We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but freezing pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but freezing pool”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Hampton Inn. My kids wanted to jump in the pool after breakfast. Their pool was indoor and absolutely freezing. You expect a pool to be chilly until you get used to the water, but this pool was ridiculously cold. There was a lot of food choices for breakfast, but both my kids were disappointed that they were all out of syrup for their waffles.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpm1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    235
    73
    15
    10
See reviews for
356
228
30
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, RI
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stopped because I was tired without reservation. The facility appeared fairly new. Everything was in good condition and clean. The Internet worked well and there was no device limit. Staff everywhere were friendly and attentive. It is always pleasant to stop when tired and enjoy the stay. If in the area, it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer_161231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn because we are visiting JMU nearby. The location is near to the University although not walkable. Our room had two beds because our group is my husband and I along with our daughter. The beds are full size, not queens. TV had many stations. Coffemaker included. AC was very loud. Breakfast is included for all guests. It was a nice assortment of waffles made by the customer in a waffle maker, bagels, pastry, bagels pre-made with eggs cheese and chopped bacon, cereal, lots of fruit, oatmeal, yogurt, juice, coffee etc. There were many places to sit for breakfast. WIFI included with the room. At 5pm or so they put out freshly made cookies for everyone. Coffee in lobby all day. Front desk people were nice although a bit frazzled at check in because the rooms were all booked and some not ready at three. We didn't have a problem checking in though. We are diamond members and did not get an upgrade. My husband worked out at a very small "gym" which only had two machines. All in all a decent visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpgclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late at night on Sunday night, the staff was very nice and got us right to our room. We added an extra night with no problem. We had the pool to ourselves almost everyday. The only complaint is there is no hot tub and the breakfast was average. A good variety just so so food. Over all would stay again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilyfinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I really love this hotel. They aim to please or they fix the problem. The hotel is a very safe place. You can feel comfortable allowing your teenager to go to the workout facility or to the pool without you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tn, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The staff is always accomodating and well trained, pleasant and helpful. This is the hotel where we stop during our frequent trips from Tn. to PA. During this trip I left my wrist braces amongst the bed covers and the staff next day located them and mailed them overnight at no charge to me so that I could sleep without numb fingers the very next night in my own bed at home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Walt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

5 th year in a row we have stopped here on our way to Florida. Rooms are clean, very quiet, beds comfortable and one of the better Hampton Inn breakfasts.
Lots of restaurants around. Easy access to I 81 on and off, gas etc.
Staff always helpful if a bit slow. Our toilet backed up and took awhile for someone to respond but they did and was resolved.


Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kenpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#3 of 22 in Harrisonburg
419 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South

Property: Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Address: 43 Covenant Dr, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-2682
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
#3 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South Hotel Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing