We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great interior and atmosphere”
Review of Taj of India

Taj of India
Order Online
Ranked #40 of 320 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Price range: $10 - $19
Description: Taj of India is a fine Indian dining restaurant in the heart of Harrisonburg downtown.All our food is freshly prepared on premises.Each dish will have its own distinctive flavor and aroma, from spices which are separately prepared each day fresh for each individual dish.Buffet Lunch 11 a.m. to 230 p.m. daily — $9.95; Dinner 5pm to10 pm; a-la carte only with pairing wines and lavish full Bar.
Restaurant details
Description: Taj of India is a fine Indian dining restaurant in the heart of Harrisonburg downtown.All our food is freshly prepared on premises.Each dish will have its own distinctive flavor and aroma, from spices which are separately prepared each day fresh for each individual dish.Buffet Lunch 11 a.m. to 230 p.m. daily — $9.95; Dinner 5pm to10 pm; a-la carte only with pairing wines and lavish full Bar.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food is OK, though the daal was not as good but not bad. The parking is limited though there is a payable car park. One minor point is that i don't always have a rice dish with a curry and instead prefer nan, but one has no choice because rice served by default (though i understand this is the case for many indian eateries). There should always be a choice which thus means i can enjoy more than a single curry.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zenzar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 40 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

Wonderful, high quality food and the kindest service. I stopped by while traveling and hope to return one day!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank JenniferJune77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019

We are in Harrisonburg only once a year and I will definitely make this a place for a return visit. The food is amazing both for us meat lovers and for our vegan friends. The flavors - amazing. The food melts in our mouth. Definitely take their recommendation on how spicy to make your dish. Only thing we will do next time is not go with a large group. The service for larger groups is a bit slow and we had a time commitment.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marsco27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019

I walked in, was met by a friendly man and seated right away. I could not find my favorite Indian dish, butter chicken, on the menu and asked him about it. It is called "Murg Makhni Lajawab" on the menu. I dont care what they call it, I call it absolutely amazing. I got the level 3 spicy and I was sweating a little bit and I love spicy food. I had Taj Mahal lager beers and garlic naan. They brought rice with my meal, but I didn't eat it as it was too much foo. The place has a nice interior and the staff are friendly. There is no dress code. I will be back for sure. Enjoy.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank litseyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

We stopped in here while on vacation and wished we lived closer so we could frequent the place. Our food was very good, the service was prompt and friendly. We couldn't finish our meals so asked for a box and they gave us extra naan to bring home. Restaurant and rest rooms were clean. Not a lot of diners when we went (5:00) but it began to fill when we left at 6:00.
Hubby said his was a little to spicy but they will accommodate to your preference. Reasonable price. Would definitely return if we lived closer.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tonitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj of India also viewed

 

Been to Taj of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing