We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and pretty, food not so much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Location is great, close to shopping, restaurants and theatre. Front desk friendly and helpful, let me check in early. Public areas nicely decorated and well-kept. Corner room huge, comfortable and clean. The weakness of this property is their food service. Breakfast just o.k. Not much on the menu for people with allergies. I thought the manager's reception was a nice touch. After you have travelled and been in meetings all day, it is nice to come back to a complimentary drink. The food offered at the reception is extremely basic, but it is free. Each time I thought I would stop at the coffee shop, it was closed. They did not follow the hours on the signage. This property could have it all if they would step up the hospitality end. The facilities are there, but the execution is not. With what I know I would stay again, but just not plan on eating there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flamingoluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyHampton, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input on our dining options and service and we will keep your comments in mind as we work to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we might show you the improved hospitality you expect and deserve.

Thank you,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

945 - 951 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Overbooked with undersupervised youth group, running the hallways all hours of the night, very loud and unruly behavior, room parties with excessive amount of kids in them.Lengthy breakfast lines. Second buffet line would have been nice. Excessive wait for elevators at checkout time.

Room Tip: Stay on lower floor if large bookings expected.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyHampton, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Tom,

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience our group guests caused during your recent stay with us. We strive to ensure every guest's stay is comfortable and quiet and we regret this was not your experience. We have shared your comments with our team who will work harder to contain similar situations should they occur in the future. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in the area so we might show you the level of hospitality you expect and deserve from our brand.

Thank you,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Overall I had a good experience at this hotel. I was part of a Group for a meeting and there were another group there also. With the hotel almost full we were able to get through the breakfast efficiently. I asked for soy milk to go with coffee and with all that was going on they brought it out within 5 minutes. The staff was good. With the hotel almost full using the elevators was a small challenge. Next time I will ask to be on a lower floor. The room was great also. The original reservation was for a king w/sleep sofa but they were able to change to two full beds.

The food was fresh and plentiful at the breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: If you are part of a group try to stay on the lower floors, that way you can take the stairs if the...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyHampton, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear John M,

We were pleased to hear you had a positive experience at our hotel during your group's meeting. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast selection and that you found our staff to be efficient and accommodating. We will be sure to share your comments with our team. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit to Hampton, Virginia.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

As the title said, this facility is gorgeous and very well-kept. But that's about all the good I can say about it. Unless you're an alcoholic..they have a Manager's Social every evening where you can get free booze. And you would think that at a 'social' at a nice place like this, they'd have some nice finger food...uh, nope! Some veggies and chips and dip, popcorn, a couple mixed snacks; and that's it. Let me continue. There is NO flowing coffee/soda/etc during the day as we've seen at most other nice places. The breakfast is nice, but is the same EVERY DAY. You can get your eggs made to order, and that's great, but they have the same fake eggs/greasy bacon/biscuits and gravy every day, as well as a few fruits and dairy products. Don't do laundry here unless you want to spend $4 to do one load. There's no sign that says the price, and no change machine in the laundry room (2 washers and 2 dryers for the entire place?!?). The staff is usually pretty friendly and helpful...IF you catch them at a good time, and if they're in the mood to help you with a smile. The room/suite setup is pretty nice with 2 nice flatscreens. Aha! There was 1 more plus for staying here, so that makes 3 compared to how many negatives? I think the bottom line is, this place is OK if you're just staying for a night or two for business. But for anyone I say, if you can stay at a Staybridge Suites..do so! They're much nicer than this hotel in just about every way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schoolybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyHampton, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear schoolybear,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay. We were pleased to hear that you found the layout of our two-room suites to be nice and our property well-kept. We were disappointed that you did not enjoy our evening Manager's Reception which offers both complimentary alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages. Our Manager's Reception does provide some light snacks which follow our brand standards. We hope that if you stay at our property again you visit our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast station. In addition to the many hot and cold items on our buffet we offer cooked-to-order eggs, omelets, pancakes and French Toast.
Thank you again for your feedback. We will be sure to share your comments and concerns with our team members.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

we were here on a karate trip weekend. after a 9 hour drive down we were looking to rest up. check in was good and the rooms were ready. the breakfast buffet is decent. the next day our room was never cleaned as well as the following day. very disturbed with this because there was garbage and we had to find a dumpster can to dispose it. housecleaning came about 430pm the night before we left to clean. really?? 430pm after being there for two days already? I said no thanks my daughter was asleep in a nap from being out all day long (time for cleaning). the pool was decent except for the 20 underage kids that were jumping all over the place with no adults. they ran around the Lobby half dressed... not a pretty site to see in an up to do class hotel.
location was great however... will I return? probably but hope for better service

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trip_Guru76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyHampton, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Trip_Guru76,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are glad you had a good check-in experience. We were disappointed to learn that our housekeeping standards were not met. Did you bring this to the attention of our front desk staff? We would like to learn more about your experience including which room you stayed in so that we may resolve this with the assigned room attendant to ensure it does not occur again. Please e-mail me directly at PHFCC_GM@hilton.com. Thank you again for your feedback which we will be certain to share with our team. We truly hope that you give us another chance during your next visit to Hampton, Virginia.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is always very nice all the way around but on this visit I found several items in the room that did not get cleaned up. Several pieces of trash on the floor and under the bed, one sock, and the worst was a pill. This could have been dangerous and not sure what kind of pill but it was definitely some type of medicine.

Room Tip: Always check your room first before settling in for your stay. You just can't take a chance now...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveltheArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyHampton, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear travelthearea,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for your experience with your suite and we will be sure to share it with our housekeeping team. I do hope you called us to address the issue. If not, I invite you to contact me directly at PHFCC_GM@hilton.com to further discuss your experience. Thank you again for your feedback and we truly hope that you visit us again the next time you travel to Hampton.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The staff at this hotel are so helpful and polite. Everything about this hotel location is clean, professional and nicely maintained. I am super picky and I did not have any issue that wasn't handle promptly and politely. You will not regret spending a little more for this hotel. The room was super quite- I could not hear anyone inside the room despite the hotel being booked. The breakfast offerings are more than other hotels, lots of choices.

Room Tip: Become a member of Hilton Honors and stay on floors 9 or 10.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyHampton, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Janell K,

It was nice to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay during your recent visit. We were especially pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be well maintained and our staff helpful. Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to your next visit to Hampton, Virginia.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hampton Coliseum Central
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hampton-Newport News
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Hampton
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton Coliseum Central
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa

Address: 1700 Coliseum Drive, Hampton, VA 23666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hampton
#3 Family Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: $128 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hampton Rd Convention Ctr Hotel Hampton
Hampton Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing