We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Harrisonburg
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Poorly run hotel”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in the hotel the night after they had some snow. They made almost no effort to clear parking lots. After we took our life in our hands to get to the front desk they blew off my concern about the ice. In the morning, I asked to speak to the manager and was told he/she wasn't there. I emailed the hotel about my concerns and the email address given on the receipt did not work. The hotel room itself was dirty, and routine maintenance was really lacking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank CCROSSROADS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    106
    140
    131
    142
See reviews for
316
92
46
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel is in the process of refurbishing the rooms. I had a room on the 4th floor with a king size bed. (The 4th floor is the 1st floor they have completed). The room was clean and had plenty of room. The hotel provides a free continental breakfast in the morning which was also good. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The hotel is very close to near gas stations and restaurants as well as the university. The only downside is it is also close to I-81. The room I had was on the opposite side of the building and we were still able to hear the road noise. However, it did not affect my ability to get to sleep or awaken me during the night.

Room Tip: The 4th floor was the only floor offering king-size beds and with the hotel very close to I-81 I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BINGHAMTON
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hotel is currently under renovation. We had to call to find out where to enter the hotel.
Staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were pleasant. I did find a used paper napkin in the desk drawer. Average cleanliness otherwise. If you are not used to traffic noise our room was on the side of the highway The noise was loud and consistent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank DONNA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWPORT NEWS
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was thrilled that the Days' Inn was still available for homecoming weekend. I now know why. Renovations are taking place, the hot tub was not in operation, the hallway full of paint/turpentine smells, the room in need of repair. The phone did not work, the bathroom door did not latch, there were "stink" bugs in the room that we had to kill. It was an OK place to lay our head but it was not the best for the price we were paying. The phone was the big thing, we were trying to be in touch with an airline due to the storm and had to use our cell phones.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank whateveryouneed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrisonburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
304 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Harrisonburg
Ramada Harrisonburg
#16 of 22 in Harrisonburg
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#13 of 22 in Harrisonburg
29 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
#12 of 22 in Harrisonburg
178 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
#10 of 22 in Harrisonburg
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Harrisonburg

Property: Days Inn Harrisonburg
Address: 1131 Forest Hill Rd, I-81 & Port Republic Exit 245, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-3369 (Formerly Days Inn James Madison University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Harrisonburg 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn James Madison University Hotel Harrisonburg
Hotel Sites
Harrisonburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing