We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood on Sunset creek”

Surf Rider Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 298 Restaurants in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great seafood on Sunset creek”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Crabcakes, Backfin crabmeat, shrimp (steamed or fried) and Scallops are always very fresh and tasty. Fried flounder is not on the menu, but is often listed on the menu board specials. Don't miss it! I find the starter menu the best bang for the buck. The Caesar salad topped with a crabcake makes a great lunch entree at a very reasonable price. The same is true of the starter serving of the Backfin crabmeat. This is a lively restaurant with the noise of people enjoying their food and friends. Think neighborhood bistro. If you like your dining experience to be quiet like a morgue, Surfrider is not for you... And the amazing Broccoli counts as 2 sides. The best approach is to share.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HamptonJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    142
    49
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“If cash isn't an issue, this may be the best place for seafood in Hampton Roads”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

It's a bit pricey and it is generally packed, but Surf Rider consistently serves some of the tastiest seafood offerings in SE Virginia. The portions are sufficient to fill you up and you definitely get your money's worth. As for a recommendation -- open menu and choose anything! This is one place where it really is . . . "All Good!!!"

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank duffpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Go for the view”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Their crab cakes are excellent and the rest of the menu average. The view is excellent. Wine choices poor. Umbrella drinks are available. The location in Poquoson has an even better view.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dean-ATL-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Crabcakes”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I am a seafood lover and have been up and down the Chesapeake Bay sampling seafood. I would have to say out of all the seafood restaurants I have visited, the Surf Rider has the best crab cakes. They are full of fresh lump crab meat. There is very little filler...just enough to hold them together. They aren't overpowered with Old Bay. A must have for crab lovers.
The fried shrimp are colossal, perfectly fried, and are firm and full of flavor. The hushpuppies were good too...not greasy and fried to perfection. The coleslaw was the only disappointment. It was too bland. A little vinegar and sugar would enhance it.
The service was good and the restaurant was clean. I would highly recommend this restaurant for those seeking the perfect crabcake or flavorful friend shrimp. Yum, yum.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank urlookingood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painted Post, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fire the manager!!!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Went to this restaurant with a party of 15. It was a rehearsal dinner for my daughter and my son-in-law. Needless to stay that the manager of this restaurant must be the owners relative, because there is no way in heck anyone else would hire him. Lets just say August 17 was the worst evening in my life. The manager refused to seat us together after a 2 hr wait, even though there were tables for us. I can't imagine anybody working in the "hospitality" field and be so down right rude. Run people away from this place, or you will be at the mercy of this prima dona and his special " mood for the day. " I traveled 12 hours from New York to Virginia - were was that southern hospitality everybody talks about ? It is NOT here, gratefully there were other great places instead.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Rider Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Surf Rider Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing