We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local favorite”

County Grill & Smokehouse
Ranked #1 of 302 Restaurants in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A local favorite”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Large portions at reasonable prices. Great BBQ w/ variety of sauces at your table. Interesting and unique beer list. I agree w/ one of the previous reviews, it can get very loud when it's busy - hard to carry on a conversation. It's packed on Wednesday nights - ladies night I think. Great local place w/ consistently good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JANDC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    99
    24
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“yum”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very good bar be que , great prices, though the server seemed new and inexperienced. He was nice and eager though. The place is quite loud so conversation suffered. We would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“My favorite BBQ place in Hampton Roads”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

First and foremost this is a great bar with a large selection of outstanding draft beers. This makes $1 drafts on Wednesday night very special. Their wings are very creative and special and occasionally $1 per order also. The food goes beyond bar food. I will strongly recommend: County Grill salad, roasted salmon, ribs, burger, brisket and pulled pork. I especially like their sides like collards and onion rings. I think I want to go tonight. There is another one in Yorktown.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dean-ATL-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Prime Rib!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited last Sunday after church and took advantage of the Prime Rib Special. Got the Queen cut and it was huge. Very tender and flavorful. Could not eat it all so had it again for lunch the next day. The baked potato was large as well and cooked perfectly. Very reasonably priced for the amount of food you get. Service was good as well even though the restaurant was busy. Also got the banana pudding which is made to order and takes about 20 minutes o prepare so make sure you order it when placing your food order. And you definitely want banana pudding. It comes warm and with merenge about 3 inches tall. YUM YUM
The only downside is that the restuarant is a little noisy what with the conversations, the TV playing and the P.A. music all going on . Otherwise, a great place to eat!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Awesome, awesome real deal BBQ!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My brother and his family live in Hampton, so we go to the County Grill everytime we visit. I LOVE their BBQ - it is all so well done and the sauces are delicious! Sure it's a little loud and boistrous but it's a BBQ joint not a fancy restaurant. The beer selection is always great and they have specials that are awesome in addition to the great menu. The coleslaw is the best I've had, minced very small and not too saucy. The warm potato salad is sensational - cheesy and delicious. I love their smoked sausage, pulled pork, brisket and chicken equally, all are delicious! Get a sampler platter and bring some home!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silverinc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed County Grill & Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to County Grill & Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing