We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average motel, reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Harrisonburg
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Reviewed October 12, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Sue_R_11
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Harrisonburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 408 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Needed to stay in area on this date when nearly all other hotels were booked. Am thankful to get a room although I thought it was overpriced . It was an adequate place to sleep but the breakfast area was very cramped (1 converted guest room) and it was very crowded. The room was also quite noisy. We could hear many other guests moving about in their rooms. This is definitely far from the top of preferred list of hotels in this area where I visit regularly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank RICHARD H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Toilet seat plastic coating was pealing off. Everything was old and gross. There were dust balls in every corner.

Marlene Abbassi

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank MARLENE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The room was clean and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was good. The condition of theroom was another story. Bathroom door would not come close to closing. Toilet seat was unhinged. Bathroom fan was dying a noisy death. Fridge did not work. I suggest asking to see your room before paying for it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We needed a place to stay for an overnight trip to see my favorite band. We went with Super 8 so that we could get better seats.

Overall: Cheap and decently located, but not for the remotely pampered. It's a place to stay out of necessity. Recommended for college kids looking to road-trip on a budget but not many others. *EVERYONE should avoid the breakfast and just eat out unless they have a mad-on for vending machine cinnamon rolls.

* drive to the other side of town and eat at the Bowl of Good. It's about 10-15 min drive, but yum!

The bad:
* smell (room) - the (non-smoking) room smelled a bit like smoke, though it could have just been accumulated previous guest funk
* smell (outside) - it couldn't really be helped, it's cow-country and there's a truck fueling station across the street. A couple of times that we were outside it smelled like manure (sometimes worse than others).
* breakfast - lower end of average range of items and they were sub-par. My mom's english muffin was so bad she couldn't finish it, generic cereal (not a problem for me but she minded and others might), no fruit, pre-packaged pastries were almost definitely from the vending machine (which was VERY empty), pretty much nothing fresh or just-made.
* amenities - no papers at breakfast and no newspaper stand that my mom could find
* key card didn't work but they recoded it, it worked after that.
* when I was trying to check out, the staff was in the laundry room chatting loudly and the service bell (present at night) had been removed from the counter. They didn't hear me calling for them for a few minutes, granted, I was trying to be polite and not outright shout at them.

The good:
* location - not a bad location; not *right* next to anything, but not far away either.
* fast food conveniently available for late night return (BK, Taco Bell, and McD) plus a diner and some other places that closed before we returned.
* beds - reasonable. Not fantastic, but comfy enough and the sheets and pillows were way better than the last budget hotel I stayed at.
* bathroom - reasonable size, seemed clean, good supply of non-scratchy towels. Could use a soap dish/holder on the sink.
* TV - decent channels, we stayed in Oct. and got to see some old scary movies.
* windows - blinds close all the way and block morning light well.
* lighting - 3 lamps supplied adequate light, it didn't seem too dark or anything
* near the amish auction/market and the farmer's market (left out of hotel + 3 min)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank RENEE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The refridgerator with microwave on top was placed directly under the clothes hanging bar. I had to move the fridge from under the hanging bar so I could hang clothes. Might want to relocate the fridge.

I stayed in room 112. Please have your plumber refit the sink handle as it is loose. I had to jiggle it back into place and tighten the retaining screw to get it to operate better.

Otherwise I slept well, the tv worked well, and the remote A/C control was very functional.

I'd like to commend the maid who cleaned my room on Wed, 3 Oct. I had placed some money on one of the beds and forget to pick it up. When I returned later that day, the money was placed on the nite stand. That really made my day to know there are honest folks working hard every day. I didn't get her name but please let her know I certainly appreciated her honestly. If you can find out who this person is I would like to send a personal note.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank DAVID T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Need new pillows at this location! The pillows were very lumpy and not confortable at all! I've had better at other Super 8 locations!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank KATHRYN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Harrisonburg
Ramada Harrisonburg
#16 of 23 in Harrisonburg
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 23 in Harrisonburg
319 reviews
4.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#15 of 23 in Harrisonburg
39 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Harrisonburg

Address: 3330 S Main St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-2674
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range: $57 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Harrisonburg 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Super Eight
Harrisonburg Super 8
Super Eight Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing