We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Food, Great Views, Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf Rider Restaurant

Surf Rider Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 296 Restaurants in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome Food, Great Views, Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you like good seafood, you will love Surf Rider. Located in the local yacht club the view is very romantic. You can get a variety of fried seafood to great tuna steaks. It is a little pricey but the portion sizes are HUGE. I ordered the scallop meal and received so many scallops that I could not even finish them! My boy friend ordered the Mahi Mahi steak and it was delicious. I have lived in Hampton for 20 years and I come to this restaurant every time I come back to visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nichole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    138
    49
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“On the loud side”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We visit the Surf rider in hampton. Best crab cakes around. Service is quick and friendly. The acoustics make it very hard to carry on a conversation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was one of the best seafood restaurants I have eaten at in years! The food was fresh, hot and tasty!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had a group of 11. We were seated immediately. Great service and great seafood. We all enjoyed our food. Crab legs, seafood Alfredo, seafood broiled platter, crab cakes and fried shrimp and even chicken platter , and shrimp pot were large portions. We ate after a full day at Busch gardens Williamsburg headed back to Virginia beach.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vondere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Many say they have the best crabcakes, This place does!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

In the Chesapeake Bay area, where crab (blue she-crab) is king/queen?, there are many fans and many choices. Having lived for awhile in Baltimore, I can attest to this particular restaurant as having only close competition, but nobody topples Surf Rider. The atmosphere is so-so, but the real major attraction are the crabcakes. No filler, nothing to contaminate the marvelous taste of pure lump crabmeat. All you fans of crabcakes, you have something at last that stands alone atop the crowd. I asked the owner/cook about his recipe: he simply said that which was obvious...he uses the freshest and best crabmeat and NO filler. Simple and elegant. Go and feast; you will be surprised at the way you and a partner can make an entire supper out of sharing one order (two cakes) of this endlessly enjoyable taste sensation.

If you are really hungry, skip the other sides dishes and starters and go for the Hot Crab Dip. You won't be sorry.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Rider Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Surf Rider Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing