We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the sauces - try all 6 and see which is your fave!”

County Grill & Smokehouse
Ranked #1 of 303 Restaurants in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love the sauces - try all 6 and see which is your fave!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Visiting family in Hampton and thought I would try this place out based on all of the good reviews I read. I have to say I was actually fairly pleasantly surprised!

The location is a bit odd, but off a main street, so not hard to find and is very large, they look to have bands on the weekends too, so possibly a good place to try out in the evening. We had lunch there and the food, while a bit higher priced than I had expected, it was very good!

Our server was fine, nothing remarkable, a little slow if anything, but friendly enough. I was a bit annoyed that there was a surcharge for a side substitution when the side was listed on the menu at the same price point of the ones being offered, but no huge deal.

They had some good beers on tap and their sandwiches were very good, as was the cornbread they offered with the meal. The best part was definitely the 6 different barbecue sauces in varying styles there on the table for you to enjoy. All 6 were good, some better than others, but this is based mainly on taste, which is why it is nice that they have so many choices! There should be something for everyone.

Check it out if you get the chance!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    105
    24
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
923 reviews
411 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“A Real BBQ Restaurant”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a place, a real southern BBQ restaurant. Great atmosphere, great music, nice decoration, friendly waitress named Kaleigh. On the table you'll find a box with 6 different sauces to match your taste. We tried them all, and our winner was the Kansas City sauce! There is a huge selection of beer for Each day. 26 craft beers on tap- and it was Monday evening...I wonder how much do they have on weekends. I ordered the half rack of baby back ribs, they were as good as expected! My husband took the steak and shrimp combo, and enjoyed it a lot. The wall decoration was awesome! You really get a good energy vibe while dining at County Grill BBQ.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon_zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy BBQ”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

They know how to do BBq, Very good brisket sandwich , ribs are tender sauces are great but not needed, it is a little load but that's OK it make room for people watching

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KookinKraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and service!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My fiance and I are vactioning in VA and are staying in Hampton. I googled resturants and this place came up. Let me just say how happy I am that it did! This place had wonderful food large portions for a great price! The atmosphere was nice and comfortable and our waitress Mary was great! The manager Guy even came over to our table to see how everything was and talked to us about other attractions we might be interested in based on our interest. We definitely plan on going back here another time before we leave and highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great bbq and dining experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dina426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A local favorite”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Large portions at reasonable prices. Great BBQ w/ variety of sauces at your table. Interesting and unique beer list. I agree w/ one of the previous reviews, it can get very loud when it's busy - hard to carry on a conversation. It's packed on Wednesday nights - ladies night I think. Great local place w/ consistently good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JANDC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed County Grill & Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to County Grill & Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing