We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find while traveling through”

Local Chop and Grill House
Reserve with OpenTable
Local Chop and Grill House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 253 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Noll
Description: Massive wooden door, old bricks and rustic beams of Harrisonburg's old City Produce Exchange building, the perfect setting for a memorable dining experience at The LOCAL Chop & Grill House. Bring your friends and savor the atmosphere, food and drink that set us apart from other restaurants. Our menu features fresh, hand-selected, LOCAL and seasonal foods prepared with a progressive flair by Chef Brian Bogan. Farm to Table is the mainstay of our eating philosophy. That's why we work with community food producers to support organic, sustainable, LOCAL farms, and put the finest, freshest foods on the table for you. We're serious about making choices that are environmentally sound, from the food we carefully hand-select to the aprons our kitchen and wait staff wear. Casual and fun, The LOCAL Chop & Grill House brings you world-class dining with a decidedly LOCAL flavor.
charlotte nc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find while traveling through”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Found this spot while driving north on I81 to Maryland. In an old warehouse. Very well done. Food was very good, but you had better love meat. There were a couple of veggie choices. We sat outdoors on the patio with our dog! Very accommodating. The pork chop was juicy and my wife's hamburger was prepared to temperature - rare. Very tasty and juicy. The wine list was quite nice and moderately priced.
It on our list to visit on our next trip through town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hidden-mountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    79
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Steaks and Scallops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

One of the top restaurants in Harrisonburg! You can't go wrong here with a steak and the scallops are superb. We love the atmosphere. Service is always outstanding.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All-around great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you're looking for an "adult but not too fancy" place to have a nice night out for dinner, or would just like to grab a few drinks and listen to some good music, the Local is it. The bartenders are phenomenal, the service is excellent, and the food is decadent. Head to the bar for more casual atmosphere, or if you're celebrating or perhaps trying to impress a date, be sure to reserve a table in the main restaurant. I have never had a bad night there!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unexpected treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

No wonder this is #1 in Harrisonburg. Great food, good value in an interesting repurposed building. The inside was a pleasant surprise and, although it was very crowded even on a Tuesday night, it was not loud. Excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alice_lenthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife has wanted to go here for quite some time. So I made reservations for her birthday. When I called and talked with the young lady, I knew we were in for something special. We arrived 20 minutes early and made our way to the bar. The bar tender was friendly and the bar was packed. We tried an assortment of specialty cocktails and they were all delicious and flavorful. My favorite was the blueberry mojito. At 7pm we were seated outside as the weather was nearly perfect. We were promptly greeted by our waiter and he explained the restaurant and the specials that evening. We stepped outside the box and ordered the appetizer special of grilled cantaloupe with prosciutto and arugula. It was really good and better than what we thought. For dinner, my wife had scallops that were huge along with asparagus and mushroom risotto. Every bite she had came with “WOW” attached to the end. I ordered the new York strip medium rare and they did an outstanding job cooking to order. I also had the asparagus with mac and cheese where were both great. For dessert we split the flourless chocolate cake and it came out with “Happy Birthday” written in chocolate sauce. A great touch that ended the evening on a great note!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SkunkyWunky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Chop and Grill House also viewed

 

Been to Local Chop and Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing