We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service and expired food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed at Embassy Suites this past weekend for a convention and from the moment we arrived the service was terrible. As a hotel employee myself, I was completely appalled by how they were treating guests. The front desk staff was rude and abrasive on Friday when we checked in, and the restaurant hardly paid attention to their guests at all. We saw our server a gran total of 3 times, when he delivered our water and took our order, when he dropped off our food, and when he dropped the checks. He never bothered asking us how we were doing, if we needed refills, absolutely nothing. I've never received such rude service in a restaurant. But the worst part was definitely finding out that they were serving individual yogurts that had expired on Oct 25, more than a week before the day we got them. I'm glad I checked the label before I ate it. Myself and two other friends of mine got very ill after eating the creme brulee in the restaurant as well, and I suspect it might be because more things in their kitchen is expired. I wouldn't stay here again even if it is convenient. The housekeeping staff taking care of the fifth floor however was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyHampton, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Jennifer H,

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are sorry for all of the inconvenience you encountered during your time with us. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience and your satisfaction is very important to us. We were pleased to hear that you had a pleasant encounter with our housekeeping staff on the fifth floor. Thank you again for your feedback which we will share with our team and we hope you will consider giving us another chance.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

913 - 919 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel has great rooms with plenty of space for a week business trip in Hampton. I must eat Gluten Free so it was nice to have a room with a fridge and area to keep some GF food I brought with me. Also, every night there is a Managers Reception which includes free drinks from 5pm-7pm, or there abouts, including wine and liquor. If you should possibly have one or two or five too many drink and then, say, possibly lose your cell phone and debit card; the front desk staff is great. They returned both my cell phone (found in the lobby) and my debit card (you guessed it, left at the bar). I will be staying at this hotel whenever I need to travel to Hampton. However, don't let the threat of a drunk business person from Northern VA keep you from staying here. First of all, I don't go there that often, and secondly, after grinding through the next day of work I have a strict drink limit at the Managers Reception.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Shaggy159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyHampton, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Marcus N,

Thank you for your positive review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our complimentary Evening Reception which does take place nightly from 5:30-7:30pm. It was nice to hear that our team members were helpful in locating your missing items and that your suite accomodated your gluten-free needs. Thanks again for your nice comments and we hope to see you again soon for your next visit to Hampton, Virginia!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My mom and I stayed in the early part of the summer as a little weekend getaway. We were able to take advantage of the manager's reception and the spa and even were able to explore downtown thanks to the bid bus. The room was nicely decorated and clean and the beds are SO comfortable! It was the perfect little staycation!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacKenzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyHampton, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear MacKenzie H,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with our hotel! It was nice to hear you enjoyed our complimentary Evening Reception and were also able to take advantage of our on-site Spa Botanica. We hope to see you back here soon for your next visit!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

An amazing job by the whole Embassy suites staff. Michelle at the front desk was so helpful at check in. We loved our room with the view of the Mothership. The staff handled the very busy weekend with fun and grace. The housekeeping staff kept up with the rush well providing privacy when requested and towels when needed. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. WE LOVE HAMPTON!!!!!

Room Tip: Request room in front with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuckyMeFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyHampton, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear LuckyMeFLA,

Thank you for your positive review! It was nice to hear you had such a great experience with many of our team members. We will be sure to share your comments with them. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My company held a small event there last week and the hotel did a great job. The sales rep made the planning process easy and during the event the staff was great to work with. The hotel itself is very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyHampton, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Diane L,

Thank you for sharing with us your positive experience! We are glad you enjoyed your event and found our staff to be accomodating and easy to work with. Please let us know of any future events you're planning. We'd love to work with you again! Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit to Hampton, Virginia.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I give Hamptons Embassy Suite 9.1 out of 10. The Hospitality sweet is great for parties 8-15 guest. ***Not really an issue but a recommendation... The receptionist could give advice in advance on what to expect when reserving a room during events or concerts at the Hampton Coliseum. It was a mad house through out the entirer establishment and very noisey to at least 4am. But if you are friendly and like to party; then there is no problem. Even my youngest daughter stayed up partying with up....SMH!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank DJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyHampton, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear DJ B,

Thank you for the positive review! We did have a busy weekend with the concert at the Hampton Coliseum and hope it didn't impact your stay too much. It was great to hear your daughter was able to enjoy the crowd! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit to Hampton, Virginia.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife, friends and I were attending the Phish shows at Hampton coliseum. Other then a glitch in the computer system that wouldn't let them make keys, check-in smoothly and the front desk staff was top notch. They were able to get our rooms right next to each other as well as get the proper parking passes for our party. Every staff member I met seemed enthusiastic to have us from the maintenance and cleaning people all the way to upper management. The staff at the bar was excellent as was the food that was served(get the fried oysters). Everyone in the hotel seemed to be having a great time, and hope we can get back to the mothership soon!

Room Tip: King corner suites provide some extra space and are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncle Zev Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyHampton, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Uncle Zev Z,

Thank you for your positive review! It was nice to hear you had a great experience and found our staff to be friendly and accomodating. The fried oysters at Cyprus Grille are a popular item and we will be sure to share your compliments with our culinary team. Thanks again for sharing your positive experience and we look forward to the next time you visit Hampton, Virginia!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hampton-Newport News
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa

Address: 1700 Coliseum Dr, Hampton, VA 23666-4294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hampton
#3 Business Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: $121 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hampton Rd Convention Ctr Hotel Hampton
Hampton Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing