We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrid service!”
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #58 of 302 Restaurants in Hampton
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Kaiserslautern, Germany
1 review
“Horrid service!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Get it to go if you want Joe's!!!!! We went on a Tuesday night to not get into crazy dinner rush & inconvenience others with a crying toddler. BAD idea! Their D-Team was so off point, Hooter's service was sounding great! Maybe the waitress assumed those with kids don't tip anyway, but this former waitress was not happy with multiple trips to the bar for tea! When I found a way to get a tea pitcher for refill; she shows up, fills the drinks with MY pitcher & runs off as I loudly protest to use MY pitcher on HER tables! Poor & lazy to say the least!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne4nra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    47
    43
    29
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice dinner”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

nice dinner, but don't get the sweet potatoe fries! they choked me! Dry and burned. The kids meals were good though. Great play area for the kids, but it was raining so they couldn't enjoy it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank avirtuelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, too expensive, not fresh”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Why go to a chain restaurant that has all of its foods prefrozen and shipped when you are in an area where a local restaurant goes to a dock and picks up REAL fresh catches for the day? I grew up in Hampton and was forced to go here once. The food was good but too expensive for what you get especially when I can go elsewhere and get fresh, local seafood for less.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Customer service needs work”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My server was too busy being personable and not enough time making sure I was appeased. Salad arrived, but not silverware to eat it with. No drink bought to table hd to ask another server for drink (ice tea) and silverware. Food finally arrived after I inquired about tardness (more than 25 minute wait). Manager apologiized, but meal was spoiled.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank slaughterhousecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food and views”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The resturant s a local faverite, Right out over the James River. Great food and Beer. Nice sunsets over the river. worth the trip.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JBrownVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing