We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a peaceful NYE!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Harrisonburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Harrisonburg
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
WV
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not a peaceful NYE!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

In a block of rooms set aside for a party in the hotel and I couldn't believe it wasn't louder longer! Almost silent by 4:30AM and I was expecting sunrise. Oh well, maybe next year! Bar/restaurant was good too. Nice stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodsci1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    34
    34
    23
See reviews for
57
25
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here in December 2013 when visiting some friends in the area. The hotel was not our first choice but we booked it based on the price - the other hotels we looked at were not available. Check in was easy, friendly, and we stayed on the second floor. The elevator had a unfresh smell - like body odor - which was a bit offputting. The decor was somewhat updated - the hotel itself has a older 80s feel and HI has tried to update with modern drapes and furniture. It sort of feels unfinished because they didn't totally gut and remodel - rather just give it a mini-facelift. Same goes with the rooms. The shower curtain had a musty odor. There was a sliding glass door that led to a half balcony overlooking an empty floor that was partitioned off from the pool with artificial trees - it was strange. Perhaps this area was used for something in the past? It was reall nice to have a microwave and fridge in the room.

I was most surprised to see that HI hadn't turned the restaurant/bar area into a nook and offer free breakfast like so many other hospitality chains are doing. The restaurant was near empty the entire weekend. With so many nearby food choices I can't imagine that it is generating much income for the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Harrisonburg, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Andi21,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's nice to hear your positive feedback about our easy and friendly check in experience. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry that our decor, furnishings and room quality did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our daughter and now new son-in-law reserved rooms for the wedding party and family and friends which was November 2, 2013. These were blocked early on because it was also the JMU Homecoming game. The staff was awesome including the café we had our meals at. The rooms were clean and linens delivered daily and beds made for us. It was a busy time for us and the accommodations were as one would expect to have. Thanks for helping to make our stay in Harrisonburg and pleasant and successful visit.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and I did not find it noisy or anything that would be a disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

There are a growing number of hotels in Harrisonburg and this is one of the ones that have been around the longest. The hotel has a nice lobby and very friendly and helpful staff. An interesting feature is the large indoor pool area with a small fitness area next to the reception. It is clear that there has been recent renovations to the whole facility, but some parts, like the restaurant, still feels a bit gloomy and dungeon-like. The breakfast was in general not a strength of the hotel.
My room was nice though. Big space and good facilities. Price-wise the hotel was lower than the other hotels in the same class when I booked.
The location was as good as any other in town. The street has several restaurants on it and JMU is 5 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schico, General Manager at Hotel Harrisonburg, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Spacialspook:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have, indeed, been renovating our property, and your informative review and comments on our restaurant will definitely help us direct our future improvements. We hope that you will stay with us again when you are in Harrisonburg, and please, continue to be so informative and helpful in your reviews. Safe travels!

Sincerely,

Scott C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The staff at HI Harrisonburg is very accommodating when it comes to meeting the needs of groups of up to 200. Planning an event such as a reunion is worry free in that they have many choices to consider. Room rates are very reasonable, location to JMU is convenient as well as are many restaurants. Our group has been so impressed we have held our reunion here two years in a row. One surprise is the quality of the food prepared for banquets in the banquet room kitchen. Unlike most hotel food, dishes here are very well prepared and presented. From personal experience, I can give the staff and accommodations outstanding ratings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schico, General Manager at Hotel Harrisonburg, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Larry S,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear that we are meeting and exceeding your expectations. We hope to host your group with us again next year and continue to grow with your organization. Thanks again for the review!

Sincerely,

schico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weimar, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff here were so friendly, there was nothing that was too much trouble for them. They helped us with ordering some food (we arrived quite late in the day) and just made our experience very enjoyable. The hotel itself is in a good location, easy to access and our stay was very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wsymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. Hotel staff were friendly. Room was clean and modern. My family used the pool. The lobby was lovely and offered free coffee in the morning. We didn't care for the restaurant food or service though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonny53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#12 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
#13 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrisonburg

Property: Hotel Harrisonburg
Address: 1400 E Market Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801 (Formerly Holiday Inn Harrisonburg)
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrisonburg 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrisonburg, VA is the premier full service hotel and meeting facility in the Harrisonburg area with 140 rooms and over 10,000 sq. feet in meeting space. We are located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, home of the JMU Dukes, at the intersection of I-81 and US Route 33, exit 247 A. Nearby tourist attractions include: Luray Caverns, Endless Caverns, Grand Caverns, the Skyline Drive, and several Civil War battlefields, including the New Market Battlefield. Outdoor enthusiasts can enjoy several local golf courses. Massanutten Resort is the perfect four seasons resort in the Valley, featuring golf, snow tubing, snow boarding, skiing and the newly opened indoor/outdoor water park. We are also conveniently located just minutes away from the following local colleges, universities and local business: James Madison University, Bridgewater College, Eastern Mennonite University, Coors Bottling, Merck, SYSCO and the Shenandoah Valley Regional Airport. We can accommodate any group up to 250 people and provide the catering for your event, wedding or conference. We can also assist in the planning of your wedding or reception, just contact our wedding specialist in the sales department. Let the Hotel Harrisonburg take care of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing