We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Option if you are in Hburg for more than one night.”
Review of Clementine Cafe

Clementine Cafe
Ranked #6 of 260 Restaurants in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Clementine is located in a revitalized downtown in Harrisonburg, Va. We offer regional local cuisine with unique and creative dishes. Clementine is open everyday for lunch and dinner and Sundays for brunch. Clementine has regional music Thursadys, Fridays and Saturdays starting at 9:30pm. Clementine boasts an urban decor with ever changing artwork and exhibits.
Washington D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Option if you are in Hburg for more than one night.”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We went to the Clementine Cafe for dinner one night at the recommendation of several local residents. We arrived without reservations around 7:00 on a weekend night and had to wait 10-20 min (not too bad). The downstairs lounge where we waited definitely had a loungey/bar vibe; pretty bare bones, but you could order appetizers off the main menu at the bar.

The menu was extremely eclectic - I got the coconut chicken curry, my husband a bbq chicken pizza. Both were good, but the curry really stood out. It is a live music venue so we caught the main band warming up -- blue grass/country vibe. We did not stay for the main show.

On the whole it was a nice time, but I can't say there was anything that was extremely remarkable or memorable. A good choice lunch or dinner if you are in Harrisonburg for multiple nights.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cahillgoecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    198
    58
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Funky Spot in Downtown Harrisonburg with Great Food!”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

On the strength of favorable TripAdvisor reviews, we stopped in for a late lunch on a drive down I-81 on a hot Saturday in August. We enjoyed the personal-size pizza of the day, turkey-avacado-bacon sandwich, black bean veggie burger, and special house-made lemonade -- all delicious. Most lunch items came with house-fried chips, but upgrades to a range of other sides are possible for $1. We chose side salads and thought it well worth it. Service was prompt, and staff was friendly and welcoming. Four us of had lunch for $52, tax and tip included -- a bargain for such great food!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfka2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Cool vibe, great food and service, noisy”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I recently ate at Clementine for the second time. The bacon and avocado burgers were great, as were the cheese grits. The staff were able to change their pizza special for the evening to match the dietary needs of one member of our party. The gallery-like vibe was very cool. My only complaint was that the music was so loud, it was difficult to have a conversation. This restaurant provided a great experience in downtown Harrisonburg.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NC_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“makes me want to move to Harrisonburg rather than just visit”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

we own a timeshare just outside of Harrisonburg. We live about 4 hours away in Pennsylvania, but make it down once or twice a year for about a week's time just to get away and relax.

Even though there are dozens of places to go eat, and there's always someplace new to try, we make certain that we get to Clementine at least once. The menu is always changing, and is always good. The prices are always extremely reasonable, every so often you'll run across an appetizer or dessert it seems slightly overpriced, but appetizers and desserts are always overpriced! There is currently to choose from no matter what you like, whether it's something spicy, mild, vegetables, chicken, seafood, steak that tastes great to you.

They have a full bar, decent selection of liquors, and a really great beer menu. They have some microbrews from all over, so if you're looking for your favorite they will probably have it, and if you're looking for something you've never tried before, they will most definitely have it.

It can get a little crowded upstairs around dinnertime, but the service does an amazing job of keeping up with everybody regardless of how busy it gets.

They also frequently feature live music in the evening, saw one of the best small club blues performances I've ever seen at Clementine (Eli Cook). There is usually a cover charge if you're staying for the music, but it's only a couple or $3 from what I've seen and it's always been more than worth it.

Overall, we've never had a bad experience, we've always come away happy and look forward to going back again as soon as we can

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blaslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food with a more City Chic Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Celementines is one of my favorite places to eat in Harrisonburg. It has been one of the many great restaurants to come to Downtown as part of the revitalization, and does not dissapoint with it's artsy/city like atmosphere and wonderful food. The portions are good sized... enough to fill you up but not feel like you have to roll out the door. I especially love their Sunday Brunch, and the Eggs Clementine. The prices are also really reasonable, especailly for the level of service and quality of food. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMUGradMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clementine Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Clementine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing