We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting Southern Comfort”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

After spending 4 days at a civil war reenactment for the 150th anniversary of the battle of Gettysburg we headed south planning to get to Chattanooga TN. We left Gettysburg later than planned due to numerous issues with the Blue Gray Allance event we would not make our destination until 6am, so we stopped here, it is just off I-81 at exit 247A, the hotel is clean, updated, and very comfortable. We had a king size bed that was so comfortable we slept later than planned. The continental breakfast was the usual fare but it was hot, the breakfast area was large and comfortable with enough tables and chairs to accommodate large crowds. The staff are friendly, helpful and gracious. We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Chambersburg PA during our stay at the reenactment so we can honestly say there is no comparison between the two hotels. This is southern hospitality at its finest, wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 324 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I found this Comfort Inn to be slightly better than average despite some drawbacks such as noisy pets and some management problems that might involve inadequate staffing. This hotel is located at an intersection that is overly complicated and potentially dangerous to navigate. Breakfast was good and the staff provided a wider range of choices than other hotels in its price range. This hotel provides good value for what they charge. Our room was clean and well appointed. It looked out on a beautiful, well landscaped inner courtyard. The beds were comfortable and the AC/heating unit below the window worked properly.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here based on other properties in the Comfort family. To start with TJ really tried hard and nothing in this review should reflect on him. The first non smoking room smelled like a smoking room, he moved us to room 2. This room was going great for about 30 minutes then the dog in next room started barking and would not stop. So he moved us to the third room and we could hear every step the person in the room above us made. Overall the rooms are decent size the bathrooms are large and clean. To this tired traveler I will not ask for what is behind door number 4 and I will stay put and raise these issues with those in charge. The hotel is very convenient to the greater Harrisonburg area.

My recommendation would be either not to allow dogs or set a section aside as pet rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My error, after making another reservation for our trip, when I made the reservation for the Comfort Inn in Harrisonburg I put the wrong date for my request. I did not realize it until I went to check, and then discovered it was too late. I called the hotel and tried to resolve the problem. I was given the run around, and the manager, Jennifer Jackson, didn't have the decency to talk to us. On top of that, after making another reservation, when we arrived at our room, we found that it was a handicapped room. I went back to the desk, the clerk went away for about a minute, returned and gave us another room. Guess what, it was another handicapped room. By this time, we were too tired to bother. We will NEVER use this hotel again. The Comfort Inn in Sarasota was magnificent. Different managers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aruba025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenifer J, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

I am sorry we could not come to a resolution on your recent reservations.

As you stated, you made a guaranteed reservation online. As we explained on the phone and in person, when you make a guaranteed reservation, the hotel agrees to hold the room for you all night and not re-sell it. This allows you the flexibility to arrive after the standard check in time. In exchange, you agree to cancel the reservation if your plans change or to pay for the room if you do not arrive. Since you did not cancel your reservation, and the room sat empty all evening, you were charged for one night room plus tax.

When you booked your second room, you booked (and were checked into) a non-smoking king. This room is equipped for the visually and hearing impaired. This room differs from a standard room only slightly in that it has a strobe light attached to the smoke detector and emergency alarm and a doorbell that can be deactivated. All hotels are now required to have a large number of rooms with this equipment. When you asked to move rooms, we upgraded you to a suite nearby at no additional charge. I wish you had let us know you wished to move again when the front desk agent followed up to see if this room was to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I ended up here by happenstance after being stuck in traffic for a 3 hour delay back in Canada. We were on a road trip South and sampling what America has to offer for craft beer on the way down. We ended up in the cute little town of Harrisonburg and pulled into the Comfort Inn.

The only thing I have to say that kind of weirded us out was the turn in lane to the hotel. There was a very weird set of traffic lights kind of in the middle of the road (not at an intersection)... Anyway, once we got past that we got into the hotel and checked in. Check in went well.

We asked the woman at the front desk if there were any good breweries around or anywhere to get a nice beer. She was SO helpful. I really wish I remembered her name. She chatted us up about a great place downtown called Capital Ale House (see next review). She was just extremely friendly and helpful.

She let us know where our room was. We drove our car around so we were closer to our entrance (which was very nice). We went into our room. It was very standard. Clean and comfy. It was perfect for our night in Harrisonburg. The bathroom was very clean and everything that we needed was right there. Breakfast in the morning was simple but filled us up for our long drive that day.

If we find ourselves back in Harrisonburg, I would stay here for sure. Nice and easy to get to off the highway (not too close to downtown) but a quick cab ride or drive.

Harrisonburg was also a very cute little town. They had a historic district which we walked a bit, but unfortunately as it was night we did not see a whole lot else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkelly80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenifer J, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for submitting such a detailed review of your unplanned trip to Harrisonburg. I hope you get to return on a more planned trip to see all the city has to offer. I am glad the front desk agent was able to point you to a restaurant that was up your alley. We pride ourselves on recommending the perfect restaurant to each of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great stay. Beds were comfortable and room very clean. Only two stories but no elevator. Breakfast was good with plenty of choices. Tip the breakfast bar lady, she works hard to keep the guests fed! Very close to a number of restaurants gor dinner but stay way from holiday inn lounge next door. Bad service!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank di m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenifer J, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to make your experience at our hotel public. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and have shared your kind words with our breakfast attendants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable and clean. We stayed one night on our way to South Carolina. Staff was friendly and attentive. The bed and pillows were great. The room was very clean and warmly decorated. The breakfast was very nice (something to please everyone). We plan to stay here on our way back home next week.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenifer J, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 23 in Harrisonburg
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
#13 of 23 in Harrisonburg
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
Holiday Inn Express Harrisonburg
#12 of 23 in Harrisonburg
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1440 E Market St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range: $89 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Shenandoah Valley with a great stay at the Comfort Inn® hotel in Harrisonburg, VA. Our leisure hotel is near James Madison University, Bridgewater College and Luray Caverns. This family hotel in Harrisonburg is ideal for your Virginia vacation, as we are just a short drive away from the area’s top attractions, including Endless Caverns, Silver Lake and Massanutten Water Park and Ski Resort. Other sites and attractions near our leisure hotel in Harrisonburg include: Virginia Quilt Museum, Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia, New Market Battlefield State Historical Park, Shenandoah National Park, and George Washington and Jefferson National Forests. Whether you’re staying for leisure or corporate travel, Comfort Inn hotels will give you everything you need to make your trip a success. As our valued guest at this Harrisonburg hotel, you can enjoy such amenities as: free WiFi, seasonal outdoor pool with sundeck, fitness center, free weekday newspaper, and copy and fax services. Start your day off with a great hot breakfast. Your trip to Harrisonburg begins with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. We invite you to relax in your guest room, which features a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Suites also offer a whirlpool bathtub, microwave, and refrigerator. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service and wonderful amenities at the Comfort Inn hotel. Harrisonburg hotels like ours ensure you have all of the amenities you need for a successful day ahead. Rested, set, go - book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing