We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very great location”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very great location”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This comfort inn, is conveniently located across from a shopping plaza and many different restaurants. It's right off I-85, excellent location. The price is very good and if you get the coupon book off the interstate you get a better deal. It's very quite, relaxing. The pool is great, right under the soon, good size parking, the continental breakfast was ok. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Thank you to Shannon at the front desk, very nice girl, made us feel like regular guests. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieguira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    118
    52
    16
    13
See reviews for
128
80
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the start, the hostess that checked us in was so helpful, courteous, professional. Not enough good words to describe. The room was Very Clean !! Comfortable, smelled nice. The bathroom was so clean also. The shower was perfect, shower head was adjustable and really worked !!! Shower curtain spotless, towels neatly folded and plenty of them. The hotel hallways were clean, organized and the lobby had plenty of helpful information. Breakfast was great. Plenty of fresh food, people keeping things clean and re-stocked, great assortment to choose from. Would highly recommend staying here and I will stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Heads up to the double traffic light at the entrance to the hotel. Not a big deal, just kind of dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lnicholas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Comfort Inn in Harrisonburg while driving a bus group on a two week tour of Virginia. The location, adjacent to I-81, is very convenient, and the dedicated spaces for large vehicles such as buses were very helpful. The staff, at check-in and throughout our stay were helpful and courteous. The rooms were typical for a Comfort Inn BUT all three (non-smoking) rooms had a kind of funky cigarette smoke/musty pet odor smell. One of the rooms, in particular, was really bad. When I went to the front desk, they very quickly apologized and offered to come spray the rooms with an odor neutralizer or if necessary move us. I actually just borrowed the spray and treated all three rooms with it, myself. Otherwise, the rooms were fine. Breakfast in the morning was adequate and typical for a Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a 2 star budget hotel so my expectations were not high. The young woman at the front desk was pleasant & helpful but the hotel itself is old & dated. My room #173 had a strong musty smell. However, that being said, the room was clean and the bed was fine. There is a large shopping center across the street with a movie theatre and many choices of inexpensive places to eat such as Panera, Chipotle, pizza place, Chinese food and much more. Also, this hotel is slightly tricky to find because it is located on the service road, not on East Market Street itself. I would not stay here again due to the musty odor.

Room Tip: You might want a room on the first floor since there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dissatisfied11742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a satisfactory place but I do not recommend the suite if you are going to use the sofa bed as anything but a sofa. It is very uncomfortable and only a small child should be considered to sleep on it. It has no elevator, so if you are above the first floor you must carry your luggage up the stairs to your room. Once the sofa bed is pulled out it leaves very little room to move around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenifer J, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. I wanted to update you that last week new sleeper sofas were put into all our suites with two double beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

After spending 4 days at a civil war reenactment for the 150th anniversary of the battle of Gettysburg we headed south planning to get to Chattanooga TN. We left Gettysburg later than planned due to numerous issues with the Blue Gray Allance event we would not make our destination until 6am, so we stopped here, it is just off I-81 at exit 247A, the hotel is clean, updated, and very comfortable. We had a king size bed that was so comfortable we slept later than planned. The continental breakfast was the usual fare but it was hot, the breakfast area was large and comfortable with enough tables and chairs to accommodate large crowds. The staff are friendly, helpful and gracious. We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Chambersburg PA during our stay at the reenactment so we can honestly say there is no comparison between the two hotels. This is southern hospitality at its finest, wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I found this Comfort Inn to be slightly better than average despite some drawbacks such as noisy pets and some management problems that might involve inadequate staffing. This hotel is located at an intersection that is overly complicated and potentially dangerous to navigate. Breakfast was good and the staff provided a wider range of choices than other hotels in its price range. This hotel provides good value for what they charge. Our room was clean and well appointed. It looked out on a beautiful, well landscaped inner courtyard. The beds were comfortable and the AC/heating unit below the window worked properly.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
318 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#14 of 22 in Harrisonburg
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
#12 of 22 in Harrisonburg
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1440 E Market St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Shenandoah Valley with a great stay at the Comfort Inn® hotel in Harrisonburg, VA. Our leisure hotel is near James Madison University, Bridgewater College and Luray Caverns. This family hotel in Harrisonburg is ideal for your Virginia vacation, as we are just a short drive away from the area’s top attractions, including Endless Caverns, Silver Lake and Massanutten Water Park and Ski Resort. Other sites and attractions near our leisure hotel in Harrisonburg include: Virginia Quilt Museum, Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia, New Market Battlefield State Historical Park, Shenandoah National Park, and George Washington and Jefferson National Forests. Whether you’re staying for leisure or corporate travel, Comfort Inn hotels will give you everything you need to make your trip a success. As our valued guest at this Harrisonburg hotel, you can enjoy such amenities as: free WiFi, seasonal outdoor pool with sundeck, fitness center, free weekday newspaper, and copy and fax services. Start your day off with a great hot breakfast. Your trip to Harrisonburg begins with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. We invite you to relax in your guest room, which features a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Suites also offer a whirlpool bathtub, microwave, and refrigerator. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service and wonderful amenities at the Comfort Inn hotel. Harrisonburg hotels like ours ensure you have all of the amenities you need for a successful day ahead. Rested, set, go - book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing