We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills but very clean”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Demarest, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No frills but very clean”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The lobby was spacious and clean and gave a great impression. We had a room in the rear and it was very large. The bed was just right, however the linens were pretty scratchy. The rest of the room was fine, the desk and lamp were well situated and the TV was a nice flat screen. The next morning we had a simple breakfast and were on our way, well rested!

Room Tip: stay on the side away from the highway. It is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neelique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EL182, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We appreciate the compliments. Your feedback is very important to us. We use comments from our guests to make necessary changes and improve upon our current practices so that all of our guests can have an enjoyable stay.

Thank You

Pankaj Patel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    21
    11
    13
See reviews for
20
19
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our non-smoking room smelled smokey (especially the pillows) and moldy/musty. Flat pillows, thin towels. Very small room. For some reason in room 201, they put the hanging clothes holder right beside one side of the bed so you had to duck to get in and out of bed. Not pleasant with the 3 AM bathroom run! Stains on the bedside were unsightly. Coffee was good. Need more continental breakfast options. Had a sign that said "do not put hard boiled eggs in microwave", however they weren't any eggs there. Can't believe I paid $79 for these accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EL182, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Please accept my apology for not failing to reach your level of satisfaction. The feedback we receive from our guests are important to us and are always appreciated.

Thank You

Pankaj Patel. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finksburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this Econolodge for two nights. The lobby and breakfast area were very nice and looked like they had recently been remodeled. The staff were very friendly and ready to help. We could tell that our room was old by the ceilings and walls, but the bathroom had been remodeled and the furniture all looked new. I am assuming the carpet was also new-ish. This hotel accepts pets, so I was wary - but there was no odor and the room was very clean.
They do have the signs in the bathroom that says they are going green and if you leave you towels hung up they won't be changed. They changed ours anyway. So that is not entirely a bad thing - it just made me wonder if the going green signs were corporate policy or just there for show.
The breakfast was no extravagant by any means. But the coffee was decent. There were bagels, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, and toast available. So there was no fruit or hot choices, but I thought is was decent for the price of the hotel.
Overall, I would not get really excited about staying here again, but if I was passing through Harrisonburg on a budget again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legorefugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EL182, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your candid comments. I'm glad that you see the values we present to our guests. As you are aware of it, we did an extensive renovations but still lot to do. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#13 of 22 in Harrisonburg
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 22 in Harrisonburg
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 22 in Harrisonburg
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
#12 of 22 in Harrisonburg
182 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ramada Harrisonburg
Ramada Harrisonburg
#15 of 22 in Harrisonburg
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn University Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1703 E Market St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-5103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near James Madison and Easter Mennonite Universities, Off Interstate 81 exit 247A. Property has Interior as well as Exterior Corridor Buildings, and is close to numerous shopping and eating places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing