We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Everything was in great condition, clean and comfortable. The desk clerks were friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was good and the breakfast burrito was particularly good. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. The water did not take any time warming up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinjebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for posting a review for your recent stay with us. It was great to read you had a great stay while you were here. I will pass on your comments to our staff. Thanks again, and we hope when return to this part of the state you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    75
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
199
98
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Clean, professional, new. My wife and mother in law really liked it. If they are happy, then everyone is happy! You can't go wrong staying here. Not your usual min wage desk clerks. All seemed focused and driven enough to be managers before 21. Many restaurants close by.

Room Tip: No highway noise for any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoover4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a response for your recent stay with us. We were all happy to read that stay was perfect. I was also glad to read that our staff exceeded your expectations. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed there for over 7 months, and would rate it as the best option in Harrisonburg.

Free WIFI, free parking, nice pool/spa, onsite laundry.

Hotel staff is very nice, and accommodating.

Happy hour/social has complimentary snacks and drinks, but wish it was more days than just Mon-Weds. Daily complimentary breakfast is also very good.

Government rates are quite good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for your stay with us. We appreciate the great comments and are glad that your stay went well. 7 months is a long time with us and we thank you for staying with us. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had intended to stay in Staunton as a base for our wine and civil war tour of Virginia but are so glad we booked this hotel instead. The location gave us easy access to civil war sites and some great wineries and our rooms (king studios) were immaculately clean, exceptionally well equipped and extremely comfortable to come back to after a day of walking and driving. The staff on the front desk could not have been more helpful. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and they gave advice on places to eat and visit, arranged taxis, made restaurant reservations and generally made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. The free breakfast offered a choice of cold and hot options and the cookies in the evening were a nice touch. The pool area was lovely and the pool large enough for a proper swim and there was a very pleasant outdoor seating area with a fire pit (shielded in case little ones were running around). Harrisonburg itself was a very pleasant town with some great places to eat - we had a great meal at the Chop and Grill House and another at the Capital Ale House, which was hosting an Oktoberfest. We would definitely return to the Residence Inn and congratulate the manager and his team on their efforts to make hotel something special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for posting a review for your recent stay with us. I shared your comments with our staff and we happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again and if we can be of any further assistance please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is my 2nd review - reviewed it about 2 years ago. Continues to be great - perhaps too busy! Great location off the highway, ample parking, warm and friendly lobby - spacious and comfortable. Always well trained staff. Rooms are well designed, comfortable, spacious, contemporary and CLEAN. Kitchen, fridge, stove, dishwasher, flat screens. Indoor pool. Nice breakfast. Very light with windows everywhere. Manager Mr. Fitzgerald very responsive - write a note, you'll get an email from him. Pet friendly (my main issue) - but even if that's not your issue, it is still tops. Not top for pet friendly in the area - top period. My two issues are with marriott corporate (not the hotel imparticular) - the dishwasher's are noisy and in the "great room/living area" of course, and the marriott bathtubs are so shallow they barely get up over your ankle. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: it's pretty good size, but there are side entrances. 3 floors (elevators and stairs) so decide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlGuy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for your stay. We also think we are the best in the nation and appreciate your kind remarks which I will share with our staff. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for 1 night. Would have extended another night if our schedule permitted because our 3 year old kids loved it that much. For a family the best deal was a two bedroom suite with living room and kitchen. Everything was new. Staff was friendly, pool seemed heated, all other amenities were awesome.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for your stay with us. We were glad to hear you and your children enjoyed your stay. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The first thing that I saw was the large parking area in front of the hotel. It should be large enough also if the hotel is full.
When I booked the hotel, I had asked for a quiet room. The room was then also located very far away from the elevator. However, the noise of the air-condition in the room was awful. It had an 'off' setting but it was just for the cooling/heating and not for the ventilation and therefore, the control switched the ventilation on and off from time to time. I decided to switch it to continously on and use earplugs during the night.
Everything else in the room was ok to great. The room was actually a one-room-flat fully equipped with a kitchen, living corner, table, desk etc. Everything seemed clean to me. The personel was very kind. There is a breakfast buffet included in the rate. The buffet was not infinitely large but quite ok (I especially liked the mini chocolate muffins).
There are a few nice restaurants nearby for having a good dinner.
If you are not sensitive to air-conditioning noise in your room I can fully recommend the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelComfSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize that the HVAC was was loud. I hope that you would contact me so that we can check and make sure the unit is functioning properly. Thanks again, and I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Courtyard Harrisonburg
#9 of 22 in Harrisonburg
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
304 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Harrisonburg

Property: Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Address: 1945 Deyerle Ave, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-3485
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Green Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Harrisonburg 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrisonburg's newest upscale extended stay hotel! Located in the gorgeous Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, the Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisonburg is the ideal choice for a quick trip or a long stay. We are conveniently located just minutes from James Madison University, Massanutten recreation area, Skyline Drive and the Blue Ridge Parkway. The Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisonburg is the Shenandoah Valley's best choice for the marathon business traveler or the relocating family. We feature fully equipped kitchens including full-size Energy Star appliances, a luxurious fitness center, a full size pool and whirlpool, complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily, complimentary high-speed internet, 37" LCD flat panel televisions with HD programming and evening socials for guests. Bring your dog because our hotel is pet friendly! When business travel or a recent move brings you to Harrisonburg, the Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisonburg makes you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing