We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fine Stop-Over” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Harrisonburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Harrisonburg
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Fine Stop-Over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stopped here on a trip from NJ to NC. Staff was courteous and efficient. Room was clean and comfortable. The location is just off I-81 so no time wasted. We used room service for both dinner and breakfast and no complaints although I'm not a big fan of Holiday Inn food which is also a bit pricey. Had a nice looking swimming pool if anyone is in the mood for a quick dip. Our room was next to the elevator which made no noise and was not a factor. Ice machine was broken on our floor (2nd) but the one on 4 worked fine so not a problem. As a Priority Club member, only charged 15,000 pts so didn't put much of a dent in our account. Wireless internet also worked fine in our room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbeck3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    34
    34
    23
See reviews for
57
25
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The lobby was very musty smelling as soon as we walked in...The room was obviously not vaccumed. There were bottle can tabs and some pill on the rug. And the room was musty and damp. Will not stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Karen M:

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Harrisonburgl. I am sorry that you had such a dissatisfying experience at our hotel. You will be glad to hear that we have just shampooed our carpets in all public areas, and we are making the way into rooms now. As you can see, we take quality and cleanliness very seriously, and we always strive to improve whatever deficiencies may arise due to the age and heavy use of our property. I hope that you will reconsider your decision not to visit our property so that you may experience first hand our attempts to improve.

Sincerely,

Scott C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrisonburg hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

The carpets in hallways and elevators were filthy. Our bathroom had mildew in bathroom, and dirt/hair on floor. There was some type of convention or group at hotel partying. The side entrances were littered with smokers, and the 1st floor corridor smelled like stale cigarettes and beer. One entrance had teenagers spraypainting a canoe on the concrete sidewalk--I kid you not. We would NEVER stay here again. Do yourself a favor and go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear 7Irish:

Thank you for contributing a candid review of the Holiday Inn Harrisonburg. We take all of our reviews very seriously and we use feedback from guests like yourself to better our service and our product.

I am very sorry to hear that you had an unsatisfactory stay at our hotel. We make every effort to make our guests comfortable and we desire to provide service which is beyond what any guest may expect from other hotels. Unfortunately, we did have a group which caused some problems at our hotel during the same time period that you stayed with us. Please know that the atmosphere which met you when you walked in our doors that weekend was not typical of what our guests experience. Know too that we will not be inviting that particular group back into our hotel for future visits because their presence was an inconvenience to guests such as yourself.

I hope that this may convince you to come back and visit our hotel again. We strive to please every guest who stays with us and we hope to have another opportunity to do so in your case.

Thank you again for helping us with this honest review. If there is any other aspect of your stay which you would like to discuss with me, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Scott C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

On a recent trip to Tennessee, we stopped here. We had to asked to have our room changed because the "non-smoking" room smelled smoky. A room on the 4th floor smelled better.
Breakfast was not included. The hallways were very hot. Otherwise, an unexceptional stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolann240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
366 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Holiday Inn is conveniently located at the I-81 exit only about 1 minute from downtown. Rooms are large, clean, and quiet. The warm buffet breakfast is $9.99. We had to spend an extra night in Harrisonburg, and we booked the Comfort Inn next door for $10 less per night. Its warm buffet breakfast was free.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schico, General Manager at Hotel Harrisonburg, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Good afternoon, D N:

Thank you for your comments and thank you for staying with us. We take all guest concerns and comments very seriously, and your review allows us to improve our product, which is our constant goal. While it is true that the Comfort Inn and other local hotels offer a complimentary breakfast, they do not offer the full dining experience in the way that our hotel is able to offer it. That is because these hotels are "limited service" hotels, while our hotel is a "full service" hotel. The main differences between these two types of hotels is that a full service hotel has a full kitchen which produces food that is made to order. This allows us to present a fresh, custom meal for your dining needs. We also have a restaurant which serves dinner, as well as a full-service lounge. Other differences include the ability which we have to host events and provide room service. While I am sure that the experience which you had at the Comfort Inn was affordable, it may not be as attractive to someone who needs the flexibility provided to them in a full-service, made to order kitchen. I want to thank you, again, for your comments, and invite you to visit us when you return to the Harrisonburg area to see all the great things that our hotel has to offer.

Sincerely,

Scott C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stopped at this Holiday Inn while driving south from Pennsylvania to Tennessee. I am a platinum Priority Club member and always stay at IHG properties. We arrived at 9:30 PM and starving! At check in I saw the restaurant was open until 10 PM. We went in and sat down and about 3 other people had plates of food at the bar. Boy it looked good, unfortunately I was told the kitchen closed at 9:30. I said "the sign said open until 10" and the bartender shrugged and said well it just closed. The room was adequate but not very clean when I went into the bathroom the toilet had hair on it and a gross dried urine dribble down the front of it. Yuk! Breakfast was less than desirable also. Service very slow (and there was hardly anyone in there!) and my english muffin was hard. Hopefully they were just having a bad day because my Holiday Inn experiences are usually awesome!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust-itis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schico, General Manager at Hotel Harrisonburg, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Wanderlust-itis:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The reviews that we receive on TripAdvisor are very important to us, as they provide us with the opportunity to use meaningful feedback in order to improve. I am very concerned about the experience which you had when you stayed with us. These types of service inconsistencies are simply not acceptable. I am happy to tell you that our hotel has come under new management since you stayed with us in March (including myself and other departmental managers). We have now changed several of our policies (including the ones regarding the close times in the restaurant) in order to better serve you and our other guests. We hope that you will visit us again soon to see all that we are doing to make a better impression on our guest. Thanks again for your comments!

Sincerely,

Scott C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnprior, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

After a very long drive from Florida, this hotel was what we were looking for. The check-in staff were very helpful and efficient. The room was very nice and clean. Instead of going out for dinner we just went to the hotel restaurant. Our waitress was very good and she made a good suggestion for our meal and the wine. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good value and quality in a hotel.

Room Tip: The king bed room was very large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryS681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schico, General Manager at Hotel Harrisonburg, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear TerryS681,

Thank you for your kind comments. We strive to make our hotel stand out as one of the areas best, and we appreciate hearing that you were satisfied. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when you are in the Harrisonburg area.

Thanks again!

Scott Chico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#12 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
#13 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harrisonburg

Property: Hotel Harrisonburg
Address: 1400 E Market Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801 (Formerly Holiday Inn Harrisonburg)
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harrisonburg 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Harrisonburg, VA is the premier full service hotel and meeting facility in the Harrisonburg area with 140 rooms and over 10,000 sq. feet in meeting space. We are located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, home of the JMU Dukes, at the intersection of I-81 and US Route 33, exit 247 A. Nearby tourist attractions include: Luray Caverns, Endless Caverns, Grand Caverns, the Skyline Drive, and several Civil War battlefields, including the New Market Battlefield. Outdoor enthusiasts can enjoy several local golf courses. Massanutten Resort is the perfect four seasons resort in the Valley, featuring golf, snow tubing, snow boarding, skiing and the newly opened indoor/outdoor water park. We are also conveniently located just minutes away from the following local colleges, universities and local business: James Madison University, Bridgewater College, Eastern Mennonite University, Coors Bottling, Merck, SYSCO and the Shenandoah Valley Regional Airport. We can accommodate any group up to 250 people and provide the catering for your event, wedding or conference. We can also assist in the planning of your wedding or reception, just contact our wedding specialist in the sales department. Let the Hotel Harrisonburg take care of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing