We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but cold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Hampton
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good stay but cold”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with volleyball team for tournament. Staff was mostly accommodating but wouldn't let us keep luggage in storage. Also 3 rd floor hallway was an ice box with a breeze you could feel. Was told they though a guest had their window open but they couldn't enter the room because of a home made (post it note) saying do not disturb. Ridiculous!!! Thankfully room was warm.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Phil335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Hampton, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Phil335:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback at the hotel. I apologize that another guest incovenienced you during your stay. I trust that everything else was just fine with your stay. I do hope that if you have another sporting event or any other reason to visit Hampton that you do choose to stay with us again.

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    64
    49
    30
    18
See reviews for
94
30
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

There's a reason the rates were so low at this hotel. The staff had no training. They were incapable of allowing me to pay for the room with a Marriott gift card. When they figured it out, they overcharged me by $29.00. One elevator was broken. The television and Internet was unusable. Channels were on and then off. I've had better dial up Internet. When I reported problems, the staff just said they would see what they could do. Apparently, there was nothing they could (or would) do.

Two days later I called the hotel to get the name of the GM in order to write a letter of complaint. I was given a name and I wrote the letter. Two days after the letter was sent, I got an email from them and the first thing they told me was that the person I was told was the GM wasn't the GM. Instead of refunding my overcharge, they offered points or a free stay. I still don't have my money and never will.

I travel about 40 weeks a year. I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Hampton, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Carl:

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay with us. I am currently the new manager at the hotel and have just arrived on scene. Please feel free to reach out to me so that I may try to correct this billing issue to your satisfaction. We value our guests and strive daily to make our guests feel welcome and appreciated. But it seems we fell short. Please give me a call if you like at 757-310-6333.

Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here 10/31-11/5 while visiting family in Hampton. Large, open lobby area made us feel welcome. The king suite was just right for our needs. Indoor pool, and exercise room too! Could use better signage on Power Plant Pkwy. Convenient parking. Breakfast options were excellent. Liked the serving area separate from seating. Would have appreciated a newspaper on the weekend. Very convenient to everything we needed. Coliseum, convention center, food, shopping, interstate, military bases, etc. Will be our first choice for future visits.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My stay was the worst I have ever experienced! My first room had a bug in the sheets that were in the closet for the pull out bed (I was not using the pull out but moving the sheets to place an item on the top rack) and the floor had not been vaccumed at all and had toe nails and hair everywhere...just nasty.They moved me and my second room was a little better. My blanket, towels and wash cloths ALL felt like sandpaper. My pillows were 4 small half pillows that were worn out full sized pillows that they stuffed in a reg. pillowcase and tucked it in half hence makeing a half pillow. I have never seen that done in a hotel. All of the sheets, towels, wash cloths, handtowels and a top sheet had stains on them and were SO DINGY that I ended up going to buy my own towels and wash clothes. The ws were paper thin and the tv remote didnt work. My advise...don't stay there.
But the 3-11 front desk ladies were very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDB814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_S_Hunt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Hampton, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear valued guest, thank you for taking the time to review the SpringHill Suites Hampton. I am sorry I did not get a chance to speak to you during your stay but as I stated to you the associate and I are working hard to succeed all our guest needs during their stay. I hope the next time your in the Hampton Roads area you give the SpringHill Suites Hampton another opportunity to fulfill your travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moseley, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed her on a Saturday for an event. Place was larger than I expected with conference room facilities. Nice, clean room. Breakfast even had eggs as well as biscuits and gravy. Can't complain about a thing. Wish it had a lounge but the Hampton Garden Inn across the parking lot did so no big deal.

Room Tip: Higher up floors where extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DouglasA902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a wedding at the end of September. I checked in late and the desk clerk Justin was my first impression. Not only was he knowledgeable about local hot spots, but he was also very friendly. This was an amazing hotel and I will definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 62786JTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_S_Hunt, Manager at SpringHill Suites Hampton, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued customers and appreciate your patronage. We greatly appreciate your recognition of our evening desk clerk, Justin. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The room was nice and spacious. Very clean too minus a stain on the couch. My problem was the people on our floor were very noisy. I was in town to run a half marathon and was not happy with being woken up with party goers. Our air conditioner also sounded like a jet engine. Very disappointing. If you like sleep, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_S_Hunt, Manager at SpringHill Suites Hampton, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Rebecca E,

Thank you very much for your feeback and I am very sorry that you could not sleep very well during your stay with us, we did have quite a few guests staying with us that were participating in the Marathon. Again, we are terribly sorry that your experience with us was not a good one, but invite you to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
2.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hampton-Newport News
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Hampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Hampton

Property: SpringHill Suites Hampton
Address: 1997 Power Plant Pkwy, Hampton, VA 23666-3157 (Formerly Springhill Suites Hampton Coliseum)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Hampton 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springhill Suites Hampton, VA is a great choice when visiting Hampton Roads. Complimentary healthy breakfast buffet, wireless internet throughout the hotel and parking. You will be close shopping and Hampton Coliseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Hampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Hampton Coliseum Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing