We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great variety”
Review of Taphouse

Taphouse
Ranked #22 of 303 Restaurants in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Deer Park
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great variety”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

if you want to try some local different brews this is the place to go and do some sampling. They also have a sunday brunch that is very reasonable with bloody marys. check it out.
Beware of the bar maids, their customer service is terrible, and they appear to be smoking something other then e- cigs...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mulemobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    57
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good beer selection and food in Hampton”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Went here for dinner and sat upstairs where the stage was. No band was playing, so it was pretty quiet. The beer selection was extensive and we ordered pub grub, which was very good. This place has a nice vibe and I only regret not making it out this way when I was living in Norfolk.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Character”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This place has alot of character and an excellent beer selection as well. The service is exceptional.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank edward d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lazy Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Between the $1 spicy (with a serious kick) bloody mary's, the delicious French toast, and the cool little "downtown" Hampton district that even as a local to the HR area, I have never really explored, this place was great for a lazy Sunday brunch. While their menu lacked any superbly healthy choices, this sure would be one great place to hit up after a night out!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best Crab Cake Sandwich I ever had”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I went to the Taphouse on Friday night with a group of colleagues and we arrived around 6:45 to find the place packed. We were able to get a tall table next to the door but our server soon offered to move us to a booth that was being vacated. Our server was very good at helping us make our beer selections (since there are many, many from which to choose) and she also helped with food selections. In fact, there was no hesitation at all on her part when asked the best thing on the menu and that was what I ordered - the crab cake sandwich. This sandwich came with a generous chunk of solid crab meat that was luscious! Others in my party enjoyed their salmon dinner, Mediterranean salad with salmon, and a large pasta dish. We also ordered 2 desserts to share at our table which were also quite delectable. The place was very noisy but we enjoyed the food and didn't mind. Would definitely go again and recommend to others.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing