneida, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here last summer on our way to Disney, suite was very nice. The breakfast was good, the pool was nice. Staff was nice. Location was good, restaurants near by were good and a lot of variety. Staff was very nice. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a suite because they are larger and don't cost much more
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Loved the location although we did drive by Medical Avenue twice before we realized we had passed it! Ate at nearby Chipotle (great margaritas) and stopped by the very pleasant James Madison U Botanical Gardens (free). The rooms were bright, cheerful, and clean. Our kids begged to stay another day. We enjoyed the indoor pool but being from FL I much prefer outdoor ones that don't smell of chlorine. As far as indoor pools go this one didn't make my eyes burn hours later. Friendly staff and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoyntonMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Courtyard Harrisonburg
#10 of 22 in Harrisonburg
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg
Address: 1946 Medical Avenue, Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#9 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg makes travel effortless with our convenient location near James Madison University. We are one of the premier hotels in Harrisonburg, Virginia, just minutes from Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Blue Ridge Mountains, Skyline Drive, Luray and Shenandoah Caverns, Eastern Mennonite University, and Civil War sights. Our spacious suites feature separate living areas and free high-speed Internet. Unwind at our hotel after a long day in our indoor pool, pick up a snack anytime at our 24-hour market or take care of business at our business center. Our location is a great midway point when traveling through the Shenandoah Valley, offering easy access to I-81 and Route 33. Popular recreation, shopping and business attractions help inspire a memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Harrisonburg
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing