We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located off Rt 81.”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Nice outdoor pool. Good parking. Clean bathroom. Carpeting in room a bit shabby. 15 yr old TV. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RHC1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 306 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2010

Hotel is just of I-81 and is a bit tricky to get to as you have to make a left off of Rt 33 and then a very quick left onto a service rd. First impression from grounds and lobby is no frills. Two level hotel with no elevator. Staff was friendly. Room was not cleaned well. One of the towels in the bathroom was stained light brown and there was long strands of black hair still hanging out of the hair dryer. Also found sand(?) in our bed. Very commercialized area. Lots of restaurants in the area, but again, due to hotels location, its not easy getting to and from the hotel. Hotel is close to JMU. Free limited breakfast in the lobby which consist of bagels, donuts, muffins, waffles, juice and coffee. There is an outdoor pool across from the parking lot. All in all, if you just need a place to sleep with nothing else, I guess this will do.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkjbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed here about two years ago and as with our recent visit used the hotel as a place to stay for visiting Massanutten Ski Resort. This is an easy hotel off of I-81 and is conveniently located amidst shopping, restaurants, and other hotels. Although basic, it is a very nice facility, clean rooms, with friendly staff. Has a small exercise room, outdoor pool, and fast wireless internet connection which is free. Continental breakfast has make your own waffles, bagels, pastries, hard boiled eggs, cereals, juices and coffee. Definitely a three star hotel but serves it's purpose well.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

This hotel is our "home away from home" in Harrisonburg. We come down to visit our son who is a student, and we've stayed here numerous times since mid-2007. We usually book a king suite. The room is large with a mini-fridge and microwave. The bathroom is great, with a large vanity area. No problem finding a place for your toiletries. The rooms are clean and quiet. We've been here when the hotel was almost empty and when it was completely booked for James Madison University events. There is a well-appointed outdoor pool in season, and an exercise room. The breakfast area is very nice, and the food items are pretty much the usual (make-your-own waffles, pastries, english muffins, etc.) We don't have a pet, so that amenity doesn't matter to us. I will say that we have never seen evidence of any pets in the rooms, so that isn't an issue either. The pizza place within walking distance is very good. There is a large shopping area just across the highway, which is easily accessed, and plenty of restaurants there and elsewhere up and down the road. Interstate 81 is very close, also easy access.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oxzimmeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I stayed two nights. The staff was very helpful and friendly, from the front desk to the people who clean the rooms. The room was immaculate, and the whole place is clean and well kept. The continental breakfast was nice for this kind of motel and even had some protein (boiled eggs and yogurt). This is a basic motel, but they are doing it right.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VirginiaPhotoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stopped here after hours of driving toward South Carolina. The front desk clerk was very friendly, the room clean, beds comfortable, and free internet access. The location is an easy walk to shopping and various restaurants. The breakfast was nice and waffles wonderful. We were happy for this quick find off the highway and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank armymomME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

This was a standard Comfort Inn - Good & comfortable place to stay, nice people, good bed and okay breakfast. It met our expectations. I was a little worried because our only option was on the lst floor in a "pet allowed" room, but we didn't notice any major smells. It was an overnight stay on our trip and it was right off of I-81N, so the location was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FloridaFunAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 23 in Harrisonburg
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#15 of 23 in Harrisonburg
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
#13 of 23 in Harrisonburg
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1440 E Market St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range: $92 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Shenandoah Valley with a great stay at the Comfort Inn® hotel in Harrisonburg, VA. Our leisure hotel is near James Madison University, Bridgewater College and Luray Caverns. This family hotel in Harrisonburg is ideal for your Virginia vacation, as we are just a short drive away from the area’s top attractions, including Endless Caverns, Silver Lake and Massanutten Water Park and Ski Resort. Other sites and attractions near our leisure hotel in Harrisonburg include: Virginia Quilt Museum, Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia, New Market Battlefield State Historical Park, Shenandoah National Park, and George Washington and Jefferson National Forests. Whether you’re staying for leisure or corporate travel, Comfort Inn hotels will give you everything you need to make your trip a success. As our valued guest at this Harrisonburg hotel, you can enjoy such amenities as: free WiFi, seasonal outdoor pool with sundeck, fitness center, free weekday newspaper, and copy and fax services. Start your day off with a great hot breakfast. Your trip to Harrisonburg begins with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. We invite you to relax in your guest room, which features a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Suites also offer a whirlpool bathtub, microwave, and refrigerator. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service and wonderful amenities at the Comfort Inn hotel. Harrisonburg hotels like ours ensure you have all of the amenities you need for a successful day ahead. Rested, set, go - book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing