We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Magnolia House is absolutely lovely, exquisite, comfortable..very special! l” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
1 review
“The Magnolia House is absolutely lovely, exquisite, comfortable..very special! l”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

We spent our 11th wedding anniversary as guests at the Magnolia House Bed & Breakfast in Hampton, Virginia. What an EXCELLENT choice! We were greeted with beautiful surrounding....each area was incredibly, tastefully decorated...so very beautiful but very personable. The owners are the nicest people anyone would ever want to meet. They made us feel very special and cared for. We had so many nice, unexpected surprises. When we first got to our room, there was a "Happy Anniversary" card. We were served champagne and delicious cake in the evening. Then when we got back to the room, we found another bottle of champagne on ice, glasses, and chocolates. We had the best time. Everything that we needed (and more) was provided. A full breakfast was served. It was delicious! There is really no way to tell it...just go and see for yourself. The surroundings and the service is unmatched. We highly recommend the Magnolia House in Hampton, Virginia.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank hinton0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
70
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

This is a perfect romantic escape B&B.The Magnolia House was elegant and spacious with all the quality comforts and details that make it feel like a special getaway. My husband and I spent an extended weekend there celebrating our anniversary in the Ellington Suite. We had tickets for a performance at the wonderful local Hampton Arts Theatre, and I saw this B&B on this site.
Our hosts went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed and liked. Morning's started with Joyce's incredible candle lit full breakfasts.There were thoughtful suggestions ,special touches and surprises each day. It really felt like a second mini honeymoon.
If you like privacy, an uncongested location , with access to water activities,bikes to ride , evening sails and nearby dining diversity this is a great location. Williamsburg was an easy drive for a day trip, and there were concerts in Norfolk. But we really just enjoyed lounging in our elegant room with the jazz cds and hot tub.
I could see this being a great place for a special occasion gathering with the gracious porch and flow through downstairs rooms. Joyce has a commercial kitchen and all the tasteful serve ware to impress your guests.
I know how hard I looked to find a place like this locally for my small wedding years ago.
We will look forward to our travels taking us that way so we have an excuse to stay there again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank SelectiveTraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mooresville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2007

We had a wonderful time with Joyce and Lankford. Great hosts. The rooms were done very nice. Just the place for a little R/R
Excellent breakfasts, with excellent breakfast partners. Already looking forward to next visit. The Benyons Mooresville NC

  • Liked — the treatment received from the hosts
  • Disliked — ...
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mooresvillejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

We booked our trip to Hampton, VA at the last minute. We searched the internet for B & B's in the vicinity of Virginia Beach and Williamsburg, and this turned out to be the perfect location. This home is a little off the beaten path, but a great central location if you want to do a lot of exploring like we did. When our hosts Joyce and Lankford warmly greeted us upon our arrival, we were in awe of our gorgeous surroundings. This home is a jewel. They have put their heart and sole into creating the most magnificient B & B we have ever stayed at. We didn't know where to look first. The gorgeous furniture, warm wallcoverings, rugs, and unbelieveable decorative art pieces everywhere! Our guest room was beautifully decorated, warm, cozy and so relaxing. The bathroom was newly remodeled, and we were provided plush robes and great bath and shower products. We stayed for 3 nights, and had delicious breakfasts each morning. Joyce or Lankford was around each morning to answer any questions and provide us with everything we needed. We told them we were traveling to Williamsburg the next day, and when we returned we found many brochures on our bed, to prepare us for our next day's adventure. We were provided with a huge beach bag of towels and a blanket for our day at the beach. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. I would highly recommend the Magnolia House to anyone visiting the Hampton, VA area. You will be pleased beyond your wildest dreams, and will also have the pleasure of meeting one of the nicest couples. We can't wait to return one day.
Jodi and Alan
Cleveland, OH

  • Liked — the warmth of the B & B owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcb1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayetteville, nc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2007

Outstanding experience. We were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary. In those instances we like to get away to a cozy place. MH provided that and more. It has outstanding ambience. The owners have gone to great pains to decorate and furnish the place in outstanding taste. The smells that canvas the place are the best we've ever experience. The experience was very intimate. We had opportunities to sat down and interact with the ownwers at our leisure. They were attentive, helpful, and extremely pleasant while not impeding our agenda or time. Good snacks and a well stocked refrigerator. Breakfast was very delicious. Location is only blocks from downtown eating and shopping, a couple of miles from Hampton University and approximately three miles from the interstate that can take you throghout the Hampton Roads area. BOTTOMLINE: This was the type of experience that a B&B is expected to deliver!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank bma1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2006

Christmas was made even more perfect in 2006 when we visited Hampton, VA. Every morning we began with the most wonderful breakfasts prepared and served by the innkeepers.

The Magnolia House was clean and comfortable. The food was so good. We really enjoyed being at the Magnolia House B & B.
Joyce and Lankford were there to take care of any need. It was really a pleasant experience. We can't wait to return,.

Beth from Massachusetts

  • Liked — Beautifully restored Victorian B and B
  • Disliked — I loved everything about the Magnolia House B & B in Hampton, VA
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hampton
SpringHill Suites Hampton
#10 of 26 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.7 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Of Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House Inn

Property: Magnolia House Inn
Address: 232 S Armistead Ave, Hampton, VA 23669-4103
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of comfort and hospitality, the Magnolia House of Hampton offers a unique business or leisure lodging experience & The Wedding Chapel, that seats up to 20 guests. The well-appointed parlors and guestrooms (2 queens, 1 king suite) are minutes away from Hampton University, Langley Air Force Base, Nasa Langley Research Center, Williamsburg, Virginia Beach, Norfolk, Newport News and Yorktown. Entertainment, restaurants, & museums make Hampton, Virginia a great place to visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia House Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing