We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access of I-81 great shopping/restaurants”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stopped here after hours of driving toward South Carolina. The front desk clerk was very friendly, the room clean, beds comfortable, and free internet access. The location is an easy walk to shopping and various restaurants. The breakfast was nice and waffles wonderful. We were happy for this quick find off the highway and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank armymomME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 320 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2009

This was a standard Comfort Inn - Good & comfortable place to stay, nice people, good bed and okay breakfast. It met our expectations. I was a little worried because our only option was on the lst floor in a "pet allowed" room, but we didn't notice any major smells. It was an overnight stay on our trip and it was right off of I-81N, so the location was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FloridaFunAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

My boyfriend and I arrived on a Friday night for a romantic weekend getaway. We were greeted by a very pleasant young woman at the front desk and check-in was quick and easy. Our room was clean and a nice size. The king-sized bed was comfortable. The area around the hotel is great too--lots of places to eat and shop. We checked out the breakfast but only grabbed a couple of small donuts since we were heading out to eat. It looked like a great basic buffet. On Saturday I asked for clean towels and the front desk provided them immediately and with a smile.

We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Ruby921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2008

Perfectly good place for a night or 2. Room was spacious and very clean and had a mini fridge. Shower had good water pressure, and the bed was nice and firm.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Rockvilleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Having never stayed at a Comfort Inn I wasn't sure what to expect but the reviews about the pet friendliness of this hotel got me to book. They are all very accurate too. The hotel has an excellent court yard area to walk your dog or sit outside and enjoy a coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Very Pet Friendly with a nice courtyard area with a "doggy station" with bags and a trash can. Small but adequate continental breakfast. Very clean and new looking.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank TaffyVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

We checked into this standard, attractive King-bedded room after doing a casual inspection of it. While my husband was bringing up the luggage, I walked over to the desk to sit down on the chair (standard chair with upholstered seat, NOT an office chair), and found the seat stained with what had been bodily fluid or some other liquid. Then I looked over at the far side of the bed and saw a wadded-up filthy tissue on the floor, in plain view. Obviously, whoever cleaned the room cleaned only halfway into it. Yuk! I took a bath towel to cover the seat, and found hair on the towel.

I went back down to complain, but only rooms with two double beds were available. Andrea, the young woman at the front desk, went upstairs and picked up the tissue, then got a vacuum cleaner and vacuumed the area. Of course, it didn't sanitize the carpet, but who knows what was on there that couldn't be seen!

The hotel otherwise was fine. Carpet and furnishings were up-to-date, the breakfast was the standard Comfort Inn breakfast, and the location was good.

I'd give it a qualified recommendation, but I resolve to inspect every motel room more carefully before checking in.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sukki007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
#13 of 23 in Harrisonburg
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#14 of 23 in Harrisonburg
42 reviews
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1440 E Market St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range: $86 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Shenandoah Valley with a great stay at the Comfort Inn® hotel in Harrisonburg, VA. Our leisure hotel is near James Madison University, Bridgewater College and Luray Caverns. This family hotel in Harrisonburg is ideal for your Virginia vacation, as we are just a short drive away from the area’s top attractions, including Endless Caverns, Silver Lake and Massanutten Water Park and Ski Resort. Other sites and attractions near our leisure hotel in Harrisonburg include: Virginia Quilt Museum, Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia, New Market Battlefield State Historical Park, Shenandoah National Park, and George Washington and Jefferson National Forests. Whether you’re staying for leisure or corporate travel, Comfort Inn hotels will give you everything you need to make your trip a success. As our valued guest at this Harrisonburg hotel, you can enjoy such amenities as: free WiFi, seasonal outdoor pool with sundeck, fitness center, free weekday newspaper, and copy and fax services. Start your day off with a great hot breakfast. Your trip to Harrisonburg begins with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. We invite you to relax in your guest room, which features a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Suites also offer a whirlpool bathtub, microwave, and refrigerator. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service and wonderful amenities at the Comfort Inn hotel. Harrisonburg hotels like ours ensure you have all of the amenities you need for a successful day ahead. Rested, set, go - book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing