We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Thomasville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Very nice greeting by desk clerk upon arriving. Room was immaculate and pet friendly. Very nice breakfast buffet. Overall a pleasant, inviting place to stay and close to lots of restaurant chains. We ate at Texas Roadhouse.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARBARA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    117
    51
    16
    13
See reviews for
127
79
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I traveled with my family to JMU for open house. We’d originally booked a smoking room and the smell was too bad for us non-smokers. The staff was extremely accommodating and did everything they could to meet our expectations. Breakfast was great, the room was clean, and the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrylswife0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The front desk was extremely nice and helpful. Our room was clean even though it was for a pet. The bathroom was spotless and the shower was amazing. Pretty good breakfast options. Would come back again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our room was very nice, modern and clean. The front desk staff is warm and welcoming. The breakfast was far more than "Continental" and in a lovely dining area. There are no signs of wear, considering that they allow pets! (Very impressive!) The location is perfect with plenty of options for dining, shopping and sightseeing. (Luray Caverns, Skyline Drive, JMU games etc.)

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dek133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Pulled off the highway at 730 pm in Harrisonburg, Virginia.. There are several hotels/motels in this area. But I know the Comfort Inn name and can usually count them on being a good place to stay. I wasn't wrong. Soon as I walked and was greeted by the desk clerk Jennifer I knew it was going to be a good stop. She was warm and inviting. There had been a serious accident on the Interstate and she told me of two different routes around the city in the future I could use to by pass it. The room was excellent, it was what I would expect from a Comfort Inn. Clean and neat. They have everything you could want in a room, microwave oven, coffee maker, refrigerator and an iron board with a iron. The Continental breakfast was excellent. Bagel, toast, cereal, Belgium waffles, juice, coffee, danish, i am sure I am forgetting somethings. It is worth stopping here. If I am in the area again on my semi annual trip to or from Florida this will be where I stop.

Room Tip: To me the best room is on the ground floor, especially after a long trip on the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinstatecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I would say this hotel was on the low end of the mid-range hotels, right before you hit budget. It looked very old inside. The furniture, decor, and entire hotel looked like it was in desperate need of a facelift. We were only here one night while traveling; I don’t think I would have stayed at a place like this more than one night.

We were told the best entrance to the hotel to use was around back. It felt creepy in the back. I would not feel safe if I were traveling alone. The halls were long and musty, and I am not sure if there was even an elevator in this place, if there was I never saw it. We had to carry our heavy bags up a few flights of stairs to get to our room.

The room could have used a good dusting. The bathroom was old, no counter space for toiletries, and I spotted some hairs on the floor. The beds also seemed old and like they needed to be replaced. I did not find them that comfortable.

There was a continental breakfast the next morning and it was ok. I usually don’t stay at Comfort Inns, and this stay confirmed why. I probably won’t be back to a Comfort Inn any time soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
318 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#14 of 22 in Harrisonburg
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
#12 of 22 in Harrisonburg
184 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1440 E Market St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Shenandoah Valley with a great stay at the Comfort Inn® hotel in Harrisonburg, VA. Our leisure hotel is near James Madison University, Bridgewater College and Luray Caverns. This family hotel in Harrisonburg is ideal for your Virginia vacation, as we are just a short drive away from the area’s top attractions, including Endless Caverns, Silver Lake and Massanutten Water Park and Ski Resort. Other sites and attractions near our leisure hotel in Harrisonburg include: Virginia Quilt Museum, Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia, New Market Battlefield State Historical Park, Shenandoah National Park, and George Washington and Jefferson National Forests. Whether you’re staying for leisure or corporate travel, Comfort Inn hotels will give you everything you need to make your trip a success. As our valued guest at this Harrisonburg hotel, you can enjoy such amenities as: free WiFi, seasonal outdoor pool with sundeck, fitness center, free weekday newspaper, and copy and fax services. Start your day off with a great hot breakfast. Your trip to Harrisonburg begins with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. We invite you to relax in your guest room, which features a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Suites also offer a whirlpool bathtub, microwave, and refrigerator. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service and wonderful amenities at the Comfort Inn hotel. Harrisonburg hotels like ours ensure you have all of the amenities you need for a successful day ahead. Rested, set, go - book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing