We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

All of the personnel at the hotel were extremely friendly. Many of the people working there walked around the breakfast area talking to the guests and cleaning off tables to ensure everyone had a place to seat and eat.

We rented a studio room that was clean. Loved the decor in the room.

My only complaint would be no ice machine on the second floor. The hotel directory states no need to go to ice machine since the refrigerator contained an ice machine. After several hours, the bucket only had a few ice cubes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCCLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a response for your stay at our hotel. We appreciate the kind remarks and apologize the ice maker in the room was not adequate. We hope that when you retrun to our area you will visit us again. Just let us know and we will make sure you have enough ice for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    75
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
199
99
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

What a gem. I loved this place. Clean, great breakfast, nice and easy location, good restaraunts close by (walking distance), nice pool and hot tub.
Only con - they screw up your rewards and the front desk personnel seems untrained. But be patient because they will make it right if you allow it. That's says a lot in my book. They also do it with a smile.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot1023NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for your recent stay with us. We were pleased to read your enjoyed our hotel. I do apologize for the rewards issue and would like to discuss with you if possible. We always want to improve if our when there is an issue. Thanks again and I look forward to hearing from you in the future. 540-437-7426,

Tim Fitzgerald GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We were in Harrisonburg, VA over the Memorial holiday. My family and I (2.5 year old twin boys and 13 month old boy) stayed here for 1 night. We got a 2BD 2BA full kitchen room. It was wonderful! Looked very new and modern design. Check in was a breeze, our original room was not ready yet, so they put us in one that was. That was really nice considering my kids needed a nap. It did not have alot of supplies in the kitchen, but it was enough to get us by for the night. The beds were very comfy and the rooms are clean. The boys enjoyed the pool area and the outdoor fire pit looked like it would be a nice relaxing place to unwind with a glass of wine. (we did not partake in that, of course..kids will do that to you :) ) All in all, it was great stay and I would certainly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiller376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time the write a response for your stay with us. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that all went well. If we can assist you in the future please let us know. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

We booked the hotel for one night based solely on the reviews in Tripadvisor. When we arrived , saw the property, then the room, we went to the front desk, and changed the reservation for three nights, which is all the time we have left on our vacation. The property is fabulous, the room is much more then we expected, the smell of newness is wonderful. The hotel is surround by so many restaurants, shopping and the wonderful view of the mountains. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gord H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel. We were happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel that you extended your stay. We also believe that we are located in a great location and that our hotel provides great service. Thanks again and if we can be of any further assistance please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

I am staying at the Residence Inn for work and have been there for two months. I will be there for another two. Our pug, Lisa, is staying with me. The hotel itself is very clean and fairly new. It has a great pool and hot tub that seem to be rarely used. There's a nice fitness center with two ellipticals, two treadmills and free weights. Outside you'll find a basketball court and great patio space with a fire pit and grill with several tables It is conveniently located and within seconds of numerous restaurants and stores.

The physical site is great, but the people here really do elevate one's stay to the next level. The first night I arrived, I was struck by the friendly welcome the young man at the front desk. In the following days, I have encountered more of the friendly staff members and one would think they own the place, as opposed to just working there. I can't begin to list all of the positive encounters, from warm notes about housekeeping's encounters with the pug to the excitement the ladies at the front desk showed when my family came to stay one weekend.

And I have to say that if one evening you pass by some of the home made lemonade or tea they serve in the lobby, try it! It is great!

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bkmarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for posting a review for your current stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to post. We do consider our hotel a home away from home and are glad you feel the same. Please let us know if we can do anything for you or your pug.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Those who've stayed here always, always come back. Since the hotel opened several years ago we've stayed for brief (one night) to lengthy (7 months) periods of time. Staff members -- from management, front desk, housekeeping and maintenance -- are top-notch. We feel fortunate to have made the acquaintance of so many nice people. The hotel is well-located, tidy and offers great amenities. A word to the wise: book early.

Room Tip: There are a few two bedrooms, two bath suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for posting a response for your stay with us. We will miss you and your family and if you need anything during your move or in the future please let me know. Thanks again and good luck in the Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Newer Marriott property, kept in excellent condition, very clean, friendly staff, love the open fire pit for Fall evenings, after football games won by JMU!!! Enjoy a glass of wine, barbeque some burgers! Hotel staff are friendly, helpful & generate team spirit for the JMU Dukes!!! If you are tail-gaiters. the full size ovens in the suites are very handy for preparing your hot tail-gate favorite dishes!!!!

Room Tip: This is a pet-friendly property. We love the corner suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelqueen5451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimFitzgeraldGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you stay with us while you are visiting JMU. We hope that you will stay with us again and Go Dukes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Harrisonburg
Courtyard Harrisonburg
#9 of 22 in Harrisonburg
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
306 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Harrisonburg

Property: Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Address: 1945 Deyerle Ave, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-3485
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Green Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Harrisonburg 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrisonburg's newest upscale extended stay hotel! Located in the gorgeous Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, the Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisonburg is the ideal choice for a quick trip or a long stay. We are conveniently located just minutes from James Madison University, Massanutten recreation area, Skyline Drive and the Blue Ridge Parkway. The Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisonburg is the Shenandoah Valley's best choice for the marathon business traveler or the relocating family. We feature fully equipped kitchens including full-size Energy Star appliances, a luxurious fitness center, a full size pool and whirlpool, complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily, complimentary high-speed internet, 37" LCD flat panel televisions with HD programming and evening socials for guests. Bring your dog because our hotel is pet friendly! When business travel or a recent move brings you to Harrisonburg, the Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisonburg makes you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing