We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Passed through Harrisonburg by coincidence and booked at this hotel. It is new, clean and very practical for families with breakfast and pool.
We can only recommend it - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REXERA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    127
    29
    6
    1
See reviews for
160
68
11
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

I hate to be critical of this hotel since we stayed for free because of the rewards. But since we had just stayed in another Fairfiled Inn that was built around the same time as this one and both were new, this one did not meet up to our expectations. We used the exercise room in both places and where the other one was neat and clean, this one had an over flowing trash can, no water, no towels, no wipes to clean the machines (sweat drops were all over the machines) and the tvs on the walking machines were not able to pick up the channels that the large tv did. The bathrooms that were located next to the exercise room were not clean the morning we were there. A wet towel was on the floor under the sink. This is the first time we have stayed in a hotel in recent years that did not have a hair dryer in the bathroom. By accident we found one in a cloth bag in the dresser drawer. It was a very hot day when we checked in and the room had a bad musty smell..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwj4503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

This hotel is modern and comfortable, clean, free in room internet access, friendly staff just about everything that you need. The one thing that lets it down in my opinion is its complimentary breakfast. I think if you are going to offer this then you should do a good job of it. The cereal choice was poor; there was no bread to toast; muffins were only sweet, no blueberry; the scrabbled eggs were not fresh but pre cooked chilled (I saw them being taken into the kitchen). The following day I stayed in the Hampton Inn at Celebrate, Fredericksburg, a similar standard of hotel whose complmentary breakfast was far superior and I paid a lot less to stay. This was my first stay at a Fairfield Inn and I enjoyed it, however it is a let down to leave feeling hungry. Would I return? Probably not, for less money I would hope to get a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchung, New Jersey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

This is a beautifully decorated new hotel, much nicer than a Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn at the same price range. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was emaculate. Breakfast was good and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwolinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEPA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stopped here on our way home from Charleston. The hotel was new and well decorated. It was located near the university and would be a good place to stay while visiting the campus. There weren't any restaurants within walking distance and it was a slight distance from the interstate. The air conditioner was slightly noisy and there was an odor when it turned on.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cafc328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

I have stayed at a few hotels in harrisonburg. This one was the best! Very clean and Modern. Airy and Bright. Nice Pool and free breakfast. Not right beside the interstate, a big plus.

Room Tip: The suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotorGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were a bit apprehensive when we checked in as there was a busload (sports team) there as well so we requested to be put on a floor away from the team - which the front desk kindly did (the hotel had booked them all on one floor) . All was well until the wee hours of the morning. It was the adults accompanying them who were thumping around in the room above us from 1 a.m. until 3 a.m. or thereafter - plus we had them try and access our room and knock loudly on our door during that time (we had the misfortune to be on the floor in the room just below.) The hotel itself is clean and comfortable and the breakfast was ok. Good value. Some good restaurants within short driving distance.
I mentioned our lack of sleep and why to the front desk upon checkout but they seemed disinterested and I was so tired I just left. Would have been nice to have been offered some recompense. Have been trying out the Marriott chain and usually find the staff to be very professional. Would give it another try if in the area but insist on a quiet spot on the top floor

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrunners777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Courtyard Harrisonburg
#9 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Address: 1946 Medical Ave, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-3436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#6 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#9 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg by Marriott makes travel effortless with our convenient location near James Madison University. We are one of the premier hotels in Harrisonburg, Virginia, just minutes from Rockingham Memorial Hospital, Blue Ridge Mountains, Skyline Drive, Luray and Shenandoah Caverns, Eastern Mennonite University, and Civil War sights. Our spacious suites in Harrisonburg, VA, feature separate living areas and free high-speed Internet. After a great night's rest on luxurious bedding, enjoy a complimentary hot continental breakfast and a workout in our exercise room with complimentary access to Gold’s Gym. Unwind at our hotel in Harrisonburg, VA, after a long day in our indoor pool, pick up a snack anytime at our 24-hour market or take care of business at our business center. Our location is a great midway point when traveling through the Shenandoah Valley, offering easy access to I-81 and Route 33. Popular recreation, shopping and business attractions help inspire a memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Harrisonburg
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing