We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clementine Cafe

Clementine Cafe
Ranked #5 of 252 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Clementine is located in a revitalized downtown in Harrisonburg, Va. We offer regional local cuisine with unique and creative dishes. Clementine is open everyday for lunch and dinner and Sundays for brunch. Clementine has regional music Thursadys, Fridays and Saturdays starting at 9:30pm. Clementine boasts an urban decor with ever changing artwork and exhibits.
Level Contributor
207 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The dining room is very cute. Artwork throughout. The staff was efficient. The food was average at best. The fish was overwhelmed with the crusting. So much so that the flavor of the fish could not be tasted. The salads are large but no unusual flavors. Nothing to set them apart from any other restaurant. The quantity of food was very sufficient. The cost is not excessive. There was nothing in our choices that would make me run back saying "I must have the ... again".

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YBtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    189
    54
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“cute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

really cute place. they have art on the wall for sale. we ordered shrimp and grits for appetizer and it was DELICIOUS. the waitress said the main course steak is a large portion, but it really was not. the dessert we ordered was very good. the coffee is weak though. don't forget to bring your receipt from their sister restaurants for 10% off your bill (hank's or thunderbird cafe).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Reliable downtown eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This smallish place serves innovative dishes, at prices a little above comparables in town. (That's true in our experience of all of Hank's eateries - this one, Hank's Barbecue, and the Thunderbird Cafe.) We usually eat here at noon, so don't know about the entertainment, that Clementine's often has in the evening. It's a very dependable place to have a good meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank allanC39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
767 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
“Clearly, We Ordered the Wrong Things..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Three of us ate at Clementine last night. The atmosphere is wonderful--feels like an old-time place, but with contemporary art on the walls. We'd read the positive reviews on TA and looked forward to the experience, but overall were disappointed. The service was good, not overly friendly, but efficient and timely.
We had a black bean burger at the recommendation of the server--it had absolutely no seasoning or flavor. We all agreed that it was among the worst we've had. My wife had an individual pizza special and we ate all of it and enjoyed it. My mother in law had a bacon/avocado sandwich on a large roll and it was mostly bread. The flavor was fine, but just not enough ingredients to make it tasty. We enjoyed the home cut potato chips. The salads were fine.
There must be better food at this place to justify all the great reviews--I'm disappointed that we didn't select those items. My hint: do NOT order the black bean burger, even if the server says it's great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DEE-LISH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit thanks to our hotel hostess, who recommended it. Started with a wonderful hummus appetizer and martinis. Salmon with black rice, Steak medallions with mushroom reduction and Tri-tips Steak with mushrooms were all fabulous. Finished with Mint Chocolate cake....yum. Mandy, our waitress, was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. Excellent!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clementine Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Clementine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing