We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was very concerned...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Harrisonburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Harrisonburg
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
320 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“I was very concerned...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We booked late for JMU Family Weekend and had a really tough time finding anything. I didn't have much choice so I went through Hotwire. I'm sure rates were raised for this event because it was in the neighborhood of $150-175 which is ridiculously high for this place. Anyway, when I found out what chain it was I was nearly panicked due to the overall reputation and the reviews on here. That sounds snooty I know, but it's how it is.

Pros: Our room must have been remodeled in the not too distant past because it was still clean and didn't have that old/musty smell. The bathroom definitely looked remodeled. I could see where it had been painted and the fixtures looked new except for the tub. We had a microwave and fridge (didn't need or want them, but no extra charge).

Cons: We weren't there long enough to shower but the floor and walls of the tub needed a good scrubbing with bleach. Blech If the room was redone, they kept the old bedding and mattresses. I swear the blanket was made of cardboard and burlap. I can't even describe how scratchy it was. The mattress had that old, saggy feeling and anytime you moved it shook the whole bed. There was a whole line of discarded sinks out by the dumpster by parking lot. Really? They couldn't have been taken to the dump or something. The tv was a good size but the picture was dreadful. Sounds trivial, but where is the channel guide?

Bottom line: if you are desperate you could get by if you get a remodeled room. For the price we paid, it wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkiemom19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    63
    94
    67
    77
See reviews for
134
90
35
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is a Super One not a Super Eight.
The 3 D's - Dark Damp and Dingy.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magoo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrisonburg hotels

Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

I would never recommend this hotel. The bathroom shower curtain was filled with mold, the whole room was dimly lit, the hotel smelled, and the atmosphere felt grimy. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jentones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Well on our way back from Georgia to CT, we wanted a place for the night, it was 10 pm, i checked the surrounding hotels, there are quite a few, everyone wanted 100-110 a night. We wanted a safe nights sleep and be on the road early ( 7am) the next day, so for 1/2 the price we stayed here. Its no hilton or marriott but you must keep repeating its only a couple of hours and look how much money we saved. The beds were ok, no bugs as others report, the bathtub for shower seemed like it was about to cave in, but there was plenty of hot water, the breakfast was not cooked to order but the food there was enough to get us bck on the road again quick. The staff at the front desk were very nice also. So all in all for a couple of hours of sleep not a bad place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CtFamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Escaping Hurricane Irene, needed a room-any room. Pro's: pets welcome for a fee, we had 2. Also, had a free continental breakfast. Cons: Beds were HORRIBLE, hard as a rock, no give whatsoever, and one of them slanted down to one corner. Cleanliness left quite a bit to be desired. Staff were brusque. I'm grateful for the shelter for my family but would never come here willingly again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stopped by last year and we didn't even recognize the inside. The renovations were tastefully done. The carpet and wall colors match nicely and the beds were comfortable. I am definitely impressed as it is a mid-grade hotel. The prices have not increased, which is nice and economical. It's definitely a great stop on our trip. The town has developed so much too. Lots of places to eat on the main Harrisonburg exit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camerong12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

We went to harrisonburg for the long weekend and chose this hotel through hotwire.com. Initially I wanted to cancel this booking since I didnt expect that hotwire would put me in this place and came to know the hotel name only after the confirmed booking. I decided to take a chance however and it turned out to be a good bet. We stayed there for two nights and would have stayed one more if we had wanted.

To begin with I went in with low expectations. The room was clean and everything was in working order. Staff was friendly and particularly the owner was a very cool and friendly guy. Being used to staying at Marriott hotels before, I found this place a little cramped, no elevator, breakfast was minimal and mediocre...however, I dont have any complaints since I guess this is standard for the hotel level. Free wifi was good.

Overall I would recommend this hotel if the expectation is for a place to just stay for the night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaveenNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
0.2 mi away
Ramada Harrisonburg
Ramada Harrisonburg
#16 of 23 in Harrisonburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
4.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#13 of 23 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Harrisonburg

Property: Super 8 Harrisonburg
Address: 3330 S Main St, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-2674
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Harrisonburg 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Super 8
Harrisonburg Super Eight
Super Eight Harrisonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing