We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Harrisonburg
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We and my brother-in-laws family stayed there for a night on 1'st January. Considering this, we got an interconnected room. The rooms are very spacious family rooms and the kids ha great fun. The bathroom and the serice area were great. It had a complimentary BF which was just basic..could've been improved. Missed the New Year charm at the place but it has some lovely views to die for!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    107
    140
    132
    142
See reviews for
317
92
46
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2011

My mom, stepdad, and I stayed at days inn in Harrisonburg, VA. Rooms were ok. Pool and spa were nice. Housekeeping was even nice. Front desk service however was very poor. We just needed an extra few hours stay to relocate to an apartment we had just rented a few days earlier. The front desk including the manager were not understanding in the least bit. We paid close to 900 dollars for the stay and yet they were not appreciative. They were very rude and wouldn't even let us remain on the property until our help arrived. I will never stay there again and neither will my family. I thought high of the place initially but now am heavily disappointed in their behavior and service. Please think twice before coming to days inn. Thank you for reading.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatguy2k11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrisonburg hotels

New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Stayed here one night while on a trip from north to south. Exterior looks fine, but the rooms are not fine. Furnished with 80s oak furniture. Stains on upholstery. Aging brass fixtures with touches of rust and dust on top. Scuffs on painted walls. Double beds with cheap mattresses and sheets. Old tv, poor picture. Sad, "generic food" breakfast. Orange juice tastes odd. Served in basement room.

This place might be tolerable for around $45 per night, but they charge quite a bit more. Spend your money elsewhere and get a nicer place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Member98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We didn't make reservations ahead of time so several desired properties were booked with weddings, etc so we opted for this hotel due to the reasonable price. I had stayed there several years back and remembered it as OK. The staff was prompt with our check in and attentive. We got what we paid for. The room was fair, very dated, the faucet knobs in the shower needed to be removed cleaned with clorox (mildew) but the rest of the bathroom was clean. The ceilings in the lobby were low which gave a claustrophobic feel. The exterior doors on the downstairs levels were never locked which was a security concern. The breakfast was dreadful, in a basement room next to the guest laundry (washer and dryer) and hot tub which made the whole floor musty and damp. As I said we got what we paid for and were not in the room except to sleep. Would have preferred somewhere else for sure.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else unless you are really on a tight budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jthompson52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeHampton, Owner at Days Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations for overnight lodging. We strive to offer clean, friendly, hospitable accommodations all at a great value.

I have addresses the housekeeping issues you noted with the staff and actions will be taken to make corrections.

Sorry gain for your less than stellar experience at our hotel. Feel free to contact us for a refund. We hope that you will give us another chance when next your are traveling through Harrisonburg.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I requested a non-smoking, clean room due to severe allergies. They put us in the basement. We had to walked down the hall next to the pool and all you could smell was chlorine. We walked past one room and a big dog started barking very loudly. We opened the door to our room and we were hit with an awful damp, musty odor. The room was awful!! The bathroom door even had rust all over it so you can only imagine how bad it smelled. We checked out of the hotel before we even unpacked our toothbrushes. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marylou E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeHampton, Owner at Days Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We strive to offer our guests the best possible accommodations at a great value each and every night. Clearly, we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us.

We are sorry that we dropped the ball and didn't offer an overnight stay that matched what you expected.

As our guest sauna and indoor pool is located on our first floor, we have received complaints in the past about chemical smells in the guest hallway on this floor. We have taken steps to improve the ventilation and hopefully you will give us another try in the future and let us know if our efforts have helped to reduce these unpleasant odors from the first floor hallway.

Sorry again that your stay was less than perfect.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We were traveling with 3 small pets and this Days Inn is pet friendly. We read about it on the Trip Advisor. We had a very good rate, and they only charged a $10 pet fee (total). The rooms are very nice (inside corridors), the beds were great. The room had a refrigerator, was non smoking, etc. The grounds were beautiful, and we enjoyed driving in the pretty neighborhood nearby. The motel is nicely landscaped, especially on one side of the motel there was a fountain and beautiful plantings around it. The woman on duty when we checked in during the afternoon could not have been more friendly or helpful. However, the man and woman on duty later on (I don't remember if it was evening or the next morning) ignored people unless they were spoken to. My disabled mother was walking back from breakfast, and no one offered to help her (I was packing the car). I would not keep this from staying at the hotel again. I am reporting this to Days Inn, however. All in all, it's a clean bright Days Inn, much nicer than many people think of Days Inn. I would highly recommend staying here. (We did not use it, but they also had a gym there).

Room Tip: make reservations, you get a better rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danni90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeHampton, Owner at Days Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is good to hear that we met your expectations for value, cleanliness, and over condition. Obviously, I am disappointed by the experience you had with the staff's lack of attentiveness, especially to your disabled mother. I assure you that I will address this mater with the guest service agents and we will endevour to exceed your expectations for service the next time you visit.

Thank you again, we look forward to serving you the next time you visit Harrisonburg.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Very convenient to JMU. Breakfast needs some work.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for discounts...AAA or Am Ex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaseballGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeHampton, Owner at Days Inn Harrisonburg, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
It is a pleasure to hear that your stay with us at the Days Inn Harrisonburg met your expectations. I will be sure to compliment the housekeeping staff about the room cleanliness. We'll take you suggestion about the breakfast to heart and try and take it up a notch.

We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Harrisonburg next time for a baseball game. Go Dukes!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
306 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Harrisonburg
Ramada Harrisonburg
#16 of 22 in Harrisonburg
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#13 of 22 in Harrisonburg
30 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
Comfort Inn Harrisonburg
#10 of 22 in Harrisonburg
257 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Harrisonburg

Property: Days Inn Harrisonburg
Address: 1131 Forest Hill Rd, I-81 & Port Republic Exit 245, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-3369 (Formerly Days Inn James Madison University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Harrisonburg 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn James Madison University Hotel Harrisonburg
Hotel Sites
Harrisonburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing