We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find”

A Bowl of Good Cafe'
Ranked #38 of 259 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were glad to find a Bowl of Good while traveling through Harrisonburg. Housed in a funky space in a strip mall, the cafe serves an eclectic blend of world food made with fresh, local ingredients when possible.

The man behind the register provided great advice on what to order as everything on the menu looked good. His recommendations were spot on and everyone in our party, from grandparents to kids, enjoyed their lunches.

We always enjoy finding something new and exotic to eat. If you're looking for a ham and cheese sandwich, don't bother looking here. But if you want fresh food that's bound to interest your palate, check out A Bowl of Good, which is a rather modest name. It could easily be called A Bowl of Great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglander41924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    25
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, VA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great soup, good sandwich, OK prices = Nice lunch!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I recently tried A Bowl of Good for the first time as I just started working in Harrisonburg. I planned to try the chili but they had a 1/2 sandwich & cup of soup special so I gave it a go. I chose a pre-made sandwich, which they cut in half and served with a very tasty soup.

The soup was a citrus lentil and it was excellent. The lemon/orange mixed with a somewhat spicy lentil soup was the perfect flavor balance - I could have had seconds easily. The turkey on wheat was good also - lots of thick-sliced deli turkey, with crispy greens and really good wheat bread. The bread was moist and had a little crunch, which I enjoy. I also got bread with my soup, and I ate it all even though I am not a huge bread eater. Half of a sandwich is not a large portion but it was just enough.

The restaurant was clean and the staff friendly. I will be back. The only concern I had was that it was dead on a weekday at noon. There were about 4 occupied tables even though the dining room is large. JMU students were out for the summer, so maybe that was the issue. I hope they stay open though. I like their "bowl" concept and there are other items I want to try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curtis24401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh, healthy, and affordable food”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A Bowl of Good Cafe does a great job of presenting fresh entrees with a world food flair. The variety here is particularly impressive. Everything from Indian, Mexican, Guatemalan, and everything in between.

They serve soups, bowls of specific dishes, grab and go sandwiches, and have a nice selection of hot and cold teas. I've been here a few times with my family and it's a great atmosphere. There is also a fine selection of breakfast dishes that are perfect if you're in a hurry and want something better than fast food fare.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisbean08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Expect different dining”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We had red , white and moo, sing a silly- dilly tuna wrap, bowl de la milpa, a monster cookie, joy bar and vanilla ice cream. All was very tasty and filling. Drinks were southern tea, limonade, and caffeine free hybiscus tea. Refills were unlimited . Prices were reasonable. If you want to go to a unique place, this is it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a great dinner there the other night with my two friends. I highly recommend the Marco Polo red bowl with their limonada!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Bowl of Good Cafe' also viewed

 

Been to A Bowl of Good Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing